450 pages of ink and paper – ish

I have debated on whether not I should print out my novel to edit it the next time around on paper, instead of being schmancy and scanning it on the computer.  I think that it would be a very good idea to edit this way to ensure finding 90% of the typos in my manuscript.  When I have brought this idea up with others, they’ve asked me, “What’s the difference with doing it that way?”  Well let me tell you – lots differentOkie dokie?  🙂 haha ok, well actually, it’s just toally different than on a screen.  You are in a different mindset, and believe it or not, you’re looking for completely different things in different ways.

So yeah – that’s what’s different!  And, in my opinion, if you really want to catch most typos, you should edit in as many ways and settings as you can to give your book/writing the best chance possible.  Both you and it deserve it!

So I told my Dad about this idea, and sure, he thought it would be a good idea for editing, but in reality, he showed me that it would cost WAY more money than would really be acceptable to spend.  It would be about 450 pages (close to a whole ream of paper!), and a ton of ink that already costs a lot anyway.

I just decided to use a few different tricks in editing and be happy with how it turns out after all.  Hey, I have 3 other people editing it as well, so it should be just fine, right?

But then I received an email from one of my best editors.  Kind of made me laugh.

Apparently, she was bewildered as to why she just wasn’t getting through my book, and couldn’t figure out why…for a while.  After

Bing Images

 thinking, she found out that she just isn’t in the same mindset when she’s reading on a computer screen.  So what’d she do?  She printed up my entire novel.  Yep, you just read that right.  All 450 pages.  However, she doesn’t feel any pain over it because she had a coupon.  Ah, the wonders of coupons!

So now she is merrily getting along through my book and even lent the first 100 pages to my Mom (who is editing it as well), because apparently she can’t read books on the computer very well either.  In fact, in the last 3 months, she’s made it to chapter 5 out of 44.  Probably a good idea to have it in print on paper, right?

As for me, I’ve already changed a lot on my computer copy, so if I decide to use a printed edition, I’ll have to print my own copy instead of borrowing it.  Bummer.  😉

I will definitely be interrogating watching my mom and other editor as they make progress through this setup, and see how beneficial it is!

Well, off to editing!

Question of the Day: What’s your favorite way of editing your pieces?

-Tia

4 thoughts on “450 pages of ink and paper – ish

  1. I should print out my blogs before I post them because I later see typos and it makes me sad it went out less than perfect.

    In my songwriting sometimes it happens when I am in the recording studio when I start editing – because although it looked good on paper, it sounded bad on tape.

    Great post today Tia.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    • I don’t like it either after you publish a blog post and then after lots of people have already read it, you realize that it had typos. Thanks for commenting! (And for liking my post!) 🙂

      -Tia

  2. I’m old-school (well, I’m 28, but in this day and age of digital media, that still makes me old-school). I find that no matter how many times I edit an article or any piece of writing on the computer, I find more things to edit after I print it out–whether a change of sentence structure, grammatical errors, or whatnot. I always recommend, to everyone, to print your work for the cleanest edits. However, Mom and Dad always come first, so if Dad says no, I’d have to back him on that. 😉

    Congratulations on finishing your book!

    –Shari Lopatin

    • Exactly! Printing it out definitely helps! Yeah and I can totally understand where my Dad is coming from with all the paper and ink, so I’ll just have to see how it works out! Thanks, I was so excited when I finished my book! Now I just have to find a publisher! hehe

      -Tia

Leave a comment

