Happy November 1st!

Hello everyone!  It is November 1st!  I always love November.  It reminds me that holidays are just around the corner – Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years!  I love all the food, the fellowship with friends, and the holiday cheer that comes with these holidays.

Holiday music is seeping into my brain already.  I find myself humming Christmas tunes, anticipating hearing them played in stores, and especially, playing them on the piano.  Remember when I played my jazz song for you before?  Well, I also said that I hoped to share more songs soon.  Today is that day!  My favorite Christmas song to play is “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen.”  I figured November 1st is as good a time as any to bring out the holiday music!

I hope you enjoy my video below!  It was so much easier recording this one than my jazz song.  I wasn’t near as nervous, and we only had to do three takes.  Which is a lot less compared to the 12 or so we had to do before, haha.

Let me know what you think!  Oh, and I was also playing this with a very painful finger.  I got a file cut on my left ring finger while at work yesterday.  So.  Painful.  I thought paper cuts were painful…they’re nothing compared to a file cut.  However, I was still able to perform the piece.  Proud of me? 😉

Have a fabulous rest of the week!  It’s almost Friday!

9 thoughts on “Happy November 1st!

  1. You play beautifully! I loved listening to that! Partially because I love Christmas music and partially because I love to listen to someone play the piano. I used to play before our family moved over seas when I was a teenager. I still want a piano in my house, though. So I can begin to play again and most definitely teach our someday children. 🙂 Anyway, well done, girl!

    • Thank you so much, Rach!! I’m so glad you liked it. 😀 I love listening to people play the piano also…but then again, I guess I’m biased since I love the piano. 😉 Wow, I didn’t know you played. That’s great! My piano is actually a digital piano, so it was a lot less expensive than a regular piano. It’s kind of between an electric keyboard and an upright piano – with the sound and feel of a regular piano. The nice thing about it is that it never has to be tuned. 😉 Anyways, digital pianos are a great option if regular pianos are a little pricy for you.

      Thanks again!!

      -Tia

  2. Oh yay! I am so glad to know that someone else is excited for all the holiday cheer as much as I am! All yesterday I was singing Christmas songs…SO. EXCITED. Iovelovelove Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New years! Beautiful piano piece! You did wonderfully! Even with a file cut 😉

    • Hey Ayce! (Wow, I haven’t called you that for a long time…I should do it more often. haha 😉 ) I can completely relate!! Gotta love holiday music and cheer, and food, and…everything! 😀 Oh thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it.

      Yes, the file cut added a new dimension to it. Thankfully, I don’t have to do too much with my left hand on that song.

      -Tia

  3. Pingback: Slightly creepy but perhaps interesting tidbits of information « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

