Lord of the Rings: Extended Edition. Oh yeah.

I’ve mentioned before that I love, love, love the Lord of the Rings, right?  They are such amazing books/movies.  Tolkien was a pure genius….yeah I just can’t say that enough.  He was a G.E.N.I.U.S.  And, when I think about how hard it was to just simply type or write a book at all, I’m stunned.  He either had to handwrite it all and then type it up, or just type it up…but he didn’t have a “delete” button, or “backspace,” “enter,” “undo,” ect.  And with all this he kept the story going and didn’t leave any that can’t be explained….remained focused through the whole thing and had those amazingly huge books published.  WOW.

Setting aside just how he wrote the book, think of his motivations!  His little writing club involving even C.S. Lewis (famous author of The Chronicles of Narnia, BTW) is rather interesting to me.  They would bounce ideas off each other and critique each other while drinking ale and enjoying cakes.  Shall I mention this might be how part of Hobbits’ personalities were formed? 🙂

Anyway, I think you can tell I love the Lord of the Rings, and find them immensely…shall I say, incredible?  I watched the theatrical version of the movies about a year ago and really, really liked them.  So, I was talking with a friend and mentioned, “Yeah, I’d like to see the Extended editions sometime…”  And my friend told me he owned them and offered to let me borrow them.  Am I going to say no thanks?  Of course not!

So while I was recovering from my surgery, I watched all the extended LOTR movies and the Appendices.  Oh my goodness….I was caught.  I am now a die-hard LOTR fan!  😀  Once I was able to get back to work, I started saving all my extra spending money in an envelope marked “LOTR.”  I was determined to buy these movies.

At last, a couple weeks ago I realized I had enough money!  So I wrote out my order and on Thursday they arrived!  Now I have my very own copies of the Fellowship of the Ring, the TwoTowers, and the Return of the King, along with the Appendices – all Extended Edition.  If you’re wondering, “what’s the extended edition?” well, let me tell ya!

They are the same LOTR movies, just with some scenes extended, deleted scenes returned, and new scenes added in to make it closer to the books and explain more.  And believe me – they explain SO much more.  After you watch the extended version, you can’t watch the theatrical versions again.  There’s just no comparison.  I could actually can understand what’s going on between Boromir and Faramir without reading the books!  And I finally understood that there’s something going on between Faramir and Eowyn.  And…well, I guess you’re just gonna have to watch it yourself.  😉

However, don’t get your hopes to see Tom Bombadil in the Fellowship, because he isn’t there.  Sad, I know.  But the movies are still breathtaking.  Middle Earth is like no other.  It’s simply…captivating.

By the way, all of you should totally check out this awesome Lord of the Rings collectibles site!  They have so many incredible LOTR items – from action figures, costumes, books, games, movies, Legos, jewelry, weapons….  Pretty much everything you could ask for in one place!  It’s incredible.  Click on the logo below to go to the site!

Lord of The Rings

Do you like the LOTR?  Are you a die-hard fan like me?  What do you think of the movies/books?

 -Tia

21 thoughts on “Lord of the Rings: Extended Edition. Oh yeah.

  1. i’m a die-hard fan. 😀
    i definitely love lord of the rings, the greatest movies, you know, the footage in ” the Return of the King ” that rohan cavalry rushed to the orcs really make me flushed, and wanna fight as rohan cavalry~wow~ kate blanchet is so beautiful,oh~do me a favor tia, send my regards to Galadriel please, when you are in middle earth.

    • Yes! Now I know another person who loves LOTR! 😀 That footage is amazing…there are so many scenes throughout all of the movies that just make me so excited and want to be right there too. I don’t know *how* many guys have told me how beautiful Kate Blanchet is. haha I have to say, Galadriel kind of creeps me out. But I love Eowyn! She’s more…down to earth, I guess (no pun intended :P). And Arwen, well she’s just another story. Love her. But I promise, when I reach Middle Earth, I will definitely send your regards to Galadriel.

