Tying All the Strings Together

Bing Images

When I first started writing my novel, I didn’t know where it was going to go; the only thing that I knew was that it was going to be a book.  I had no idea of what was going to happen, but as I progressed in my novel I decided that I didn’t want to leave the readers hanging at the end of the book – making me have to write another one.  Now, I don’t have any problem with writing more than one book – if I am so inspired to do so and have the focus and dedication to complete it.  For right now, though, I don’t know if I will be able to write a second book, or if I will be frustrated for forcing myself to do it.  Therefore, I’ve done my best to end the book in such a way that I won’t be pressured to write another, and won’t be “backed into a corner” just in case I’m not as interested in creative writing at that time.  I don’t think that I will be done with creative writing after I’ve published my book (since I *love* creative writing), but I’d rather be safe than sorry.  Sounds reasonable to me.  😉

I’ll probably go ahead and write a second story after my first one is published (maybe), but it may or may not “follow” my first one.  I guess it just all depends on the feedback that I get from my readers, after they read my published version of Holding the Future Hostage.  So, that means that you have to buy a copy.  I mean it, you need to buy it (well, once it published – that’s a key fact, isn’t it? hehe), and this girl will autograph it for ya too!  😀

I have had advice from different people on how to find publishers that “fit my criteria”, and so I have started to track down books that are the same genre as mine and then research their publishers.  So far, though, I’ve only found traditional publishers that aren’t accepting any manuscripts right now.  😦  Unfortunate, but it doesn’t turn me off from looking.  In the meantime, I’ve started from the beginning of my book to edit over the whole thing again.  Exciting, right?  I know!  haha

Question of the Day: In any short stories or books that you have written, did you feel positive that there would be a sequel, or did you want to take precautions like me?

-Tia

2 thoughts on “Tying All the Strings Together

  1. First I want to suggest “indie publishing” for your novel if traditional publishers aren’t opening their doos for you.

    Second, there have been novels or short stories that I thought for sure should be in a series or have a sequel BUT not all books would flourish that way. It all depends on the author.

Leave a comment

