Upcoming Surgery

As much as I love posting on my blog, I have to tell you that I will be out of commission for a little bit in a few weeks.  My Christmas gift this year is going to be shoulder surgery.  Yep, there you have it.  I’m not kidding you.  I injured my shoulder in April and since then the pain has increased to where I can hardly do anything with that arm.  I wasn’t going to tell you this, but I guess I will let you know how I injured it.  Arm wrestling with my 19-year-old brother.  I’ve learned that it wasn’t the smartest thing, but hey, I’m ambitious, and I almost beat him too!  Seriously.  I almost did…but I’m not sure if almost beating him was worth it for now 9 months worth of increasing pain.

I’ve gone to an Orthopedic, and have had lots of testing done, along with Physical Therapy, and the bottom line is that we don’t know for sure what is wrong.  The Physical Therapy didn’t help, it actually only made the pain worse.  I had an MRI and dye injection, but the MRI didn’t show anything wrong.  My doctor gave me a Cortisone injection (which hurts like crazy – let me tell ya!), but it didn’t give me any relief.

So, Christmas week, I’m going to have Exploratory Surgery on my shoulder.  My doctor has a strong suspicion that I have a tear in my shoulder, since all the physical tests that he’s done have shown symptoms of it being a tear, so if he finds one when I’m in surgery, he’ll suture it.

I’m glad to have this finally taken care of, but it’s still surgery, so there will be downfalls as well.  It’s been so long since my shoulder was “normal” that I actually find myself watching people in movies or in person and seeing how easily they do things with their shoulders that I haven’t been able to do for months.  My doctor has even put me on prescription pain meds because the Motrin and Tylenol haven’t been doing the job.  I tried to stay off of my pain meds for one day just to see how much “real” pain I had, and I was astounded by how much pain there was.  Enough, though.  In a few weeks, I’ll have surgery, and I should be on the healing side.

The main point of this post is to tell you  not to expect that many posts out of me come Christmas week and a few weeks after.  But don’t worry, I’ll be back (spoken with an accent!)!  😀  I’ll probably still get in a lot of posts, but there will definitely be a drop in them the week after Christmas.

So, just be thinking about me come Christmas week as I am moaning lounging on the couch after my surgery. Hopefully eating bon-bons.  🙂

-Tialla

6 thoughts on “Upcoming Surgery

  1. Pingback: Snowing or Mowing? « Holding the Future Hostage

  2. Tia —

    Arm wrestling? Seriously?

    My Sweetie has EXACTLY same issue with his shoulder ( a likely tear) and most likely will also have surgery in a couple of weeks….so I feel your pain– well sorta feel it.

    I will keep you in my prayers as your surgery date is rapidly approaching. I kow you can’t write and post for a while, hopefully you still can read blogs — I’ll give you a shoutout in the future, k?

    Blessings and Merry Christmas,

    Ava
    xox

    • Hi Ava,

      Yes…arm wrestling. I’ve had people tell me I was unbelievably stupid, and others say that I have huge ambitions. Either way, I’m pretty much done with arm wrestling now. Oh I’m so sorry…I hope that he gets his shoulder fixed too. It’s NO fun – believe me.

      Thanks so much for the prayers – they are greatly appreciated! I will definitely still be reading blogs and maybe even commenting! Thanks again!

      -Tia

  3. Pingback: Surgery Accomplished! « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

