An epically amazing book

What are my favorite book genres?  Action adventure, fantasy, sci-fi, and historical fiction.  “So how,” you are wondering, “did a book entitled Mere Christianity make it on your list of favorite books?” [See my about page]

Oh, wait.  You’re not wondering that?  Well, I’d like to tell you anyway.  You will not find theology anywhere on my list of favorites.  However, this book, Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis, is one of my top-favorites.  I knew that Lewis was creative before I read this book, but now I come to the conclusion that he was a brilliant genius, and yes, I score him above Tolkien. *gasp*  How could I?!  Well, let me tell you a little about that book, and perhaps you’ll see why.

In Mere Christianity, Clive Staples Lewis explores human nature in general, and how it relates to Christianity.  C.S. Lewis is extremely convincing in his argument, not just because his language is captivating, but because what he writes makes sense.  He explains every detail in tiny steps, so there is no way a reader cannot understand what he is trying to say.  He uses allegories for nearly every idea he presents, making his point unmistakably clear.

“…he makes you sure, whatever you believe, that religion accepted or rejected means something extremely serious, demanding the entire energy of the mind.” – Harper’s.

As Anthony Burgess, in The New York Times Book Review states, “Lewis is the ideal persuader for the half-convinced, for the good man who would like to be a Christian but finds his intellect getting in the way.”

This statement in undeniably true.  C.S. Lewis spells out everything so strongly, that after the book is finished, the reader knows that it is foolish not to have a religion.  Even if it’s not Christianity, Lewis points out that every person has some kind of a religion, and it’s foolish to think it is unnecessary to have one.

Lewis explains that God and life, religion and everyday business, Christianity and reality are all one and the same thing.  They are not separate – God is integrated throughout all of life.  Christian morals are held by those who claim atheism.  You cannot take life apart from God, and you cannot take God out of life.  It sounds strange in my words, but when C.S. Lewis explains it, you just know it is true.

Mere Christianity is so simple, yet so profound.  It strips away all formalities and legalisms that so many Christians are hung up on, and exposes the beauty of simple Christianity – “mere” Christianity.  C.S. Lewis geniusly explains all structures and aspects of the faith by creatively painting pictures and images for clearer understanding.

This book, this brilliant book, could change the world if more people read it.  It could change the entire outlook on Christians, and the Christian worldview.  It would definitely make a deep impact in the church itself – many legalistic and hypocritic “Christians” would have to re-evaluate what truly matters, and many liberal, “feel good” Christians would need to take a deeper look into what they truly believe.  This book was written by a genius, and more people need to not just hear about it, but read it, study it, and meditate on the deep truths that C.S. Lewis so simply presents.

You guys, I seriously recommend reading this book.  It is phenomenal, and I’m positive you won’t regret it.  I’m not a big “doctrinal” person, but this book has really touched me.  Even if you are against Christianity, or you have some serious doubts about it – please, take the time and read this book.  It is life-changing, and truly enlightening.  It could change the world if more people read it.

Love,

-Tia

6 thoughts on “An epically amazing book

  1. I love C.S. Lewisl. But I totally get the whole feel good Christian thing. Sure, there are over a billion of us, but how many are real Christians, not just “heritage” Christians that were raised in the religion but don’t follow it whatsoever? I dunno. It irks me. But anyway, I’ve read The Screwtape Letters and The Four Loves, so I guess I’ll have to read this next 😉

    • Of course you do!! twins! 😉 I know what you mean…all those feel good, and even legalistic Christians sure do give us sincere Christians a bad rap.

      Oh my goodness, I LOVE the Screwtape Letters! I’m actually listening to it right now from Focus on the Family Radio Theater – it is absolutely amazing. Seriously, if you haven’t heard Focus on the Family’s version of it, you really need to. It is incredible.

      -Tia

  2. Pingback: Today is Tuesday! « Holding the Future Hostage

  3. Pingback: C.S. Lewis – Mere Christianity « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

