Literature Analysis, Princess Buttercup!

The Princess Bride

I love writing.  Especially Creative Writing, but any kind of writing peaks my interest.  I love writing essays, biographies, reviews, blog posts (ha I think we knew this one…), short stories, and novels.  Ok, so I’ve only completed one novel, but I’ve written other loooong short stories that could possibly be categorized as novels.  However, after my book, “Holding the Future Hostage” is published, I plan on writing more novels, God willing.

Along with my love for writing comes my love for reading.  Actually, it might be the other way around, because I think I love reading more than writing.  Fiction is my genre, especially fantasy and sci-fi.  I love how you can travel anywhere and use your imagination to its fullest extent as you relate with characters, cry when they cry, laugh when they laugh, and so on.

I think my favorite book ever is,The Princess Bride”by William Goldman (or otherwise know as S. Morgenstern  😉  ).  This masterpiece evokes such emotion…good and bad…anger and tears….love and hate.  It has the best love story, the best battles, the best thrill……its so amazing.  I couldn’t put this book down, and now that it’s been a couple years, I long to read it again.  The movie is amazing as well – but I wouldn’t expect much less since it was co-produced by William Goldman.  Of course he was going to match the movie to his book.   😉

Ok, so back to writing.  I think I got a little distracted there.   😛  I’m taking this Literature Analysis Class for school this year, and I have to say, I am *loving* it.  It’s the most fun thing I’ve done in a long time.  It’s been so interesting to learn more about the other students in my class, and it’s just such an amazingly fun class.  Like, ridiculously fun.   😀

I come home from class every week, just thinking, “wow, that class is so fun!  I’m so glad I’m doing it!!”  It’s the most amazing co-op I’ve done in a looong time.  I’m also doing Marine Biology with a lab partner, (which I’m loving), but it’s just not the same as a class environment.

For right now, I think we’re on the easy section…going over poetry and stuff.  In the spring we’ll start actually writing essays and pulling our hair out with homework, so we’ll see if I’m still saying I love it by then.   😉  I hope so, though, because this class is amazing.

I also think it’s a very good class for me to be taking, since I would like to be a journalist someday…along with a known author.  Or, at least an author who’s published several works.  Anyway, this class is definitely preparing me for the future, whatever it may hold.  Some how, I know it’s going to have something to do with writing – since I love it so amazingly much.   😉

I saw this quote before, and I don’t remember who it’s from, but I liked it so I thought I’d share it.

“I don’t know what the Future holds, but I do know Who holds the Future.” 

Isn’t that comforting?  We have no idea what’s going to happen in the future, but we can always count on God being there for us and keeping everything in His hand.  Sometimes we may think that God has left things up to us, or we feel like our prayers are bouncing off the sky, but God plainly tells us in Hebrews that He’ll always be with us.

“I will never leave you, nor forsake you.” – Hebrews 13:5b 

God is so amazing.  Whenever something comes up that tests my faith, I try to remember this verse, and know that God will always be with me, He will never give up on me, and He will always be there to comfort and help me.   🙂

What’s been going on in your life lately?  Are you taking any interesting classes, or perhaps fun weekly activities?  

Please share, I’d love to hear!  

Do you like writing?  What’s your fave subject?  Or what was your fave subject when you were in school? 

-Tia

xx

7 thoughts on “Literature Analysis, Princess Buttercup!

  1. Oooohhh I like the new picture at the top 😀 Especially because it has Aragorn in it. And he’s so gorgeous.

    Fave subject about…what? My fave subject in school is either Science or the creative writing part of English. I really hate the grammar part of English. And I still have no clue what an indirect object is. My fave subject in emails is just putting a little smiley face, because I can never think of what to put. But if you don’t put a subject, people might think that it’s spam, you know? My fave subject in literature is anything about food. So basically I like reading cookbooks. I’m not *totally* weird, I swear.

    Oh and I had no clue The Princess Bride was a book 🙂 I always just though it was an amazing movie, featuring the then-cute Cary Elwes. Have you seen pictures of him now? Dude, that man is chunky. Blech.

    • Aww, thanks! Yeah I was thinking about a new header, and was like, “Why not LOTR?” 😀 I’m glad it worked out as well as it did.

      Yeah I meant school subject. Oh well, it leaves it open for….creativity. 😉 I have no idea what an indirect object is either. :/ Smiley faces are a good idea! ‘Cuz I never have any idea what to write either…

      Say what?! Oh, you have to read it. The movie is amazing because the book is. My, oh my, Westley is amazing!! (and he has a British accent!!) No I haven’t seen modern pics, but if he’s chunky now, I’m pretty sure I don’t want to. 😉

      I love your comments, picco! 😀

      -Tia
      xx

  2. Awesome post, Tia!

    I ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ The Princess Bride! I can't wait to watch it with you! The characters are so awesome and loveable! I love Wesley, especially….he is sooooo clever and witty and perfect and etc. etc….anyway, he's a good guy…and he gets the girl in the end….another plus. I guess I should write in full sentences instead of….like….this…..:)

    I love Literary Analysis too! I am enjoying the poetry unit a lot. I didn't think that you liked this class this much, but I'm glad to have been proved wrong! I took the same class 2 years ago and it was the best ever….school shouldn't be that fun (or it should, but I don't think it's legal). And we have the three stooges ( Caleb, Josh, and Noah) to top it off! The way my mom is teaching this years Lit class is waaaaayyyyy different from the way she co-taught it when I was 14…..it's sorta strange.

    Anyway, I hope you have as much educational and wild fun as I did when I took the class!

    Oh, and I LOVE writing and reading too…..we won't even go there because it WILL GO FOR A LOOOOOOONNNGGGG TIME.

    See ya!

    Ayce

    • hahaha thanks for commenting, Ayce! I always love it when you comment. 😀

      I know, right? The Princess Bride is utterly amazing – in every sense of the word. 😛 Wesley is T.H.E. B.E.S.T. He’s sooooo…..amazing. 😉 Or, to use a better (less used) word – epic. he’s epic.

      Yeah, I’m absolutely loving the class!! haha I guess I don’t talk about it *all* that much in person, but I do love the class. I know….it doesn’t seem like “school” when its so fun. I agree with you that it doesn’t seem legal, haha – but I’m glad it can be that way. Ahh, the joys of homeschooling. 😀 Really? How’d your mom teach it then? Now you have my curiosity peeked. 😀

      haha I know how much you like writing – I still need to read your screen-plays, or whatever they are. 😛 loved your comment!

      -Tia
      xx

  3. Pingback: The 7×7 award, OR why I spend too much time reading other people’s blogs « Spoonlighting

Leave a comment

