Mary, Did You Know?

First off, I’m really sorry I haven’t posted in so long.  I’ve been ridiculously busy, and before I know it, the week has already passed and it’s time to post again.  (And that’s when I usually forget about it for a couple of days…)  But here I am, and I hope you enjoy!   😀

This week in my Bible course for school, I’ve been learning about the Doctrine of Jesus Christ – basically going in-depth on Who He is, all His names, the power in His name, His life journey…etc.  It’s been quite interesting (and quite difficult at the same time, if I may say.  This year’s work is so much harder than last year’s – just saying.).

In my lessons this week, however, something caught my eye.  They mentioned Mary – the mother of Jesus.  It didn’t really go in-depth on her, but it definitely got me thinking.  I’ve done research on Mary before…and I’m just amazed at her whole experience.

The first thing that amazes me about her is that she was probably around 16 years old – my age!  God called on her to bear His son – or virtually, Himself.  She was pleasing to Him in His eyes.  I look at my life, and I have so many faults and sins…I could never come close to pleasing God like that.

The next thing is that, well, she was a virgin.  According to scientific standards, as a virgin, there is no possible way she could bear a child.  Yet, she did.  You can tell this was one of her big questions when Gabriel the angel told her she would be with child.  She had good reason to ask it too, haha!

But the thing that amazes me out of all of them is that, she birthed God.  I mean, can you imagine that?!  She was pregnant with God.  She nursed God.  She fed God.  Raised God.  Clothed God.  It’s just….amazing to me.  And I know I’m using that word a lot – but it is ahh-mazing!

“Mary Did You Know?” is one of my all-time favorite songs.  I love the mystery, and everything about it.  The line that catches me most is, “When you kiss your little baby, you kiss the face of God.” – Can you imagine that?!  She kissed God.  Wow.

Mary was an extremely virtuous woman, and her position was definitely a different one – to say the least.  Don’t you agree with me?  Not only that, though, but the fact that she said, “I am the Lord’s servant. May your word to me be fulfilled.” – She accepted the fact that she would be pregnant, and bear the Son of God, with absolutely no hesitation or argument.  This is definitely an example to us all – I mean, how many of us would so willingly accept that?  I know I definitely wouldn’t, unfortunately.  It’s not like Mary had a choice, so she couldn’t really say anything different, but it’s just the mere fact that she accepted it without any hesitation.  No wonder she found favor with God.

Luke, Chapter 1:26-38, tells Mary’s story.

26 In the sixth month of Elizabeth’s pregnancy, God sent the angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a town in Galilee, 27 to a virgin pledged to be married to a man named Joseph, a descendant of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. 28 The angel went to her and said, “Greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you.”

 29 Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be. 30 But the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary; you have found favor with God. 31You will conceive and give birth to a son, and you are to call him Jesus. 32 He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. The Lord God will give him the throne of his father David, 33 and he will reign over Jacob’s descendants forever; his kingdom will never end.”

 34 “How will this be,” Mary asked the angel, “since I am a virgin?”

 35 The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come on you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the holy one to be born will be called[a] the Son of God. 36 Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she who was said to be unable to conceive is in her sixth month. 37 For no word from God will ever fail.”

 38 “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Then the angel left her.

As you’re preparing for Christmas this year, let’s not just remember Jesus’ birth, and the cute little baby in the manger, but His mother, what she went through, and her experiences.  But most importantly, we need to remember the RISEN Savior, and Lord of all Creation, who is coming again to claim His children – and this is a fact we should celebrate all year long.

Here’s “Mary Did You Know” – one of my very favorite songs.    😉  This isn’t exactly my favorite version, but I loved the video itself.    😀

Oh and by the way, I’m officially in love with hot Chai Tea.  Isn’t it yummy?  Especially on blustery, cold days, it’s the perfect drink!  A large cold front is passing through our region at this moment, resulting in a lot of snow here.  I’d include some photos in this post, but seeing how long it is already, I think I’ll wait until next time.

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Mary, Did You Know?

  1. Can you imagine how humble you’d have to be in order to be the mother of Christ? I’d totally be like “*ehem* I don’t know about you, but I’m 16 years old and, oh yeah, my child is the son of God.” Aaanndd that’s why God picked Mary instead of me 🙂

    I love that video and song (but not the Reba McEntire version…)! Is that clip from a movie or something…?

    Wait, it snowed?! Crazy, dude. It’s 60 degrees and gorgeous here in St. Louis. We win.

    • I know, right? I’d probably unfortunately be the same way – and that’s exactly why God picked Mary. 🙂 Glad you like the song too! I know…I don’t like Rebe McEntire’s version, but I loved the video clip itself. And the video I liked better wouldn’t embedd (embed? I don’t know how to spell that word…haha) on my blog. I was sad.

      Yeah that clip was from the movie Jesus of Nazareth. A super good movie. 😀

      Yes! We have like a foot of snow! Like I’ve said, we live in the mountains, and get a lot of snow. We had like a blizzard today. And that = a lot of shoveling. :/ Man, I so wish I was in St. Louis – but not just for the weather. 😉 I want to see you!! haha ok before I get too sentimental here, I’m getting off. 😀

      -Tia

Leave a comment

