Horse. aka Basketball, Soccer, and Shoe.

I played basketball!!  With my injured shoulder!!  With no pain!! 😀 😀

Let me give you some back story on this: My family and I drove to Colorado this weekend to visit some friends, and pick up some meat (these friends raise cows and sell the meat…so we bought some.).

So while we were there, my friend brought out a basketball…and we started poking around with it.  I was hesitant, but decided to try anyway.  I took the basketball, and shot it…made it through the hoop.  And again, and again, and again.  My first four times, I made every shot!  I was so amazed.  We kept playing, and it was really fun!

We ended up playing “Horse” – the game where if you miss the hoop, you get a letter (starting with H) and you can only play until you’ve spelled the word “Horse”.  I’m sure everyone in the universe knows how to play this game.  Except me.  I had to be taught it and was quite confused at first, haha.  But eventually I got it down, and slowly it morphed into “Basketball”, “Soccer”, and for some weird reason, “Shoe”.  I don’t even remember what really happened in that game, because we were called in for lunch.  😉

It was so nice playing basketball – not to mention playing with friends who aren’t competitive.  That’s really a bonus when you have an injured shoulder and you haven’t played for over 2 years.

I have to admit, I wasn’t looking forward to traveling again.  We’ve traveled a lot more this past year than we have for a long time, and I was really wanting to just stay home.  I’m a hermit, home-body, whatever you want to call it – I like to stay in my hometown, unless it’s planned for months ahead.  I guess my real problem is that I dislike change.  I really do – especially if it’s sudden and without much notice.  I don’t know why….but change just rubs me the wrong way.  So when this trip came up, I was upset.  Our church was having a baptism on Sunday, and it seemed like we were going to miss it.  I had plans to get together with a friend on Saturday, and had to cancel that.

However, I had a *lot* of fun, and I’m so glad we went.  It wasn’t stressful, it was relaxing and nice.  My dad knew how important it was for me to see one of my best friends baptized, so he made sure we left early enough on Sunday to make it home in time for the baptisms – which we did.  This has definitely impacted me, and hopefully when future trips come up, I’ll remember it and be a better sport about it.

I’m so thankful that Jesus provided me with the opportunity to play basketball – and took away all pain for it as well.  I’d been scared to death to try for a long time, and this shattered all those fears.  My shoulder has made *huge* strides lately, and all for the better.  Yes, I still have some pain, and some days it’s still sore, but not near like it was.

I believe that my injured shoulder will always be my “thorn in the flesh” like the Apostle Paul had, but I’m sure it’s something I can deal with – after all, “I can do anything, through Christ who strengthens me” – Phil. 4:13.

TTFN,

10 thoughts on “Horse. aka Basketball, Soccer, and Shoe.

  1. Good for you!!! I’m sure you did much better than I did this last Sunday; and I didn’t even have an injured shoulder as an excuse! 😛 (My excuse was that I hadn’t played in forever)

    Once again, I rejoice with you!!


    -Tara cm

    • Thanks Tara!! haha well not playing for a long time does show after a while… 😉 We have a basketball hoop…but it’s sitting on the ground, so it’s not very useful. I’d love it if we could mount it soon so we can play more often. Plus, I’m sure it’s good exercise for my shoulder, right? 😉

      Thanks again! It’s good to hear from you. 😀

      -Tia

  2. GAHHH!!! I’M SO PROUD OF YOU!!! 😀 😀 😀

    Haha, sorry. I don’t usually use all caps…or exclamation points…but I was seriously excited when I read that you were able to play basketball and not hurt yourself. I know how apprehensive I was about playing any sports (or even just moving…) when I injured my shoulder, so I can only imagine how you felt. Although, with me, my mom was annoyed I wasn’t doing anything at all, so she stuck me in a fencing class. Hmmm…

    Hey, little secret: I have no clue how to play horse. And I’ve even played it before. The rule’s obviously don’t stick with me. Fail.

    • THANKS!!! 😀 😀 😀

      haha I’m so proud of me too…if that makes any sense. 😉 Yep, just moving was a toughie for a long time. If I knew a year ago that I’d be playing basketball now, I’d be like, “no way”. and I wouldn’t have believed it for anything. A fencing class?! Are you serious?? That’s torture! I couldn’t imagine…even now.

      Glad I’m not the only one! Well, with how many rounds we played, I’m pretty sure I won’t forget it for a while. 😉

      -Tia

      • It totally makes sense. I’m proud of myself all the time…awkward…? Fencing. Blech. Actually, it was really, really, really fun, but the class was a bit of a….dare I say it? Dorkfest. After I graduated from the beginner class, it turned into open fencing. So, basically, I’d show up, put on my fencing garb, and then walk around for an hour and a half asking people asking if they wanted to fence with me. And when I wasn’t fencing, I’d attempt to talk about video games with the guys. I learned more about Zelda than any human being should know…

        Yeah, I’m not big on basketball, or sports, or exercise, but I thought horse was fun 🙂 If I’m remembering it correctly…

        • haha well at least it was *really* fun! 😀 I love that – ‘dorkfest’ haha. I’ve never played Zelda, but I’ve heard a lot about it too…and frankly it sounds boring, but whateves.

          Yeah, I’ve never been all that big on sports until I absolutely haven’t been capable of doing something, so now that I can do it, I want to do it. Weird how things work like that. And about exercise…hmm….I know it’s the best thing for me, and I’m taking a Physical Fitness course and learning all about the advantages of exercising (and disadvantages of not exercising), but for some reason, I just can’t will myself to do. Oh well. I’m not *too* heartbroken or concerned. 😉

          -Tia

  3. You’re a superwoman I think, played basketball with your shoulder injured. very brave too 😀
    I think it’s almost 14 years since I played basketball, I got injured too on my knee :p

    • Oh, thank you! That just made my day. Wow, 14 years is a long time…I’m sorry your knee is injured. I hope it gets better! I have to say, basketball is a tough sports on joints. Thanks again, I really appreciate that! 😀

      -Tia

Leave a comment

