‘Snowboarding is an activity that is very popular with people who do not feel that regular skiing is lethal enough.’

*epic*

I want to snowboard.  I want to play basketball.  I want to dance freely with a flexible and limit-free body.  I want to do activities with the youth at my church without killing myself or regretting it later.  And I can’t do any of this with my injured shoulder.

I’m a point right now where I can do a lot of stuff, yet there’s a fine line of stuff I can’t do.  It’s almost like I can touch it, yet I can’t get it.  Like a candy bar just out of reach enough so you can’t grab it, but you can just barely touch it.  I’m so close, yet so far.

I think this may be one of the hardest times I’ve had yet with my shoulder.  At least before it was like I couldn’t do anything (not that I enjoyed it), so I didn’t have a taste of what it was like.  But now I can do sooo many things and practically live “normally”, yet there are still so many things I can’t do.  I’ve never been all that much into sports, but now that I see what I can’t do, it makes me want to do it.

Yet, at the same time, my shoulder is making huge strides in getting better (at last!!) – so maybe it won’t be all that long before I can do some of those things…  It might take a while for me to convince myself that it’s ok when that time comes, though.

Just a month or so ago, I was playing catch with my family and totally re-injured my shoulder.  It was horrible….I hadn’t felt that kind of pain since physical therapy right after my surgery.  That was from catch!!  I think I just over-did it, but now I’m pretty apprehensive to try throwing again.

Do you guys see what kind of turmoil I’m going through right now?  It’s like I want  to do the things I can’t, yet don’t want to do them at the same time.  Ugh!  My brain must have something wrong with it, I’ll tell ya.  Can’t it make up it’s mind? 😉

Thanks for letting me vent.  I’m just trying to sort things out.  It really isn’t all that bad – things could always be worse.  I have it off pretty good compared to a lot of people, and I have a lot to be thankful for.

On a lighter note, have you guys noticed my new blog theme?  What do you think??  I’ve had my eye on this one for a while, but only just now switched to it.  Ok, so not “just now” – I think I’ve had it for a week or so.  But you know me and themes – they change frequently.  I guess that’s just like my brain….hmm…not sure if that’s good or bad.   😉

But I still want to snowboard.  Ok, that was random.  But it’s true!    😉  I’ve wanted to snowboard for like 3 years – but the first year we didn’t have money or something…maybe we just didn’t make the move for it, I don’t know.  Then last year I injured my shoulder and had surgery, so that was problematic.  And now I still have an injured shoulder – but I’m working on some special exercises to strengthen my shoulder so I could possibly snowboard.  I know it’s dangerous and hard….but for some reason, I just feel really attracted to the sport.  We’ll see, I guess.

Philippians 4:13 is very encouraging to me in this time.  ‘I can do anything through Him who strengthens me.’ 

This verse reminds me that even if I don’t have the strength to do something, Jesus Christ does.  Being a Christian, I am empowered through the Holy Spirit – and I can do anything through Him if it’s according to His will – even when I think it’s physically impossible.  If this means getting me through the rest of physical therapy, it’ll happen.  If it means getting me on to a snowboard – it’ll happen.  As long as it’s in His will, nothing, absolutely nothing is impossible.   😀

Until next time,

*title quote from Dave Berry.

8 thoughts on “‘Snowboarding is an activity that is very popular with people who do not feel that regular skiing is lethal enough.’

  1. I can understand your pain to some degree. I’ve just gone back to trapeze after having had a baby and being unable to do some of the things I used to be able to do is just so frustrating. I hope your shoulder heals real soon.

    • Aww, thanks. It so nice to know that someone understands. I hope all goes well with your trapeze, and you can get back to do everything you did before. Thanks for commenting; this really encouraged me. 🙂

      -Tia

  2. haha, I love your title. I’m sure that it is pretty fun, my sister used to do it. However, it does have its drawbacks. Then again, what doesn’t? But I can kinda understand the whole, “I want to do this” but every time that it comes up, you can’t. maybe one day you will, your shoulder can’t last forever. 🙂

    • Hey thanks! I wanted something catchy, so I Googled snowboarding quotes. haha that was the funniest one I found after a quick search. That’s awesome…with all this snow, snowboarding has been on my mind ALL day.

      Yep, I’m hoping that someday soon I will be able too. 😀 Thanks for commenting!

      -Tia

  3. I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I went through pretty much the same stuff you’re still going through. Except I didn’t stop sports – I had to stop violin and piano. And for someone whose life revolves around music, it was really hard for me. Although, if I could snowboard, I’m pretty sure that’d be WAY harder to give up than music 😉

    Scary and dangerous stuff is what I live for. I think maybe I’m just an adrenaline junkie who doesn’t want to admit it, especially since it bugs my mom. My poor mom… I don’t know how she puts up with me.

    I love the new theme. Although I’ve loved all of your blog themes 😀

    • Yeah I remember you writing about your shoulder problems before. I can totally relate with the music as well – I was really good with piano and excelling and advanced, etc, until I had surgery and in the recovery time I forgot everything. 😦 It’s really frustrating trying to learn it again.

      I know, right?! I’ve always been the kind of person who’s like, ‘I live on the safe side’, but I’m getting a lot more adventurous these days. I’m kind of like, ‘why not?!’ haha not sure if that’s just plain stupid or not. Especially when everyone is telling me not to snowboard. I love adrenaline rushes. they’re so awesome. 😀 My mom says that all her grey hairs are from us kids doing dangerous stunts, haha. I don’t know how your mom puts up with you either! jk, but since you’re my twin, I think I totally know what she feels like. if that made any sense at all. 😉

      Thanks! Glad you like it. Aww I’m so glad you’ve loved all of them. I’m sure I’ll go back to the pink and black one day – I kinda miss my aragorn header. :/

      -Tia

  4. Snowboarding is cool…When you watch other people do it, that is. I’ve been skiing for 8 or 9 years now, and every year I think about maybe trying to snowboard, but I think its a whole lot harder than skiing. It still looks kind of cool.
    Hey, its like the Apostle Paul said in 2 Corinthians 12:9: “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness”. So the LORD is probably showing His power through you! But I feel your pain, I broke my arm when 7, and the doctor did not put me in a cast because I was too small and the brak was not that severe, just a hairline fracture. The next day, I went to a freinds house, and I fell on my arm 6 or 7 times. the pain was terrible, and it took forever to heal, and ever since then, my left arm has been really weak. It just takes lots of physical therapy and patience, so keep at it and pray that the LORDS power will be perfected in you.
    RAD

    • Thanks RAD! *whoa* wait I totally just realized you have a blog on wordpress – I’m checking it out like right now! 😉 Yeah a lot of people have thought it weird that I’ve lived in Flagstaff – with Snowbowl for over a decade and haven’t skiied once in my life. I kind of want to now though – maybe even before I snowboard, just to get a feel for the snow and everything. I think snowboarding looks amazing. Though I’d probably be scared to DEATH the first time I catch air, haha.

      Thanks for the encouragement. It’s really helpful! I never knew that about your arm; that’s interesting. Sorry it’s so weak. :/ thanks so much, RAD!

      -Tia

Leave a comment

