Today is Tuesday!

Here goes my first Today is Tuesday post!  I’m hoping this motivates me to blog more.  😀  I’ve found some interesting things to tell you this week, so here we go!

  • First off, it was my Mom’s birthday on Saturday (August 4th).  She’s 21.  You know, like most moms.  😉  I bought a couple containers of her favorite multi-colored chocolate covered sunflower seeds from Trader Joe’s for her, which she was really happy about.  We made her a breakfast of pancakes, bacon, malto-meal, and scrambled eggs.  Yeah, kind of a mixture, but she liked it! 🙂  My mom loves to quilt, so she was able to devote her day to quilting – you can imagine her joy.  Also, my brother bought a couple of really cool fabric ink pens for her.  These pens are used to mark on the fabric where you should sew, and then when you’ve sewn the seam, you press the fabric and voila! the ink disappears.  Yep, pretty awesome.  She was stoked about them.  Later that afternoon, we left for a friend’s house in Chino Valley, where they were having a fellowship and get-together.  We had a potluck, then sang several worship songs and had a Bible study.  It was really fun, especially since we only see a lot of those people once a month.  My mom had a great time.  The only problem was they didn’t have cake!  We were busy all day yesterday, so I’m going to attempt and make a cake today.  Hopefully chocolate.  Keyword there: attempt.

  • I’m saving my money up for this Joker wall scroll, and this Batman t-shirt.  If you can’t tell, I really like Batman.  Well, mainly the Joker, but after Christian Bale’s honorable visits to the victims of the Colorado shooting, he’s pretty high on my list of favorites.  Anyways, I do actually have the money for those items, but I’m spending it on more important things like The Essential Michael Jackson album, and Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas, which will be released tomorrow! 😀 😀

  • Can you tell that I love Amazon?  It has everything.  I’m constantly buying my stuff off there.  Also, my book will be available for sale on Amazon, which is pretty awesome.  I can easily spend a couple of hours on there, so I kind of have to set a time limit for myself.
  • Oh and about Michael Jackson, I thought I’d mention how I’ve recently (like, in the last week) have come to love his music!  Keywords there: his music, not his person.  At least, not his older person.  Seriously though, Michael Jackson’s music is really incredible.  And, I’ve only just discovered it.  I found the album and started playing the teaser songs, and both my parents knew the lyrics to all of them.  Why did I not know about Michael Jackson before now???  I was born in the wrong decade, people.  I mean really – I was born in the era of Justin Bieber, Selina Gomez, Katy Perry, and Lady Gaga.  I know practically nothing of all the amazingly epic singers from the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s!  I didn’t even know that Michael Jackson was the one who sang “Bad,” or “Rockin’ Robin” – now favorites of mine.  There’s something seriously sad there, people.

  • Last Tuesday, I surprised my parents by citing from memory a couple stanzas of “Life in the Fast Lane” by the Eagles.  Yes, I do know the Eagles.  That was one band not kept secret from me.  After I quoted those lines in application to a story someone had told us, my parents promptly decided that I needed to apply my memory to Scripture, not music.  haha  I could use to memorize more Scripture.  I mean, I know a lot of Scripture, just not memorized word for word with the reference.  I guess that could come in handy sometime, especially when evangelizing.
  • Current book I’m reading: The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.  It’s…um…interesting.  I’ve read better, but it’s intriguing.  Kind of strange, definitely original.  Not sure I’d really recommend it, but it’s an okay summer read, I guess.  One thing about it, though – I can believe how many times Jane Eyre is mentioned in this book!  I think that might have been the author’s favorite novel or something, because this book is saturated with allusions and references to Jane Eyre.  I absolutely adore Jane Eyre, so it’s not really a problem for me, but it’s just surprising how often it has come up.  Now, Wuthering Heights?  That’s definitely one of my least favorite books.  It’s so dark, and graphically reveals the morally depraved nature of man.  Ugh.  Yeah, not a favorite.

