Technology and I: aka: Am I too hard on my earphones? and laptop? and fan?

You know what’s one of the worst things you can do?  Slicing onions while suffering from an “I-feel-like-death” cold.  Yeah, don’t try it.

You know what’s one of the best things you can do?  Eat chocolate while suffering from an “I-feel-like-death” cold, and watch Johnny Depp movies.  Ahh, the few comforts in life.

Hello all, I’m back again.  In case you’re wondering, no, I am not sick again.  At least, not at the moment.  I have had quite the eventful week!

–First thing on the list is pretty epic.  I have officially grown another inch.  I know it doesn’t seem all that much to you who are tall, but for someone who is short, this is pretty big news.  Only took me turning 17 to grow another inch….  Weird.  I first noticed it when I realized I could reach the very top of my poster to dust it – without standing on a step ladder.  Slightly stunned at this revelation, I called my mom in and showed her.  She promptly brought out the measuring tape, and was soon telling me my new height.

–I had my Senior photos taken on Friday!  It was an absolutely gorgeous day – perfect for a photo shoot.  The sun was out, there was a slight breeze, and a Fall chill in the air.  It wasn’t too cold, though.  They were taken on NAU (Northern Arizona University) campus, which is beautiful and has great scenery.  The photographers (good friends of ours at church) had me do a bunch of different poses.

At one point, I was kneeling on a ladder draped with lace.  Another point found me laying on the grass, leaning on one arm, over the same sheet of lace.  I also sat by a tree, in front of a tree, leaned this way and that, and eventually ended up laying flat on some grass/leaves, with the camera directly above me.  It was quite the experience, but SO much fun.

We definitely had some adventures while doing it.  I think the most memorable one for me was when I was laying on the lace, and leaning on one arm.  My sister was helping the photographers by holding on the lighting umbrellas.  Out of nowhere, she yelled, “Hold on!” She ran over to me, and smacked my hip.  You can imagine my surprise.  She eventually told me that there had been a spider about to crawl up my shirt.  *shudder*  As most of you know, I have arachnophobia, so I was quite thankful she killed the bugger.

–I have been having quite the technological issues lately.  I don’t think I’ve mentioned this, but my absolute favorite brand of earphones are Skullcandy.  They are the best, and really high quality earphones.  Not to mention that they are really comfortable.  The only problem is that, for the most part, the high-quality earphones are rather pricey.

I bought a pair of $15 Skullcandy a couple of years ago, but unfortunately, they went out about 8 months ago.  I used my mom’s earphones for a while, but about four months ago, I purchased a pair of $20 earphones.  Four months ago, right?  They just went out.  Like the last pair, it’s the jack that has the problems.  I have a warranty on them, so I’ve submitted a claim and will be shipping them to the manufacturer within a couple of days.  Still, really?  I’ve only had these for 4 months!  Am I too hard on my earphones or something?  There are bazillions of other people who use their earphones a ton more than me, so I really don’t think so, but who knows.  Perhaps I’m too hard on the cheaper version of Skullcandy.  So now I’m back to using my mom’s earphones.  At least they’re still Skullcandy. 😉

I guess if I have to buy another pair, I should invest in some expensive, high quality ones – like the $60 Skullcandy for sale.  My mom has had a pair of these for at least 4 or 5 years, and hasn’t had a single issue with them.  However, these Michael Jackson earphones would be awesome.  That is, unless I don’t want to waste the $20 they’re asking for them.

–Along with the earphones, my laptop has been giving me problems for quite a while.  First, it was running REALLY slowly, so I defragged it, and ran a deep scan to see what was going on.  After that, it was running better again.  Then, I realized that it became super hot after  just a short period of use.  I now use an external cooling fan with it, which is a good thing because this error screen popped up saying that one of my system cooling fans isn’t working.

