Green Eyes: Do they make the cut or not?

st-patrick-day-5
Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  This day full of green, cheerfulness, well-wishes of luck, and delicious food.  For those whose favorite color is green (such as my husband), this day tends to provide a little extra happiness.
 giphy

On St. Patrick’s Day, it’s pretty much required for people to wear something green for the whole day unless they want to get pinched.  I can’t help but wonder why.  I know St. Patrick was a missionary to Ireland and really helped the people there, and was well known for using a Shamrock as a symbol for the trinity of God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit.  Shamrocks are green.  Is that where it came from?  Because this amazing Saint used a green plant, now everyone has to wear something green or they get pinched?  I’m honestly curious, from where did the tradition of pinching originate?

st-patricks-day-pinching

Now, here’s something I’m interested in.  For those who have green eyes, do they count or not?  I have green eyes, and my parents have always taught me that green eyes count.  But then I realized that it doesn’t work with children.  Another side note: children are evil.  I soon learned growing up that there isn’t a single child who thinks green eyes count.  Whenever I would could home, upset because I still got pinched, my parents would say, “Just tell them green eyes count, and if they pinch you, pinch them back!”

the-avengersfacepalm-gifloki

I was far too nice of a child to do that, and scared too.  And honestly the “green eyes count” concept never worked.  I wish my parents had just encouraged me to wear something green anyway.  All the children would still pinch me no matter how many times I told them my eyes were green.  Basically, it was a no-win situation.  My parents thought it was unnecessary if I wore green; the kids pinched me if I didn’t.

89a6609a62d82c571551eb01a0c7f6f5

As I grew older, I’ve ended up wearing green on the holiday.  I’ve come to grips with the fact that my eyes just don’t count, and that’s okay.  It’s more fun to dress up anyway.  Still, I’d like to know, do you think green eyes make the cut?

giphy (1)

3 thoughts on “Green Eyes: Do they make the cut or not?

  1. Green tattoos definitely count when it comes to wearing green. The tattoo is not part of your body, you have to put it on, and you wear it on your skin. Green eyes however, you don’t wear your eyes. You just, have them. You can’t put on your eyes every morning, like you can with shirts. You can’t change them either. Now you might say you can’t change tattoos , but you can mark over them with a different color. Basically, if you don’t have the choice of making it green, you can’t count it as green on Saint Patrick’s Day.

    • I agree! Green tattoos certainly would count, and I had never thought about that before. Unfortunately, I could still see people pinching just because they would come up with any reason for why it wouldn’t count… You’re right–as much as I wish green eyes count, over the years I have come to realize that they just don’t. And that’s okay. It’s more fun to dress up in green anyway. It would have been nice to know as a child though, haha!

Leave a comment