  • Speaking of books, I’ve recently (ok, a couple months ago) listened to C.S. Lewis’ The Screwtape Letters by Focus on the Family Radio Theatre.  It is absolutely amazing.  My mom, brother, and I read the book a few years ago, but this audio recording takes it to a whole new level.  I can’t express how much I enjoyed this.  It was incredible, addicting, slightly creepy (just enough to make you want to know what’s happening, you know?), and extremely well done.  I recommend listening to this to anyone…I’d say over the age of 14.  It does deal with the moral issues of man, and it does have some scary parts in it, so it wouldn’t exactly be appropriate for children under 15.  I know how I mentioned I love C.S. Lewis before, and I just have to mention again how much of a genius he was!  He took Christianity, and wrote a story from a backwards point of view, which works to just enhance the beauty of Christianity that much more!  The story is told from the viewpoint of two demons.  One is Screwtape, the other is his nephew, Wormwood – a demon in training.  It states that every demon has a “patient” – a person.  Thereby meaning that every person has  demon who will personally try to tempt them away from the “Enemy,” which is God, the maker of the Heavens and Earth.  God is always referred to as the Enemy, and it really is just a fascinating twist on Christianity.  C.S.  Lewis was brilliant.

  • Oh and about Batman: My dad, brother, and I just saw The Dark Knight Rises yesterday!  Oh my goodness, it was absolutely incredible.  I loved it!  I’m definitely a Batman fan now.  Batman Begins creeped me out (but I think that was mainly because I watched it while on heavy narcotic drugs after my surgery recovery), I loved the Joker in the Dark Knight, but I absolutely loved every aspect of the Dark Knight Rises.  Christian Bale did a spectacular job.  The ideas portrayed in the movie were totally believable, understandable, and relatable.  Bane was not only pretty classic, but he was really well developed – to the point that we could understand him.  He wasn’t just an insane villain out to take over Gotham City…he had a background that formed his character.  Also, even though it slightly pains me to say this, Anne Hathaway did a really great job.  Previously, I have greatly disliked Anne Hathaway, but this was her best performance yet – I actually liked her.  She had a different role, and really was Catwoman.  Christopher Nolan did such a great job with this movie – it wasn’t near as dark or randomly violent as The Dark Knight (which I still loved, just for the record), it had incredible subplots, and the action was great.  I really, really, really liked it.  I will definitely add this movie to my personal collection when it comes out on Blu-Ray and DVD.

  • Did you hear that Peter Jackson is considering making the Hobbit into a trilogy?  I’m not sure how I feel about this yet.  One part of me thinks it’ll be good because then he can really develop the characters and draw heavily on the Appendices to give it a thorough Tolkien feel, but the rest of me is disappointed.  After all, it’s a small book – how could he get three movies out of it?  The Hobbit is the size of The Fellowship of the Ring.  There are three books for the Lord of the Rings; there are three movies.  It makes sense – one movie per book.  So why three movies for one book?  Does anyone have any ideas on this?  I think I’m mostly disappointed because that means it’ll be three more years before any of us will have seen the entire film adaptation of the Hobbit – I’ll be 19!  That seems just a little too long to a Tolkien nerd like me.  😉

  • Alright, I think I’ve covered pretty much everything else, so now it’s time for the weekly Bible verse and application.  The verse that has affected me this week is Psalm 37:4.  “Delight yourself in the Lord; And He will give you the desires of your heart.”  I’ve always loved Psalm 37.  It is one of my favorite Psalms.  I especially always liked this verse, but I think, (or rather, I know) it was for selfish reasons.  I mean really, who wouldn’t like it?  Delight in the Lord, and he will give you your desires.  However, yesterday, my dad read it aloud in church.  (We have a time of prayer and Scripture reading in the service.)  It struck me differently than I’ve thought about it before.  Our pastor mentioned it as well, but here’s what what I thought.  It doesn’t mean that if you simply delight in the Lord, He will give you what you want.  Think about it: when you really truly delight in something, you want to know everything about it, get into it more, get to know it or them more, etc.  So, if you’re truly delighting yourself in the Lord, there will not be room for the worldly or selfish desires that I was originally thinking it meant.  Remember, Jeremiah 17:9 states, “The heart is more deceitful than all else and is desperately sick; who can understand it?”  When we delight ourselves in the Lord, He will give us the desires that He places in our hearts.  He will fulfill us.  We cannot fully delight in the Lord while still harboring selfish or worldly desires – God and sin do not mix.  At the moment that we submit ourselves to Him, and delight in Him, He will give us what He knows we truly want.   Here’s a certain quote I’ve read that pretty much sums up what I’m thinking:

