Beach Buggy Boogie

Sometimes, I surprise myself with creative ideas.  This was one of those times.  I thought, “Hey, I’ve talked a lot about my love of piano on my blog right?  I’ve said how I was able to play really well, had my surgery, forgot everything during recovery, and have slowly re-learned most of it again, have I not?  Then why not show my lovely readers how I can play?”

Isn’t that creative?  I thought so.  I thought I could record a video of me playing something simple to start with.  It shouldn’t be too hard, right?

Wrong.

At least, for me.  See, in telling you my story about forgetting everything I had learned and having to re-learn it all again, I also mentioned that I still couldn’t play a small piece without messing up.  Add a video camera, and I’m in big trouble.

But then I got another great idea.  Shocking, I know.  I figured that not only would recording my songs give you guys a chance to watch me play, but it would help discipline me in performance.  I have a theory that the more I record myself playing the piano, the more comfortable I’ll become with it.  Perhaps one day I can actually have people (you know, in real life) watch me without messing up.  *shudders*  I think it might be awhile before that, but perhaps this will be a step in the right direction.

Because I really dislike it when I KNOW I can play a piece perfectly, and then mess up when someone wants to hear it.  Grr.

So, here is a video of me playing “Beach Buggy Boogie” by Martha Mier.  It’s not the best I’ve played, but then again, I was kind of on nerves because we were recording it.  And this was like my 12th try of doing it without messing up.

Even though this song is pretty basic and simple, I love it and am very attached to it because this piece was actually the first jazz song I ever learned.  If you didn’t know, I LOVE playing jazz.  I jazz up every song I learn (some successfully, others not so successfully), and I just really enjoy playing with the rhythm.  I’ve jazzed up “Carol of the Bells,” “God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman,” “Phantom of the Opera,” “All I Ask of You,” “Fur Elise” (Also known as “Senorita Elisa”), “He’s a Pirate” (The Pirates of the Caribbean theme song), and more.

Oh, and the reason why my hands fly up at the end is because I was ecstatic that I made it through the song without messing up. 😀  Just thought you should know.  I hope you enjoy it, and I’ll hopefully have more songs to share in the future!

Oh, and you should probably know that this wasn’t the traditional version of Beach Buggy Boogie.  I jazzed up the jazz.  Yeah, I do that too. *cue hand slapping from my piano teacher* *cue laughing and congratulations from my piano teacher after she scolds me*  Punishment for changing the song, but congrats for doing it successfully.  I think I can deal with that. 😉

14 thoughts on “Beach Buggy Boogie

  1. hey good work Tia.thanks for sharing the video.I kinda loved the music 🙂 and another similarity between the two of us.I learnt piano too and had to stop coz of a nerve trouble.just yesterday I was feeling bad for giving up on piano.and today I see this lovely post.I remember nothing practically but I’m encouraged to re-learn.thanks for that 🙂
    and where did you start when you decided to learn again???self teaching or joined classes again?

    • Thanks LynAn! I’m glad you liked the song. Wow, I didn’t know we had so many similarities. Oh I’m glad I was able to encourage you! It’s taken me over a year to get back to where I am now, but it’s been worth it.

      I started from the very beginning. I used my old Piano Adventures Level 1 song book, and tried to play over familiar songs. When I realized that I had forgotten how to read music, I pulled out my charts and studied them until I had it fairly well down (I still have trouble sight reading), then I slowly worked on re-learning my old songs. They were all familiar to me, so I still had a great idea of how it was supposed to sound, it was just difficult. I had to take it line by line and listen to the songs on YouTube a lot to remember the exact rhythm. Mostly though, it was just a lot of time and determination.

      At the moment, I’m not taking piano lessons, but we are actively seeking for a new piano teacher. My former teacher moved, so that was kind of a bummer. I hope to start up lessons again soon, though. I hope this helped!

      -Tia

      • It was very helpful Tia,thanks a lot! 🙂
        maybe I should start sometime soon,you know? just a bit of hardwork and time.With God’s help,it might work out for good!!! thank you again 🙂

        • I’m glad I was able to help! Well, I have to say it took a lot of hard work, but after working at it for a while, it became easier. 😉 It was mostly frustrating to look at the sheet music for a song I used to play so effortlessly, and not be able to play it at all. I’m sure with time and perseverance, you’ll be able to to do it!!

          Once again, I’m so glad this has encouraged you! 😀

          -Tia

  2. Hey nice! I wanna learn some jazz stuff too; it’s kinda beast :). If you happen to be looking for more jazzy stuff, I might suggest Frustration Blues by Colin Ross (I think). Something I’d like to play sometime but it sounds pretty hard.

      • Thanks! Yes, I definitely love jazz. I’m pretty sure it’ll never go out of style… Jazz bands just *know* they’re cool, and there’s no need to change with the times. 😉 I’ll have to check that out – I’m always on the lookout for new jazz pieces. My dream piece to learn is “Linus and Lucy,” which happens to be ridiculously hard. One day perhaps.

        Owl City is great as well – they’re becoming super popular lately! I’ll have to look that up. Thanks again!

        -Tia

  3. nicely done. 🙂 I wish I could do jazz, it’s catchy. You did well, for all your nervousness. Congratulations on a pretty full recovery, and being able to play above and beyond the call of duty.

  4. Pingback: Happy November 1st! « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

