If you’re brave, put a blade to your hair.

My expressions exactly.

So, I had the brilliant idea to cut my hair today.  By myself.  For the first time in my life.  I’ve always gone to the salon, or had my mom do some trimming here and there, but I’ve never done it before.  What changed that to make me so adventurous today? Nothing.  Just my genius.  ;)  I’ve been needing a hair cut, but the more I thought about it, the less I wanted to take the trip to the salon.  So, I decided to take things into my own hands.  After all, I’m a Junior in high school, I should be able to at least trim my hair some, right?  I also thought it’d be cool if I could eventually cut my own hair – so why not start now? hmm, yeah.

After watching a YouTube (gotta love it!) tutorial on cutting hair only a bazillion times, and watching it with my mom to see what she thought, I closed myself in the bathroom with my laptop, hair scissors, brush, hair ties, and a comb.  Everything was going well until I was just about to apply the scissors to my blonde hair when the lights zapped off.  :shock:

See, we’re in the middle of remodeling our garage into a bedroom, pantry & mudroom.  So with that comes along rewiring lights, etc, and sometimes my dad turned off all electricity so they wouldn’t be electrocuted.  Sounds smart to me!  But also comes along with awkward circumstances like cutting hair in the dark.  I’m sure that was *super* smart of me.  I also found out later that those bathroom lights were the only electricity that went out.  Coincidence?  I think not.  ;)  weird, huh?

Anyway, after about half an hour (I think….I wasn’t watching the time.  It could’ve been longer.), I was finished.  My hands had been shaking through the whole thing.  I think it takes quite a brave soul to cut your own hair – just saying. That is, unless you’re a professional stylist, of course.

Before hacking at my hair, my side swept bangs fell to my jaw line.  They now hang just above my bottom lid of my eye.  But when I style it with hairspray, they (thankfully) stay out of my eyes.  I can’t stand my hair in my eyes (hence why I needed a hair cut, haha).

So for a first time of ever cutting my own hair, it’s not that bad.  Could be better, but it could’ve been a LOT worse.  I’m pretty picky with my hair, so if I’m okay with it, that’s saying a lot.  *applause* I know you guys are so proud of me.  ;)  :P

“And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered,” – Matthew 10:30

This verse was when Jesus was talking about how special we are to Him.  He even knows the exact number of the hairs on our head – that’s amazing.  I mean, really, who would ever have the patience to count the hairs of our head – or even care about it?  No one, that’s who.  But Jesus cares so much for us that He knows, because we mean so much to Him.  Whenever I think about this, it just amazes me.  Why would someone ever want to care that much about me?!  I dunno, but Jesus does.   And it makes me so glad to have a personal relationship with Him.

Do you cut your own hair?  Or if you don’t, would you ever be brave enough to?  What do you think about it?  :D

12 thoughts on “If you’re brave, put a blade to your hair.

  1. Oooh, look at me commenting 10 minutes after you posted this. Whacha. I’m pretty awesome.

    Ummm, creepy that we both got haircuts within a few days of each other? Although mine might have been a little more drastic than yours. I got a good 6 inches cut off and now my hair is right at my jaw. Oh, and it’s asymmetrical so there’s one part that’s longer and there are a bunch of choppy layers. It’s kind of the most amazing haircut I’ve ever gotten. Only bad part is that the lovely haircutter lady trimmed my bangs that I was growing out, so now I have to deal with bangs again. Blech. I feel like Justin Bieber when I annoyingly flip them out of my eyes… ;)

    Isn’t cutting your own hair nerve wracking?! I did it once and I’ll never do it again. Gahhhhh.

    • Good job! And look at me, not getting on my blog until almost like almost a day later. I’ve been busy with Thanksgiving preparations – and that’s the story I’m sticking with. ;)

      Of *course* we both got hair cuts within a couple days of each other! We’re twins, remember? Telepathically connected, so we both think, “hair cut time”. haha Your hair sounds soooo cool! You totally need to send me a couple pics. I. need. to. see. haha Yeah I’d kind of liked my bangs to be out of my eyes, but I don’t have the nerve to cut them any shorter than they are. :P

      It was nerve wracking! But I’m thinking that I’ll totally do it again. I’m daring like that. Sometimes. ;) So whenever the strong feeling comes to do it, I kind of have to act on it, less I chicken out. lol

      -Tia

  2. Hi, Tia, i did this before :) i think it’s easy for a guy, i cut my hair in bathroom with auto barber, like a weeder cut the weed off, cut my hair very very short, like a rap singer. Your adventure was very funny and brave, great job. Every time I was in bad mood, my hair will be in trouble, i always think that changed a new haircut will change my mood. BTW, happy thanksgiving day, friends!!!

    • Glad to have you back again Peng! I’ve really missed your comments. Yeah, unless a guy has long hair, I’m sure it’d be a lot easier for them to cut their own hair. My dad and brothers never go to the barber…my mom cuts their hair. But they keep it ultra short, so it’s easy. I’m glad you liked my adventure. :D haha that’s funny – you’re in a bad mood, so off goes the hair. :P I like it.

      Thanks! Yep, I’m super excited for Thanksgiving tomorrow!! We’ll feast on delicious food until we can’t eat anymore and regret eating so much, and then we’ll play games and hang out till midnight, then have pie and ice cream, and play some more. Why we do this to ourselves, I don’t know. It’s certainly not healthy, but it’s my fave holiday! Thanks for commenting Peng! :D

      -Tia

    • Oh that would be so nice to have a hairdresser in the family! Well, considering the power went out, I didn’t have a good mirror, and my hand was shaking the whole time….so hopefully it’ll be better next time. I’m still surprised it turned out as good as it did. :D Thanks for commenting :)

      -Tia

  3. oh….wow….thats…………daring? Lol, I can’t believe you continued with the lights out. Like, wouldn’t it have been better to wait till the power came back on? I have to admit, I’ve thought about it, but decided against it. But that’s pretty…*chuckles* lets just say I wouldn’t do it. Lol, sry, for some (like my sister) it works, well at least in her mind. But I have to say, I’d like to see it (you) when I come into town.

    yep, I actually think that once I attempted to count my hairs, but gave up due to the fact that it’s practically impossible. That is amazing :)

    ~Livi

    • very daring indeed. :D I know…it wasn’t the smartest, but somehow it still worked out. It would’ve definitely been better to wait until the power came back on! ;) Yeah, haha, it saved money, and it doesn’t look all that horrible, so it worked for me. I’m sure you would want to see it! :P

      yeah I think I tried before as well, but soon gave up. lol :D

      -Tia

    • hehe thanks. Yeah, I remember when you posted all those photos of your last hair cut with your grandfather! that’s really cool. :D At least you can do some trimming….unfortunately I have a tendency to let my hair grown until it’s past trimming-length. O.o Thanks Rach :D

      -Tia

What thinkest thou?