      -Tia

      • HEY! I take offense! You know me! I have no idea why you say that about Galadriel, she is awesome. how you gonna do that if you’re afraid of her?? hmm???

        Love,
        ME!

        ps–read the books, arwen wasn’t in them

        • Galadriel is cool in the books, but she’s creeps the living daylights out of me in the movie. that’s just my opinion. And, I am reading the books – Arwen is in them. (not sure what you mean by saying she isn’t in them….) ❓

          -Tia

  2. For me, the most amazing thing is that Tolkien was a linguist by trade and not only did he create these elaborate stories, truly an entire new world, but he developed languages for each of the “races” in LotR. And yes, the extended versions of the movies are just that much better! The Hobbit movie is in production now… who knows, maybe Peter Jackson will sneak Tom Bombadil into it 😉

    These past five years I have had a poster from Fellowship on the wall in my classroom. It depicts Gandalf and Frodo in Moria with a quote that is meaningful in any context:
    “Frodo: I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.
    Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.”

    • Yes…Tolkien was just amazing. In every aspect of his books and background. The entirely new world, the new language, the first one to begin Fantasy novels, ect. Simply amazing. I can’t wait for the Hobbit to come out!!! I couldn’t stop reading that book. I hope the movie is just as good! (Or close). I would love to see Tom Bombadil in the movie, somehow. 🙂
      That’s a great quote. It certainly makes one think…it’s so true. Thanks for commenting!

      -Tia

    • haha I know, I never thought about it either. I was just talking with another die-hard fan and he brought that up. I already thought that Tolkien was amazing, but this just sinched it. I thought it was hard to write a book now-a-days, but it’s a piece of cake compared to Tolkien’s time! Thanks Rach. 🙂

      -Tia

      • But Tolkien could use a typewriter, and he could pick up the phone and talk to his editors and publisher and friends like Lewis, and he could even listen to the radio for ideas. Think about how it was for Charles Dickens, or Mark Twain, or Mary Shelley, much less going back to such truly epic writers like Milton and Shakespeare.

        • I just thought about Shakespeare today – you’re right, he didn’t have any typewriter or anything. And Charles Dickens, my oh my, he was amazing – he had such huge pieces!! So yeah, Tolkien did have it easier than the writers before him, but it stills takes a lot of effort to write a book or play without Microsoft Word – just saying. 😉 Thanks

          -Tia

  3. I am very much a fan of the LOTR movies!!!!!!!!!!!! Especially the extended version!!!!!!!! IT was a lot of fun watching them with you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t get in enough of those exclamation marks!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ha!!!! I am not a die hard fan, though. I would rather watch the trilogy all in a row about once every 9 months. Then I would have something to look forward to. I don’t know, that’s just me. 🙂

    • Every 9 months?! Oh c’mon, Ayce!! I have GOT to get you out more often. JK Yeah, the movies are awesome. It was sooo much fun watching them with you. haha very intense, but very fun. Have fun with those exclamation marks! 😉

      -Tia

  4. Die hard fan. Definitely. I have almost all of Tolkien’s works, including all the books previous of LOTR. I.e., Silmarillion, lost tales etc. Not to mention, I used to read all four books at least once a year, don’t do it anymore, but i’m reading the hobbit (AGAIN) and am looking forward to seeing the movie! sort of. 😕 I’m glad you got the extended addition, it has a lot more from the book 😀 enjoy!

    • haha yeah I plan to read all the books at least once a year from now on if I can. The Hobbit is absolutely amazing – I can’t wait for the movie. I’ve heard the Silmarillion is a lot differently written from Tolkien’s other pieces…maybe because his son had to finish it… thanks for commenting

      -Tia

  5. Pingback: My One Weakness | Holding the Future Hostage

  6. Pingback: Posters Mania! | Holding the Future Hostage

  7. Pingback: A Day Late and a Dollar Short: Today is Tuesday « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

