hand washing horrors

Not this kind of hand washing. Though I am curious; who really ever uses this much soap?

What could possibly cause me, an average American girl, to call “hand washing horrors”?

A broken down dishwasher. *gasp*

That’s right, folks.  For the past 2 weeks, my siblings and I have had to hand wash *all* the dishes for *every* meal, *every* day.  I never knew how much the dishwasher meant to me.  I never truly realized how much dishes can multiply through the day.  It doesn’t really seem like that much when you can just stick dishes in the dishwasher throughout the day.

We Americans in general sure are spoiled, aren’t we?  I recognize that not all Americans have dishwashers, and some people have them and don’t like to use them.  I am uber impressed by those dedicated individuals.  I have to admit, though, when I walked in the door yesterday, and saw a new dishwasher in the kitchen, I was ecstatic.  😀

Our old one broke down so suddenly, we didn’t have anytime to prepare or order a new one.  I had filled the dishwasher to its limits with tons of dishes, and happily closed it up.  I reached down and pushed the button to turn it on.

Nothing happened.

Slightly unnerved, I tried again.

Nothing.

By this time, I may or may not have been panicking at the thought of all the dishes I’d have to hand wash.

My dad checked it out, and sure enough, it was shot.  Let’s just say our hands have been more shriveled these past two weeks from dish water than they have been for a *long* time. 😛

Now that’s what I’m talking about.

Ok, on a more serious note, I do want to mention that being without a dishwasher really hasn’t been *horrible*.  Yes, it’s been hard, but not terrible.  We are extremely blessed, and are much more fortunate than several citizens even in my own city.  This time of not having a dishwasher has made me think of the “old days,” when they didn’t have dishwashers, or really any of our modern appliances.  We have it so easy nowadays, and even so we still complain about the little things we have to do.  It’s comical, really.  And I can say that, because I’m one of the biggest complainers, unfortunately.  Yes, it’s something I’m working on.  🙂

God has truly blessed us.  By us, I’m referring not only to my family, my state, and my nation, but also the world in general.  Just to think of how far we’ve come in engineering and sciences…. It’s mind-blowing.  Just yesterday, I attended an air show at our local airport.  As I watched airplanes fly in formation, I couldn’t help but think of how much Leonardo DaVinci would have given anything to see it.  Most people know of DaVinci as a great painter, but he was so much more.  He was a mathematicion, an astronomer, chemist, scientist, engineer, and in a nutshell – a genius.  Of course, when he drew sketches and introduced the idea of airplanes, he was laughed at, and the ideas were forgotten.  I think Leonardo would love to see airplanes fly, and see just how much we rely on them for daily transportation.

One last thing: my family and I saw The Avengers today.  Can I just say “epic”?  It was kind of awesome.  I loved it. Especially Tony Stark – though you guys probably guessed that from my post on Iron Man.  Still, I really loved it when Captain America said, “There’s just one God – and I’m pretty sure He doesn’t dress like that.”  Yeah, that pretty much sums it up.

Have a great week!

-Tia

8 thoughts on “hand washing horrors

  1. I know exactly how you feel Tia. Our last house had no dishwasher. We lived there for a year and a half. 🙂 Needless to say, I was so overjoyed when we moved into our current house and finally had a dishwasher that I gladly volunteered to unload the thing every morning! We certainly are blessed!

    ~Kiah

    • Wow, a yeah and a half without a dishwasher…. That must’ve been hard. I’m sure you became quite the expert at hand washing dishes! haha I probably would’ve done the same thing as you – just to enjoy the fact that there WAS a dishwasher to unload!

      Thanks for commenting, Kiah! I always enjoy hearing your insight. 😀

      -Tia

  2. I use that much soap frequently.
    Don’t have much to say about the dishwasher… we don’t have one hehe. I only wash dishes about once a week tho, so it’s not too bad.

  3. When I was younger(around 7 or 8) I went with my family to my aunt’s house. They lived in a teeny little house which was made up for by the lake that was on their land. But one thing stuck out and confused me in my youthfulness — Aunt Carrie didn’t use a dishwasher.
    Wait a second…she didn’t even HAVE one.
    I remember coming in from a fun day on the lake and, after eating dinner, very puzzled-ly watching my aunt wash all of the dishes by hand. I recall asking my mother about the situation.
    “Aunt Carrie doesn’t have a dishwasher, so she has to wash them all by hand.”
    I never wanted to see such a horror again. And I never have had to experience the lack of a dishwasher.
    But since I haven’t, I actually don’t mind handwashing dishes and sometimes do it just because.
    Yep I’m weird.

    • Haha, your story made me laugh. It must’ve seemed very strange to see your aunt handwashing all those dishes!

      I’m glad you haven’t experienced the horror of lacking a dishwasher. It’s quite traumatic. 😉 Hey, if you haven’t *had* to handwash dishes, then it definitely makes sense that you don’t mind handwashing them.

      Thanks for commenting! 😀

      -Tia

  4. Blahhhhhh, our dishwasher is broken right now. And with 8 of us in the family and lots of little boys who insist on using like 5 plates with every meal (why…), there are a lot of dishes. As I was doing them this morning I was like wait, I never commented on Tia’s post. So here I am commenting. And now that lunch is over I’m going to go wash more dishes. Insert sad face. But hey, now there’s one more thing that makes us twins, right? 😉 Bonding over our lack of kitchen appliances…

    • *whoa* yeah, I’m very very sure now that our brains and lives and connected through telepathy or fate…or something. We just seem to mimic each other all the time. Wow, you’re the oldest of 8?? There’s 6 of us total…so 2 parents, 4 kids. But 6 kids in your family? That’s a lot of dishes, to be sure. I hope your dishwasher is either fixed or replaced soon! I have personally experienced the horrors of handwashing all the dishes.

      Oh and I’m glad you finally commented, because I was just thinking about you this morning. I was was all like, hey, Picco never commented on my post. 😦 haha So I’m glad you’re back now.

      -Tia

Leave a comment

