Is the NEW Alice in Wonderland so wonderful, or is it just me?

Ever since the new Alice in Wonderland (directed by Tim Burton, starring Johnny Depp) came out in theaters, I was very excited to see it.  I eventually went and saw it (not in 3-D), and LOVED it.  I was literally talking non-stop about the humor, the characters, and the computer animations.  I thought (and still think) that it was very well done, and a fabulous film.  All the actors and actresses are superb and the visual effects were very realistic.  Counting down the days until release on DVD and Blu-ray, I was ecstatic the entire time.  At last, the day came, and early in the morning, I now had my all-time favorite movie in my hands.

Bing Images - thehdroom.com

Since then, I have watched the movie several times, and am still as jazzed as I was to begin with.  However, as I have asked my friends if they have watched it and what they have thought about it, I have realized that most people were either slightly disappointed in it, or thought it was only “okay”.  As fine as that may be, I have been surprised by the amount of people who did not really like the movie much, or don’t really have anything good to say about it.  A lot of people were turned off by the trailer, saying that it was creepy, freaky, or scary.  Which, I have to admit, when I saw the trailer (after I watched the movie) I realized that it made the movie look way more creepy than it actually is.  I was glad that I didn’t watch the trailer before watching the movie, because I might have been turned off from the movie myself.  Maybe.  🙂

Since this movie is still one of my favorite movies, I continue to talk to almost anyone new I meet about it.  I think that it is a very family fun film and not creepy or scary in any way.  There are lots of humor, and a good story line.  Some people have argued that it was based on the second book of Alice in Wonderland, and so they didn’t like the movie.  It is true that the movie was based on the second book, but if you get over that aspect, I think that you can still like the movie just as much.  My hypothesis is that if the title of the film was actually “Alice in Wonderland – Returns”, then everything would be fixed.  People would expect it to be based off the second book.  But, since the word “returns” isn’t in the title, people were disappointed.

I would like to therefore take a poll as to who loves Alice in Wonderland (like moi), those who are slightly disappointed in the film, and those who dislike the movie.  This will give me an idea of what the majority actually thinks about the new Alice in Wonderland.  So go ahead, and vote!

3 thoughts on “Is the NEW Alice in Wonderland so wonderful, or is it just me?

  1. Pingback: My One Weakness | Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

