In which I write about listening to amazing music…

Guess what came in the mail on Friday??

The Phantom of the Opera soundtrack!!  It’s the 2 disc special edition. 😀  Not only does it have all the main songs from the film, but it also has a lot of dialogue included in it – it’s almost like watching the movie itself.  Just without video.  Ok, maybe it’s more like listening to an audio book.  I don’t know, I just know that I’m loving it!

I actually haven’t listened to the whole thing through yet, but I’m working on that as I’m writing this.  Ahhh this music is so amazing.  I love the full orchestra…the talented voices..etc.  One of the most amazing parts of it is that Emmy Rossum (and other talented peoples) can sing those ridiculously high notes – without going into falsetto.  Now that’s amazing.  At the end of the them song “Phantom of the Opera”, Emmy Rossum actually reaches a High E – which is like super amazingly high if you take a look at it on a piano. 😀

The songs included in the soundtrack are:

  • Madame Giry’s Tale/The Fairground
  • The Swordfight
  • Prologue
  • Overture/Hannibal
  • Think of Me
  • Little Lotte/The Mirror
  • Angel of Music
  • The Phantom of the Opera
  • The Music of the Night
  • Magical Lasso
  • I Remember
  • Prima Donna
  • Poor Fool, He Makes Me Laugh
  • Why Have You Brought Me Here
  • All I Ask of You
  • All I Ask of You (reprise)
  • Journey to the Cemetery
  • Wishing You Were Somehow Here
  • Masquerade/Why So Silent
  • Wandering Child
  • The Point of No Return
  • Down Once More
  • Learn to Be Lonely
  • Don Juan
  • We Have All Been Blind

Several of my favorites are the “Overture”, “The Phantom of the Opera”, “The Music of the Night”, “All I Ask of You”, “Masquerade”, and “The Point of No Return”.  I guess that’s most of the main ones…haha.  But I love all of them – especially the dialogue.  It’s overall really amazingly cool and I’m so glad I bought this CD. 😀

What songs do you like from the Phantom of the Opera?  Well, I guess that depends if you like the Phantom.  If you don’t, what are some of your favorite songs otherwise?

In other news, at church today, the sermon was about persevering under tribulation.  It was basically talking about staying joyful in times of trial and still give God the glory.  The pastor was also saying that we shouldn’t think that our situation is a “special case” – therefore meaning we have an excuse not to rejoice.  Every situation is special, and in every single one we should still thank God for it, because eventually it will be for the better.  Still, really, who wants to rejoice when you’re under tribulation?  No one, that’s who.

However, James 1:2-4 says, “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.  And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”

I believe this means that we should be joyful in trials because it will eventually shape our character for the better.  This is super hard to remember (especially in the moment), but nevertheless, we should all try to remember this.  It would be helpful if we pray ahead of time about letting us remain cheerful in times of trial – before we are actually in them.

And I am now going to continue listening the Phantom of the Opera Soundtrack.  Later, peoples!   😉

16 thoughts on “In which I write about listening to amazing music…

    • Congratulations – you got the first comment on this post! haha I just had to say that. Anyway – yes!! It’s amazing! I could listen to it all day…and I do. 😉 Thanks for commenting!

      -Tia

  1. Gahhh, Rach beat me. I kept forgetting to comment on this post….laaammmeee.

    I love Phantom of the Opera 😀 I know I’ve said this before, but Gerard Butler? *swoon* It’s probably one of my favorite musicals on video – next to The Music Man. As for favorite songs otherwise, my favorite band is still Honor Society, but right now I’m also listening to Queen, Demi Lovato, NeverShoutNever, Celtic Thunder, Maroon 5, Jimmy Eat World, Adele, Sunderland, and some old school Backstreet Boys and *NSYNC. You know, just the classics. How about you, missy? What are your favorite songs/bands? Or at least your favorite songs right now?

    • hahaha I was very surprised. I could tell that you either forgot to comment or…my post was really lame. 😉

      Yes, Gerard Butler is amazing. So envious of Emmy Rossum – she definitely got the chance of a lifetime with him in the movie, haha. You know…I haven’t heard much by Demi Lovato – I need to listen to her. Oh yes, precious, the classics. of course. 😉

      Ummmm well, missy, I love Avril Lavigne, David Bowie (I know he’s old, but I love his British accent and everything. he’s awesome), Beach Boys (I know, I know…punish me later), The Eagles (except for their country songs that they label as rock), Bruno Mars, Casting Crowns, Red, My Chemical Romance (if I’m in the mood for metal), Natalie Grant, Top Gun Soundtrack, Mr. Mister, Styx, Rebecca St. James, Francesca Battistelli, Jason Mraz (or at least his song “I’m Yours”, Huey Lewis, Brian Weaver, and…others. haha hmm most of those are old bands…oh well. 😉 I still like them.

      -Tia

  2. Sounds like a really amazing music.
    Phantom of the opera is one the movie that I’d like to watch since a long time, but it’s difficult to find the DVD in my country. Think I’ll order it from Amazon :p

    • I would definitely recommend ordering it from Amazon (you gotta love it – Amazon has *everything*)! That’s sad that it’s a difficult DVD to find in your country…but at least you can order it. It really is amazing. 😀

      -Tia

    • Oh my goodness, it’s my mom’s dream to see the broadway production! That must’ve been amazing. 😀 Glad you love the movie too – they definitely did a fantastic job making it.

      -Tia

    • Really?? Wow, I’d *love* to see it live. So would my mom – it’s pretty much her dream to go to NY and see it live when all her kids are moved out. 😉 I love the movie! Everything about the Phantom of the Opera is amazing. 😀

      -Tia

  3. I. LOVE. Phantom. I saw it live in Portland several years ago, and it was… AMAZING.

    Plus, I can hit that high E!!! xD I’m so proud of myself 🙂

    I have the entire soundtrack on my iPod…er, cheap MP3 player. Lol.

    • I know, right?! It’s ahh-mazing. You saw it live?? lucky. I’d love to see it live eventually.

      Really?! wow congratulations! that’s amazing! You are definitely talented. My voice cracks about an octave before the High E. (Ok, so maybe not an octave…but I definitely can’t hit it!) haha I’m officially amazed.

      The soundtrack is so nice. I love it. haha I used to have a cheap MP4 player that I one from one of those postcards in the mail (the scratch and win ones), but after a couple months of using it…it broke down. 😥 I was so sad…but then I got my iPod and was ok. haha Glad you have the music – it’s the best! 😀

      -Tia

  4. When I decided that I needed to own this soundtrack, I would settle for nothing less than the 2 disc special edition. Everything about Butler causes me to swoon so I really had no chance against Phantom of the Opera.

    • I couldn’t agree more! Just thinking about Gerard Butler… *swoon* I couldn’t imagine settling for anything less than the 2 disc edition either. The Phantom of the Opera is simply amazing. Thanks for commenting!

      -Tia

Leave a comment

