My Random-ness

Exactly. Random = awesome.

Hey everybody, wassup?  I officially have *no* clue on what to post on…so I’m just gonna tell you about what’s been going on in my life lately.  It’s probably going to be quite random, but I hope you’ll stay with me all the way through.   😉

Well, I’ve been having a lot of Blonde moments lately.  I don’t really know why, but I keep doing and saying things that make people stop and go, “…um….that was really blonde, Tia”.

Just things like reiterating the fact that we have “no sound” when the TV is muted in the first place, trying to stick my head out the window when the window is closed, running into doors, falling over high chairs, totally not getting simple jokes – etc.  Yes, I’m sure my family as been quite amused as of late!    😉

We had SNOW sticking to the ground this week.   😯   The first week of October, and we have snow!!  I can’t believe it – it’s ridiculously crazy.  I think Mother Nature might have had a problem with her noggin – just saying.     😉

Usually when it snows for the first time, it’s just real lite, doesn’t stick, and soon we forget about it.  haha, not this time.  In a few shady places, there were actually a couple of inches accumulated.  Aargh – is it time to write my “Boycott Snow” post again?

Actually, I’m not really dreading this winter.  Idk why, because it’s going to be cold and windy, and requiring shoveling as always – but I’m kind of okay with it.  Key words: kind of.    😉    I just want to light my scented candles – but one is disintegrated (don’t ask), and then other is burned too low.  Sooo I’m going to have to buy new ones.  Do you like Gold Canyon Candles?  They are my absolute fave.  A little on the pricy side, but the aroma from these candles are amazing.

I’ve also been driving more in town lately.  I’ve driven…eh…3 or 4 times I think.  One time was at night, in traffic, with rain.  That was *so* fun. 🙄  Good experience, but I don’t plan on doing it again anytime soon!  haha

Ok, well I could keep rambling, but I won’t.  At least all that much.    😉   I’ve been making sopapillas a lot lately, and  as they’ve become a family fave, I figured I’d give you guys the recipe to try for yourselves!  I love to eat them with honey, but they’re also good with powdered sugar, or plain.

Yum!

Sopapillas

  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 1/2 tsp. yeast
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 cup flour
Dissolve first 3 ingredients together, add milk, salt, baking powder, and flour; mix and knead.  Let stand about 30 minutes.  Roll out, cut, and fry in hot oil.  Makes small batch.
Because it makes such a small batch, I normally double it.
Here’s your Bible Verse of the week: 
“You, O Lord, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.”  Psalms 18:28
I find this verse very encouraging and comforting.  God is the one who sustains us, and He’s the one who helps us in time of trial.  I know I’ve desperately needed His help to keep going – or “keep my lamp burning”, and to lift my spirits.  This verse just expresses it so well!    🙂
Anyway… so, what comes along with fall?  Well hot cocoa of course!!  Here’s my first cup of the season.  Yes precious, it was deelisssh.  And yes I tried to sound like Gollum on purpose.  Did it work?    😀

My Cup of Heaven

8 thoughts on “My Random-ness

  1. Dear Dr. Tia,
    First off, I’m writing this for a friend. It’s not for me. I’m not lame like that. But my friend has a bit of an issue that she needs help with. Say my friend (let’s call her…Picca) was scared to make Sopapillas. Picca knows you sent her the recipe a while ago and she *does* want to make them, but the whole hot oil thing just scares the bajeebers out of her. What should she do? The only option I see here is for you to come visit her and bring Sopapillas and that green bread stuff. But you’re the doctor. You tell me.
    Sincerely,
    I Hate…errr..My Friend Hates Scalding Liquids Almost More Than Country Music

    In all seriousness, that picture totally made my day 🙂 Do I even want to know how you found it…? 😀

    • Dear Picco,

      I would love for your friend to see me in my “office” sometime so I can fully help her. But, as that probably won’t happen, I would recommend that if you-err-she truly wants to make the sopapillas, she should just be very careful in the hot oil. If she gets some on her, just make sure she rinses if off with cold water right away – and *bam* she’s fine. But, if her fear just overwhelms her to the point of making sopapillas is impossible – I would *love* to visit and bring her some. But, only some – after that, she has to make ’em if she wants ’em. 😉

      -Tia
      xx

      Ok, which photo? The “randomness banana”? I just googled “randomness”. honest. 😉

    • thanks, LynAn! Glad you enjoyed reading it. 🙂 Yeah I just stumbled upon that verse and was like, “whoa, this is cool”, haha. Yes, Happy October! 😉 I think I’d rather say that than Happy Winter at the moment, in hopes that Fall actually stays around for a bit before winter takes over. 😉 hopefully. Thanks for commenting!

      -Tia
      xx

Leave a comment

