Oh when the French fries march on in! oh when the French fries march on in….

Um...delicious? Pass the ketchup, please.

I love French fries.  Next to chocolate, pork, Italian everything, Johnny Depp, Lord of the Rings, writing, (insert awkward pause)…ok, next to a LOT of things, they are the most amazing thing to grace this planet. I could eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  And I have – which is why I’m writing this post. 😉

So remember when I wrote that we had to go down to Tucson for my uncle’s funeral? Well, we had quite the interesting time on the drive down.  See, it happened to be on a certain day when Burger King had their grand opening for a new style french fries they made.  On this special day, everyone who came in could get a small sized French Fry bag to try the new fries for free.  Sounds, great right?  😀

It was around 8:30-ish in the morning when we made our first stop.  Since there are 6 in our family, we all soon had our own hot french fries.  We were still in our hometown at that point, but soon we were on the freeway.  Little did I know how many french fries I would be asked to ingest that day.

We stopped at Camp Verde and got more French fries.  I actually hadn’t finished my previous ones yet, so I had some extra to still work on.  Driving on, a little while later, we stopped at a Burger King in Phoenix.  I was in trouble by now because I had several French fries leftover. When we reached the other side of Phoenix, we stopped for more French Fries.  At this point, my family was starting to get a little upset that I was saving my French fries instead of eating them.

We stopped at some place between Phoenix and Tucson (I can’t remember the name for the life of me), and surprisingly found more little treasures.  And, finally, we stopped in Tucson for more.  By then we were begging not to stop.

By the time we reached my aunt’s house, we were totally and completely French fried-out.  Just looking at the French fries turned our stomachs.  My mom kept telling us to look on the bright side – we’d picked up about $20 worth of French fries for free!  I know it was a great bargain…but I’m pretty sure I could’ve done without a few of those fries.

However, I have to say, my anti-French fry stomach didn’t last for long, because later that evening I found my cold fries and ate all the leftovers.  Yes, the grudge between me and French fries is gone, and I will gladly eat them for breakfast again. 😉

Now, how to connect French fries to God? Well I guess I could write something humorous about not being a glutton, but….I’m sure you all saw that coming. 😉 Rather, I think I’ll take an unexpected turn and give you this verse to ponder:

Matthew 6:25-27, “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can anyone of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?”

In our day and age, it is very easy to worry. To stress. To be anxious or nervous.  But like the verse says – does it add anything to your life??  Of course not!  In fact, it’s scientifically proven that stress and worry causes health problems.  So why do we worry so much?  I think it’s because as humans, we want to be in control.  It’s in our nature.  To just give a problem up to Someone we can’t see is humanly illogical.  Yet – God’s logic is completely different than ours.  Many things that God asks us to do don’t make any sense at the moment, but in the end, it makes perfect and complete sense – and often in ways hard for us to imagine.

Did you know that the words “do not worry” are recorded in the Bible 366 times? That’s one for every day of the year – plus leap year!  Isn’t God amazing? He wants us to happy and healthy – can you imagine how much happier and healthier we’d be if we didn’t have any worries?  🙂 And that’s exactly how we’ll be in Heaven.

Well, I guess I’ll sign off now.  I hope this post has given you some laughs, some thoughts, and some awe for our Creator. Oh, and one more thing: yes, I am nerdy enough to make a parady out of “Oh When the Saints Go Marching In” to compliment my French Fry post.  My mom and I actually came up with words to the whole song one night when both of us were starving (and yes, the words were all food related – can anyone say “awesome”?)

Au Revoir! (Speaking of French)

5 thoughts on “Oh when the French fries march on in! oh when the French fries march on in….

  1. Very nice, Tia…I’ve been waiting for you to post on this! As you know, I do not love french fries…not really…occasionally i will eat them dipped in Todd’s BBQ Memphis Red BBQ sauce. Or in Gilroy at the garlic festival. Any other time, it just isn’t going to happen. You have some pretty random passions for random things….:):):) Ah, you make me laugh! Hmm…I guess I do too though. Thanks for posting!

  2. French fries = amazing. Once my dad bribed me into watching a movie with him by offering me french fries. Needless to say, it totally worked. And I love the scripture passage. I always worry about stuff that really doesn’t need to be worried about. I need to remember that passage! 🙂

    • haha that totally sounds like something my dad would do. And it would work. There’s just something about French fries that’s hard to resist. Glad you liked the Scripture! It’s definitely a favorite. 🙂

      -Tia

Leave a comment

