Today is Tuesday: Three Things

I think I’ve come to a decision.  Two, actually.  (1), I should post more often than once a week.  I’ll choose something to exclude from my Today is Tuesday post, and go all out on it in a separate post.  That way, I’ll be a little more creative than having every post entitled “Today is Tuesday.”  What say you?  Think it’s a good idea?  For my second decision, I’ve decided that in my “Today is Tuesday” posts, I will only post 3 things.  Well, 3 random topics and then the Bible verse and application, that is.  I’ve realized that I kind of like to write, and even if it’s just something simple, I usually end up writing at least a paragraph per topic…add that to my 8 topics, and that equals a long post.

With only doing three things, I hope to engage more people in conversation (aka: I’d really love it if you would comment :D).  I know from personal experience that if I read a ton of randomly different topics in one blog post, I’m more likely not to comment.  Not because I didn’t like the post – I usually love posts like that – but because I’m kind of overwhelmed when I get to the end of the post, and forget what I originally wanted to comment about.  Or there was so much I wanted to comment on that it would make a huge comment, and I really don’t have the time or am too lazy to do it.  So, hopefully this will be a nice improvement on my blog. If not…I’ll keep experimenting. 😉

First on the list is Loki.  Yes, the brother of Thor and the villain in The Avengers.  Loki is amazing.  He’s so classic. I love it when Captain America, Iron Man, and Loki are on the plane and Captain America says, “What – scared of a little thunder?”  To which Loki replies, “I’m not overly fond of what follows it.” – Referring to Thor, naturally.  Other villains could have been like, “never, how dare you even suggest it,” but he’s classic about it.  Or when Thor says, “You listen to me, brother-” *Iron Man crashes into him* Loki: “I’m listening…”  He’s hilarious, bad, amazing, smart, sassy, and an all-around great villain.  He should definitely be named the god of Sass – just sayin’.  He’s awesome in Thor, and even better in the Avengers.  I know this is a highly debatable subject – many people I know can’t believe that I love Loki, and don’t care quite so much for Captain America, but I’m sure there are more Loki fans out there.  Also, even though I don’t quite care for Captain America, you know that I’ll always love Iron Man.

Ok, so whoever thought of mixing peanut butter and chocolate was a genius.  Also, using peanut butter to bake with.  Or possibly just peanut butter in general.  Actually, I’m not a huge fan of plain peanut butter, but I adore it in desserts and candies.  Three words: Peanut Butter Cups.  Do I even need to elaborate?  Ok, I will.  My dad recently bought these King Sized Peanut Butter Cups.  *Whoa* these are huge cups!  They are a full inch deep of peanut butter chocolate heaven.  Yes, I did measure.  Confessions of a homeschooler.

Anyways, I’m pretty sure I don’t talk about food that much.  I’m not really food inclined, to be honest.  I can easily forget about breakfast and go without lunch, and I normally don’t eat all that much at dinner (though I do go through phases where I totally pig out).  When I’m with my friends, there’s usually an abundance of food, but I honestly don’t have an appetite.  I’ll be starving by the time I get home, but when there’s other things going on, food isn’t that much of a priority for me.  I do like snacks, but then again, I go through phases where I can’t live without a snack and when snacks are the last thing on my mind.  Ok, so the whole point of saying this is that if I’m talking about a food item that I love, it has to be really *really* good – at least in my opinion.  Therefore, these King Size Peanut Butter Cups are incredible.  ‘Nuff said.

Current book I’m reading: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen.  This book was slightly difficult to get into.  I suppose it was more my fault than the book, considering I went from a super fast-paced, modernly written, gripping novel (Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas) to a classic.  It’s written in a totally different way, and different spellings (i.e. “chuse” instead of “choose,” “learnt” instead of “learned;” “stopt” instead of “stopped.”)  The setting is also much different than modern society.  A family moves into a home, and their neighbors are constantly calling on them, inviting them over for balls, parties, and all-day chats.  They literally go over just to talk and play cards – for days at a time!

In general, if people live in the country, they never go to town.  They have groceries and necessary items delivered to them, and if they do “go to town” it’s a spectacular event, and they’re expected to stay there for at least two months, but hopefully longer.  The setting is so foreign to ours nowadays, that it’s slightly difficult to imagine what Jane Austen was picturing – which is why I’m thankful for film adaptions of the classics.  Even though it may be hard to imagine, this book really does have some great lessons about prudence and discretion, and is well worth the read.  I’m more than halfway through Sense and Sensibility and am hopeful to finish it either today or tomorrow.  I will then move onto “Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters,” a novel which I am particularly looking forward to.

Bible Verse and Application: As I said last week, my family finally finished the book of Job.  *applause* That took a long time.  However, it was a very good study, and well worth the time spent on it.  After a family vote, we decided to next go over the 3 epistles of John.  Not the Gospel of John, but 1st John, 2nd John, and 3rd John at the back of the Bible.  You know, those tiny books that are so easy to skip over and so hard to find when you’re called on the spot.  Yep, those. Small as they are, they are very powerful books, and I’m looking forward to going through them.  It took a few days to go over a thorough history of the book, including the author, theme, time line, and more.  Basically, studying the practical approach of the book and how everything goes together.

After reading through the first chapter, a few verses have stood out to me.  1 John 1:6, “If we say that we have fellowship with Him, and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth” as well as 1 John 1:8, “If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us.”  These just seemed kind of interesting to me.  I think it hits a pretty sensitive note in our modern day culture.  We try to compartmentalize our lives.  One compartment for church, one for our “one on one” relationship with God, one for our social life, one for work, one for school…the list goes on and on.  In that way, we don’t have to worry about feeling guilty about doing things in our social life that we wouldn’t dream of doing in church.  Why do we do this?  I wonder if it’s because it’s so much easier than holding ourselves responsible.  God calls us to love Him with all our heart, soul, and mind, to unceasingly pray, and to integrate Him in all parts of our lives.  I think that the moral of these verses is to decide which side of the fence we want to be on, and stay on it.  Otherwise, we’re just being wishy-washy, and *nobody* likes a hypocrite.

What do you think of my “Three Things” idea?  Or, do you prefer reading a fairly long list of all the (semi) interesting things that enter my brain during an average week?  Let me know your thoughts!  Once again, I always love comments – they just make my day.

10 thoughts on “Today is Tuesday: Three Things

  1. Hey Tia.that’s a good idea,sticking to three things,and it’s true actually,when it’s too big people don’t read it till the end.so maybe this will be an effective way of giving people a good,crispy read:)
    but I would say,just go with the flow,you know sometimes you just can’t hold back certain things,you just want to put it there in the post right away(been there!;) ) during those times,don’t hold back,coz blog lovers like me wouldn’t mind a long one 😉 🙂
    and thank you for the things you shared today,especially the Bible verse,they build me!
    have a great week ahead!

    • Thanks for your thoughts on the three things! I agree with you – if it’s too long, people are more apt to skim through it, or just not read it at all. But then again, as you said, sometimes things are so exciting for me I just have to share! I will try and stick to three things, but we’ll see. God may have other plans! 😉

      Love your comments, LynAn! Thanks again

      -Tia

  2. He(Loki) is a trickster, or god of clever speech originally. I love Loki! He is my favorite bad guy ever! plus, he’s cute, not ugly like other bad guys are. He is so cool.
    that sounded a little weird (;
    RAD

    • Nah that wasn’t weird! I totally agree with you… Loki is so handsome, and sassy, and clever…and overall amazing. 😀 Aside from the Joker, he’s my favorite bad guy too. Thanks for the comment, RAD.

      -Tia

Leave a comment