That’s not all, though.  For the past few mornings, my computer has been freezing on start-up.  It doesn’t even reach the login screen before it starts.  I’ve just manually shut it down and turned it back on, but this morning, it didn’t work.  Upon manual start-up, an error message came on saying that I needed to run a system repair, and it would fix the problems causing the freeze upon start up.  I conducted the repair, and after several minutes, it restarted and went to the login screen.  I logged in, and my computer loaded.

After waiting for it to load, I tried to open my email.  Nothing happened.  I tried to open Google Chrome.  Nothing happened.  Then a blue screen flashed on and my computer crashed.  Upon manual start-up, it tried to do the system repair all over again.  After that it said that there were problems that couldn’t be fixed, and went to the login screen.  I logged in, and thankfully, it worked.

While it was working, I quickly backed up all my music.  I already had my documents and photos backed up, but I needed a larger hard drive than I had at the moment to back up my music.  I just borrowed my brother’s for now, but I hope to get my own soon.  That might have to wait, though, because I have a feeling my computer is going to crash again, and I’ll need to buy a new one.

Technology sure is a love/hate relationship, isn’t it?

–But wait, there’s more.  See, I have this little fan.  I love my little fan.  It is perfect for putting on my window sill during hot summer nights.  It hardly makes any noise, fits perfectly on my sill, and has cloth blades so it doesn’t hurt if you accidentally touch it, and won’t break if it falls off.

This has been my second fan.  The first one broke down.  Not a big problem, it was a reasonable way for it to die.  However, this one just died as well.  It was running just fine when I was in my room, I walked out for about five minutes, came back, and it was dead.  Apparently, it has an overload fuse, but that didn’t activate.  My brother checked the power through the cord (my brother is an electrician), and said that the cord and plug work fine.  It’s the motor in the fan that died.

*sigh*  Fortunately, it is under a three year warranty, so I just have to contact the manufacturer and see if they will either repair or replace it.

I miss my little fan.

–I am definitely frustrated with all these electronic problems recently.  I don’t have enough money to buy a new fan, earphones, or a laptop.  I’m already trying to get in extra work this month so I can buy some marketing materials I need for my book.  It’s all just kind of getting to me.  I need to stop worrying.  Like I wrote in my last post, God tells us not to worry, and to cast all our anxieties on Him.

It also says in Luke 12:34, “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”   It also says that the love of money is the root of all evil.  That does not mean that money is evil.  The love of it is the root of all evil.  Now, money is not my love, but it is easy to start focusing on money and all the things we need to buy (and all the money I don’t have to buy those things).  I need to remember that God will absolutely take care of everything every time.  He will always sort things out, and fix them.

I am a firm believer in the fact that if we just focus on God and believe wholeheartedly that He will take care of things, it will work out.  That doesn’t mean for us to not do anything, but it does mean for us to lean on Him.  I have always loved those missionary stories of people who rely on God for everything – their every meal, and every necessity.  It really is inspiring.  My problems are nothing compared to others, I recognize that.  It’s just all sudden and expensive (for someone who earns under $200 a month) – and completely unexpected.  That is what frustrates me.

I hope that you have a great week!  I’m still on holiday, and enjoying it while it lasts.  I’m not sure when I’m going to make up all this school…either I won’t have a winter break, or I’ll only have one week of it, and no spring break, or I’ll just go two weeks longer at the end of the year…. I don’t know, but it’ll work out.

I think I might finally be learning how to be a tiny bit flexible.  Maybe.  Probably not, but there’s some hope for me, right?  Monk would say, “Change is impossible.”  I say, “Change just might be possible.” 😉 Others, who are smarter, and much more mature than I say, “Change is not only possible, but necessary and wonderful.”  Hopefully someday I’ll be there as well.

2 thoughts on “Technology and I: aka: Am I too hard on my earphones? and laptop? and fan?

    • Definitely! Oh that must be helpful. 😉 My dad used to build computers, so he’s pretty tech savvy, which is very helpful. My brother is pretty savvy as well, and he’s going to take a look at my computer later. 😉 Makes life much easier, doesn’t it?

      -Tia

Leave a comment

