Why Is the Rum Gone? – Today is Tuesday

I’m pretty sure this video doesn’t even require explanation.  Hilarious, I tell you.  Though I will say that the random Teletubbies are a little weird.  Along with the random Pokemon.  Other than that, it’s amazing and ridiculously catchy.

I conquered Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen.  This is quite an accomplishment, let me tell you.  Upon reflection, this book was incredibly hard to get into.  I don’t know how I did it, except by sheer determination and perseverance.  However, the story line was intriguing, sweet, and the characters are endearing.  It is slightly predictable (from the beginning, I’m sure we all *know* that Edward is going to marry Elinor, and Colonel Brandon is going to marry Marianne), but how the result comes about is what kept me reading.  In all honesty, Jane Austen is hilarious – in a dry, 19th century British kind of way.  She excels at innocently mocking everyone’s downfalls in some point without actually coming out and saying it.  Sense and Sensibility holds great lessons in prudence, discretion, and listening to the wisdom of more experienced persons.

After reading the book, I watched the newest film adaptation of it, and it was very satisfying.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Usually, when I watch film adaptations after reading the book, I am sorely disappointed.  Most movies don’t even compare to the book (i.e. the numerous movies of Jane Eyre, vs. the book), but this one did a pretty good job.  There are a lot of things different from the book, but for the most part, I like the changes.  The plot flowed more smoothly than in the book, that’s for sure.  Kate Winslet made a beautiful Marianne, and Emma Thompson did an excellent job as Elinor.

Now, I am happily reading Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters by Jane Austen and Ben H. Winters, and it is absolutely hilarious.  I don’t think I would have enjoyed it so much if I hadn’t just read Sense and Sensibility, but since I did, I can pick out the differences from the original novel easily.  It’s pretty stupid and really far out there, but honestly very creative and one of the funniest stories I’ve read in a long time.

—I ordered two more posters recently, and they have arrived!  I ordered them off Amazon, as usual. 😉  Both of them are fantabulous.  One is a Michael Jackson poster.  It’s actually the artwork for his “Bad” album cover – just enlarged to fit a 24″x36″ poster.  I love it.  It did take awhile to get use to, because I was a *genius* and decided to hang it on my wall just above eye level…which for a short person like me, is pretty much the height of average people.  For the first few days, every time I walked by without thinking about the poster, or nonchalantly glanced over, I would literally jump.  It was a little strange getting used to a person standing there on my wall.  However, I’m used to it now, and just love it. 😉

So I would upload of photo of my poster hanging on my wall, but WordPress is giving me problems uploading my own photos, so I’m uploading a photo of the same poster I bought off Amazon.  Not necessarily a bad thing, considering this one doesn’t have a glare. 😉

The other poster is of The Dark Knight Rises.  Do you remember how much I loved this movie?  Seriously, it was amazing.  I loved every moment.  Therefore, when I saw this poster on Amazon for only $5.12, it practically screamed my name.  It is also 24″x36″ but I have it set up higher on my wall so it doesn’t freak me out with a Batman standing there.  It’s just a great poster…featuring batman, a fire in the shape of the Bat Symbol, Gotham City….  Yep, pretty epic.  Once again, I would upload of photo of the poster itself, but WordPress wasn’t allowing me to.  Therefore, here’s a photo of the poster from Amazon.

Strangely enough, there wasn’t a verse that really struck me this week.  There were lots of great verses, but I think I would like to share with all of you my favorite Bible Verse.  I’m pretty sure I haven’t done this yet, and if I have, I guess it doesn’t hurt anything.

My favorite verse is Isaiah 40:8, “The grass withers and the flower fades, but the Word of our God stands forever.”

I have loved this verse for several years now.  It is very encouraging to me because throughout history, rulers, kings, and riots/mobs have time and time again tried to destroy the Word of God, and wipe it from their culture or land.  They haven’t succeeded.  The Bible holds the record for the most published book in the world, and there isn’t a single country that can keep the Bible out of their borders.  They can try as they might, but people will always smuggle in God’s Word – and succeed.  No matter how many people are caught, more will be willing to step up and die if need be in the process of trying to spread the Good News.  This Bible verse doesn’t just say that the Bible will endure a long time, it says that it will stand forever.  Now that’s pretty powerful, if you ask me.

8 thoughts on “Why Is the Rum Gone? – Today is Tuesday

  1. Yes! Sense and Sensibility is in my top 3 favorite Austen novels (top 3 because who can pick just one??). I’ve never read the Sea Monsters version, but it looks hilarious.

    Marie

    • It really is a great story! Pretty difficult to read (I ending up reading it out loud to myself just to keep on track), but great lessons and characters. 😀 What are your other favorites?

      Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters is totally amazing. If you love Sense and Sensibility, I’m sure you would love this. Especially since you have a sarcastic sense of humor like yours truly, and that makes it even better. 😀

      Thanks for commenting!

      -Tia

      • Yes, I love Colonel Brandon and Elinor, and I totally did the same thing. It’s so easy to get lost! I love Persuasion, S&S, and Northanger Abbey. Pride and Prejudice is so-so with me 😛

        Haha thanks! I’m going to look it up 🙂

  2. …I’ve never read Sense and Sensibility…I know, what’s wrong with me? I’m working on getting through Lord of the Flies and Cancer Ward, and then I need to read a little Jane Austen, because apparently I’m the only person in the world that hasn’t read any of her books.

    I love it that you’re just now beginning to appreciate the wonderful/creepy world of Michael Jackson. I want that poster and I REALLY want the Batman one. Although I’m completely in love with my Heath Ledger one at the moment 😀 I miss that dude…

    You have the best Bible verses, and they’re *always* ones I need. Gracias 🙂

    • Well, I wouldn’t exactly say you’re missing much. I mean, the story is great…but it’s a pretty monotone book. I really liked the movie, and the Sea Monsters version is amazing. I have never read Lord of the Flies, but I want to. Sense and Sensibility is actually the first Austen book that I’ve *read* – as in actual book form. I’ve listened to others on tapes, and watched lots of movies, but this was the first read.

      I know, right? My uncle is a HUGE Michael Jackson fan, and he’s letting me borrow some original videos and cassettes of Michael Jackson. I’m so excited! Though the sad thing is that beside him and a friend who lives (3 hours?) away, there aren’t any MJ fans for me to talk with. In fact, most people I know *shun* him/his music, so it’s pretty disappointing. I ask someone, “Do you like Michael Jackson???” *cue creeped out face* “No, he’s weird. And scares me.” *cue person walking away* Oh well. I have you! The poster is utterly amazing…and perfect.

      I LOVE my Batman poster!! It’s incredible. You should post a photo of your Heath Ledger poster! I really want to see it. I miss him too…but not quite as much as I miss Michael Jackson. I missed that amazing person by 3 years. Pretty much the epitome of sad.

      Thanks! I’m glad you like the verses. I always hope that they’re encouraging or at least thought-provoking, so it really inspires me when I hear that people like them! Prego. (That’s Italian for “you’re welcome.”)

      -Tia

  3. ah Tia….I had an awesome time watching the video..had a very good laugh!!!! thank you sooooo much for that!!! 🙂
    and that’s one of my favourite verses too!!! 🙂

    • Oh I’m glad you liked the video!! I was hoping someone would. A friend showed that to me, and I was laughing so hard it was crazy. You’re very welcome!
      It’s definitely a wonderful verse. 😀

      -Tia

Leave a comment

