Working Day and Night: Today is Tuesday

Hi.  I can’t believe it’s already been a week since my last post.  Time goes by way too fast, people. 😉

–Things are moving along with my book.  I have heard from my publisher, and hopefully, it won’t be too long before my novel is published.

–I ordered some business cards to advertise for my book.  This really awesome website offers a bunch of free or low-priced products, so I had a lot of fun checking it out and ordering business cards.  It will make things so much easier when I’m talking with people about my book.  Instead of scrambling for a scrap of paper and pen to write down my website URL, I can just hand them the card, which comes complete with my book title, my name, email address, website, and blurb.  I’m pretty psyched about it.

–I am having my Senior photos taken this Friday.  Thus comes the defining moment when I have to pose a bazillion times and smile until my face hurts, knowing that one of those shots will end up on graduation invitations all over people’s refrigerators.  Pressure much?  Really, though, I think the hardest part is deciding what to wear.  That will take some thought.  Also, do I want to pose in front of bricks and stairways (which makes me think of Jane Eyre) or trees?  Decisions, decisions.

–Yesterday, we spent all day with a wonderful family in Chino Valley.  We hardly ever see this family, so it was a ton of fun spending the day with them!  We spent most of the day talking, but they have a daughter (named Julia) who is SO much like me.  She’s actually a couple of years younger than me, but we are so alike, it’s scary.  The only thing that’s different between us (that I know of at the moment) is that she can take huge pills without water, and I can hardly take a small pill, and am pretty much terrified of taking pills.  I would rather take a shot than pills, and she is terrified of shots.  I used to be terrified of shots until my shoulder injury when I had to have three injections – dye/fluid injection for an MRI, Cortisone injection, and a dull needle stuck in my neck and wiggled around until they found the right nerve and then injected an electric stimulus into it…yeah the last one was the worst by far.

Anyways!  (Sorry, I was a little distracted there…) We had a fabulous day.  Julia also loves to play the piano, so we spent a large part of the day poking around on her keyboard and discussing music.  We ate outside for all the meals, played games, drank coffee, talked, and overall had a great time.  We didn’t leave until 10 PM, and it was just before midnight when we made it home.  It was totally worth it, and I’m looking forward to celebrating Thanksgiving with this family! 😀

–I also ordered a Venice poster.  You guys are probably wondering by now if I’m running out of space on my walls for posters.  Well, yes.  However, I still have the ceiling to go to, so I’m not too concerned. 😉  I know some people think it is weird to put things on the ceiling, but I personally like decorating the ceiling.  I think it adds an extra dynamic to a room.

Just for your information, though, my Venice poster will not be going on the ceiling.  I still have room on my wall.  Look at the photo of it below – isn’t it gorgeous??  I love the black and white!

–I’ve been meaning to mention this in a blog post for a while, but I keep forgetting.  According to this Jane Austen heroine quiz, I am Marianne Dashwood.  Which, I have to say, does not surprise me.  I read Sense and Sensibility not too long ago, and was regretfully shocked at how similar Marianne and I are.  Several of the characteristics we share are not ones I am very proud of, so it definitely shows me where I need to work on.  Other things are kind of nice, though.  However, as opposed to Marianne, I do believe that a person can fall in love more than once (Jeremiah 17:9, “The heart is more deceitful than all else and desperately sick, who can understand it?), and that it is God alone who can tame the heart and purify it for the one lifelong spouse.  Hence, why it is so important to guard our thoughts and affections.

Similarly to Marianne, though, I love playing the piano and singing.  According the the quiz, I am impulsive, romantic, impatient, and perhaps a bit too brutally honest.  So far, this is painfully true.  They say that I also enjoy romantic poetry and novels, and play the pianoforte beautifully.  Have they met me or something?  They also claim that my singing voice is captivating, and that I feel deeply and love passionately.  I’m not so sure about the captivating singing voice, but the rest of it is true.

Yes, it definitely shows me where I need to improve my character.  However, it was a fun little quiz – feel free to take it.  I’d love to hear which heroine you are!

 

I am Marianne Dashwood!

Have a great week!

8 thoughts on “Working Day and Night: Today is Tuesday

  1. Yay for senior pictures! Mine were so awkward because they were taken while we still lived in China and there were these awful backdrops. Ha! Just thinking about them makes me laugh all over again. I’m sure yours will be gorgeous! 🙂

  2. I’m so glad your book won’t be delayed for too much longer; the suspense it killing me! I’m going to tell all my friends to read it 🙂

    I took that quiz and got Elizabeth Bennet! Funny considering it’s my least favorite book!

    • “The suspense is killing me; I hope it lasts,” – Willy Wonka. 😉 Your comment reminded me of that quote, haha. I’m so glad you’re all excited about it! I would LOVE it if you would tell all your friends about it! That would be SO helpful. 😀 Thanks!

      Wow, Pride and Prejudice is your least favorite book? Don’t you like Mr. Darcy? 😉 Well, Elizabeth Bennet is still wonderful. Thanks for letting me know! Wasn’t that fun?

      -Tia

  3. OH yeah, senior pictures, hope you had a good time with those today! I had mine on wednesday, and yes, my cheeks were sore. I know! the amount of pressure on about senior picts is crazy! I was actually nervous about them! absolutly silly. I had mine done on the peaks for the fall colors. I cant wait to see how they turn out.
    RAD

    • Yeah unfortunately, we had to reschedule because of the crazy weather we had yesterday… I’m (hopefully) going to have them done next Friday – on NAU campus – where the FHE pictures usually are. Or, at least, around there. Oh those fall colors sound so beautiful! I can’t wait to see your Senior photo! I can completely relate with you about being nervous…I was nervous too. I will most likely be nervous again, despite myself.

      -Tia

Leave a comment

