Early Hours, Design Issues, and Mixed Feelings

–You know, there is just something wrong about waking up before the sun is up.  It’s not natural.  Even in ancient days, people used the sun as their means of light, so they did not wake up before the sun was up.  (Except for the Proverbs 31 woman…but, you know, she was Wonderwoman.)  When I woke up at 6 this morning, not only was it still dark, but it was 31 degrees outside!  That makes it just slightly difficult to climb out of a warm bed.

This fall has been really, really cold so far.  We had maybe a week of traditional “fall” weather, and now it’s just cold.  I didn’t end up having my Senior photos taken this Friday because this freak snowstorm came through and the weather was just crazy that day.  Rainy, snowy, freezing, overcast, everything-was-grey – basically, miserable weather for a photo shoot.  It has been rescheduled for this Friday…hopefully the weather will cooperate. 😉  We’ll see.

–My publisher and I are just finishing up some minor design/text issues with my book.  It shouldn’t be too much longer…  I’m hoping.  Seems like every time I say that, something comes up and it takes longer.  Well, it will be published exactly when God plans, right?  Perhaps there’s a reason for delaying the publication date.  Perhaps He has something in store for me that’s better than I could imagine!

That makes me think of one of my favorite quotes, “Sometimes, God doesn’t give you what you think you want.  Not because you don’t deserve it, but because you deserve so much more.”  That’s so comforting, isn’t it?  It really puts things in perspective – for me, at least.

–I have mixed feelings about the Hobbit movie coming out this December.  80% of me is uber excited about it, and can’t wait for it to come out.  15% of me is disappointed that it is coming out in a trilogy.  That means I will be 19 before I see the entire Hobbit movie adaptation.  At first, when Peter Jackson said he was splitting it in 2 parts, I was disappointed because that mean another year, but then when it changed to a trilogy…well, my disappointment levels rose even higher.  I’m so excited for it, and I guess the disappointment just comes from my impatience.  The other 5% of me is glad that PJ is doing a trilogy; it will probably be better than I could ever imagine.  I’m expecting him to draw heavily on the appendices, and really bring out the full, robust story.

See why I said mixed feelings? I guess I’ll just have to wait and see how it all turns out to know if I’m just worrying over nothing, or if my disappointment is grounded.  Then again, God does say 366 times in the Bible “do not fear,” so I guess it’s pretty important.  By the way, in case you didn’t notice, that is one for every single day of the year – including leap year.

I’m conducting a poll to see how the majority feels about the Hobbit movie.  Disappointed? or think it’ll be better than ever? Let me know by voting below, or leave me a comment!  I can’t wait to see the results.

Have a great week!  I’ll hopefully be around in another week to share how my photo shoot went, exciting news on my book, and more thrilling stuff.  Before I go, though, I think I will leave you with this cute “badder” video – it is a children’s version of the MJ video “Bad.”  So adorable.

My baby brother is going to be this kid someday.  In fact, I’ve nicknamed him MJJ – Michael Jackson Junior.  He is so musically-inclined, rhythmically driven, and talented, that I just know he’s gonna rock someday.  Once he starts walking, I’m determined to teach him how to moonwalk.  He has that black jive in him, which is totally awesome.  I don’t mean any disrespect in saying “black jive” – whatsoever.  In fact, I mean the opposite.  It is completely amazing, and a true gift.  I wish I could jive like that.  African-Americans are extremely blessed to dance so smoothly.  Anyways, my baby brother is already dancing like MJ.  Yep, he’s going to be this little boy. 😉

Let me know what you think!  Isn’t it amazing?

6 thoughts on “Early Hours, Design Issues, and Mixed Feelings

  1. Hey Tia!! 🙂 another lovely post…and I’m so glad to see that you are taking the delays in the publishing of your book positively.and that’s a wonderful quote that you shared.it’s so very true!!! 🙂
    you know when someone reads your posts,they always leave learning something new or getting inspired! That’s what I love about your posts!!
    As I say always,keep it coming!!!!
    Have a great week!

    • Aww thanks LynAn! It was pretty difficult for me to look at the delays positively, but I finally realized, that it must be for a reason, so I might as well not complain about it! 🙂 I absolutely love that quote…it helps me a LOT.

      I never knew that! Thanks for telling me, and I’m so glad that my posts are insightful! I just blog from my heart. Sometimes it’s not very happy, other times I can’t withhold my excitement, and most of the time it has a tinge of sarcasm. Still, though it all, I try to express the joy my Lord and Savior has given me.

      Have a great week as well! Thanks again

      -Tia

    • Aww that weather sounds gorgeous!! It was actually pretty hot yesterday (around 70 degrees), so that was nice. Other than that, as soon as the sun goes down, it is freezing cold. Brrr!

      One thing that I do like about fall/winter, though, is being able to light spice scented candles, drink hot cocoa, and wrap up in a blanket. So cold weather does have its benefits, I guess. 😉

      -Tia

  2. Pingback: Slightly creepy but perhaps interesting tidbits of information « Holding the Future Hostage

  3. Pingback: My Happy Thoughts « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

