A Day Late and a Dollar Short: Today is Tuesday

Did anyone notice that I was MIA yesterday?  Probably not, considering it was a holiday and people have exciting things to do on holidays.  Like, stay home from work/school in their pajamas and watch TV shows while eating junk food saved especially for Labor Day.

In case you were wondering, though, the reason why I didn’t post yesterday was because my family and I were camping.  Thus, no internet.  However, I am back today with a post that I hope you enjoy. 😀

 Today was my first day of school.  It was officially my last first day of school, considering I am a Senior.  In a way, I’m very happy and want to celebrate like never before.  I’m mostly sad, though.  I know, totally not normal.  I can’t help it – I love school and learning.  Sure, I might have “first days of school” for college classes and stuff, but this was my last first day of school for my basic education covering Preschool, Kindergarten, Elementary School, Junior High, and High School.  I must say, it was a great first day of school.  Extremely busy, and I admit that I now have a headache, but great nevertheless.  I have ten subjects to do a day, plus essays, but I love every moment of it (so far).

I have to admit…this is pretty awesome.

 My family and I went to our County Fair this past Friday!  We always go on Fridays in the morning because schools get in free that day. 😀  It was packed, as usual.  We had a great time – looking at all the different exhibits, ranging from Hobbies and Collections, to Gems and Minerals, Floriculture, Open Youth, Home Economics, Schools, and all the 4-H.  Not only that, but there are bazillions of vendors on the fairgrounds with jewelry, paintings, license plates, blankets, food, and pretty much anything you can imagine.  Some draw caricatures – on their display board, they had caricatures of both Captain Jack Sparrow and Michael Jackson. I seriously wondered if they would be willing to sell them.

Oh and there was one display that I really wanted to do: Airbrush Temporary Tattoos.  It would’ve been so much to have a temporary tattoo, just for the sake of it.  I didn’t have it done, though, because I figured for the expensive price, it would wash off the next day in the shower…  So it really wouldn’t be worth it.  Some day, maybe…if I’m ever more frivolous in my spending than I am now. 😛

We didn’t end up going on the fair rides.  I kind of wanted to (I haven’t gone on rides for 3 years because of my shoulder injury), but it was already 3 pm by the time we had finished going through all the exhibits, and we were pretty tired by then so we opted to go home.  I was good with it…though next year I’m pretty sure I’d like to buy the bracelet for unlimited rides. 😀

 This past week, my mom, sister, and I did a Lord of the Rings Extended Edition Marathon.  It was pretty epic.  It practically took the whole week (we have a fairly busy schedule), but it was awesome.  I love LOTR, and the extended edition is like no other.  Once you watch that edition, there’s no going back to the theatrical version.  I wonder if they’re going to do an extended edition for the Hobbit movies as well someday… That would be incredible.  Anyways, after going through all the movies, I have to say, I absolutely love Gimli.  He is sooooo amazingly funny.  He’s not my favorite character (cue Aragorn), but he’s hilarious.  Honestly, all the characters are amazing, and I’m looking forward to see the cast and performance in the Hobbit.

 In starting school, I’ve read a lot already about our bodies being fearfully and wonderfully made.  I’ve read about it not only in my Bible course, but also in Family and Consumer Science, and Advanced Biology.  I’m guessing it’s pretty important, so I figured I should mention the verse on my blog.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” – Psalm 149:14

Sometimes, it definitely doesn’t seem like our bodies are so wonderful (i.e. from numerous aches, pains, injuries, sicknesses, etc), but God created us in His image, and we are 100% perfect in His eyes.  No matter what society says.

I hope you had a fantastic Labor Day weekend!  What did you do over the weekend?

2 thoughts on “A Day Late and a Dollar Short: Today is Tuesday

    • Glad I’m not the only one! Most of my friends absolutely hate school so they can’t understand why I love it so much. Yes! the fair was a lot of fun. 😀 Thanks for commenting, Rach!

      -Tia

Leave a comment