“Sometimes, God doesn’t give you what you think you want.  Not because you don’t deserve it, but because you deserve so much more.”

Well, I hope you enjoyed my first “Today is Tuesday” post.  I know it’s pretty long…hopefully next week’s won’t be quite so long.  Let me know what you think!  Did you like it?  Any suggestions?  Any comments on what I wrote?  I’d love to hear anything and everything! 😀

9 thoughts on “Today is Tuesday!

  1. Ugh! I can’t believe that I did not even wish your mom a happy birthday! I knew that her birthday was coming up, but somehow I totally spaced on Saturday. Do you think she can forgive me?

    I really appreciated your thoughts on Psalm 37. I too was really affected by your Dad’s reading that passage. It was a very fitting word for me at the time (Eph 4:29).

    Have a blessed week!
    ~Kiah

    • My mom says you’re forgiven! 🙂 It’s perfectly fine…everybody forgets. I was meaning to suggest singing “Happy Birthday” during the singing time, but I totally forgot as well. So, it’s all good.

      I’m glad you liked what I said! It just struck me so differently, I had to post about it. I will let my Dad know that it was a great passage for you as well!

      Thanks for commenting, Kiah! 😉

      -Tia

  2. I love these! It’s like a “Get to Know More About Me Tuesdays.”

    LIFE IN THE FAST LANE. GONNA MAKE YOU LOSE YOUR MIND! okay, so yeah. My dad loves the Eagles. We listen to them a lot in the car 🙂

    I’ve yet to read the Screwtape Letters, but I really want to! I have so much reading to do it’s crazy! lol. I’m gonna go read now actually 🙂

    Marie

    • I’m so glad you love it! At the end, I was like…”wow, this is a long post,” but then I figured I’ll probably have a lot to write next week, so it’s all good. I can definitely do random things. haha

      Yes! Good to know someone else memorizes the Eagles. Whether unintentionally or not, haha. I can pretty much quote the whole song…that might be a problem… 😉

      Yeah, you should totally read/listen to them! Seriously, they’re WAY better by Focus on the Family Radio Theatre than reading the book itself. Have fun reading! My fave pastime. 😉

      -Tia

  3. Yay!!! your first Today is Tuesday post..loved reading it Tia,helped me get to know you more!! thanks for the wonderful thought on the verse,definitely a lesson I’ll remember 🙂
    and hey your mom’s birthday was on August 4th??cool! my mom’s was on August 3rd..do tell her that a “blogger-well wisher” wished her a very happy birthday 🙂 🙂
    P.S:looking forward to your next post already!

    • Thanks!! I really love letting my readers know who I am…especially all the random and quirky stuff about me. 😉 I think this is definitely a blogging challenge I can keep up with! Plus, it’s super fun to write down all that random stuff. Oh good, I’m glad you liked my commentary on the verse. After reading it, I wasn’t so sure that I was able to express my thoughts accurately, so it’s good to hear the positive feedback!

      Wow, well tell your mom Happy Birthday from me as well! I will definitely let my mom know. She will be excited to hear that! 😛

      It’s so inspiring to hear that you’re looking forward to my next post! Thanks LynAn!

      -Tia

  4. Pingback: Why Is the Rum Gone? – Today is Tuesday « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

