Slightly creepy but perhaps interesting tidbits of information

–For some reason, it seems interesting to me to post on here what unfortunate things (injuries, cuts, burns, etc) happen to me during the week.  Is it interesting to you?  Something in my brain announces, “This is something out of the ordinary that happened to you!  You should blog about it!”  That tells you just how exciting my life is.  Actually, I have a lot of fun and interesting experiences with my baby brother (MJJ, recall?), but if people don’t live with babies themselves, I’m sure it wouldn’t seem interesting…. Thus, I don’t blog about it.

For example, at the moment, he is in a little walker/wheely thing and slammed my door open with it so he could come in my room.  As he came in, he promptly stole a picture frame off my bookshelf (for the 3rd time today) and when I looked over at him, he gave me this huge grin – showing all of his 4 teeth.

And…now he’s trying to steal away from my room with it in hand.  I gave him another look, he dropped the picture frame,  and when I picked it up he started to cry.  Confused…?  He also found my Bible and candles and proceeded to knock them to the floor as well.  I called his name; he gave me a wicked frown.  Then he discovers that there’s a hole between the slats in my bed foot board and is more than amused playing peek-a-boo with me through it.  He soon tires of that and walks over to my closet door where a body mirror is mounted.  He proceeds to make faces at himself.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I think that’s pretty funny.  Then again, I’m a little biased since he is my little brother.  If you actually do like it, maybe I will post more stories about him.  He’s definitely my amusement.

Back to the original topic, though.  Cuts, burns, and injuries.  Last night, I discovered that I’m a very intense piano player.  Meaning, I really get into it.  It’s not always right or anything, but I get into it.  When I start playing, everything else kind of goes out the window – that is, unless I’m playing in front of people.

I was playing God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen again, and when I did the glissando at the end, I did it so hard and fast that I literally blistered my finger.  That was a first.  I have cut the cuticle of my thumb while doing it before, but that wasn’t quite as strange because it just got caught on the edge of a key.  But this time it blistered.  So weird.  This morning when I woke up it was a large fluid-filled, painful blister.  I debated the advantage of popping it, but decided just to let it go down on its own. I figured it would be a couple of days or more before it was completely healed, and that it would be even longer before the mark went away.

By 3:00 it was gone.  I mean completely gone.  Can anyone say amazing??  That has never happened before!!  I mean, the blister, the mark, the pain – everything is gone.  I have no idea what happened – I never popped it.  It just disappeared.  God is so amazing!  The human body is incredible, but that has never happened before.  It is slightly numb where the blister was, but that’s it.  It’s just kind of…strange.  Incredible.  Slightly unnerving, but wonderful at the same time.

–I started my last new job today!  That sounded weird, so let me explain.  I said before that God provided me with two new jobs and that it’ll really help me save up for my computer.  Well I started the first of the two last week, and today I started the second one.  It’s something that I’ve never done before, but it was fun!  I look forward to going back, and I’m so thankful God has given it to me!

Strangely enough, I’m not having a hard time managing school, work, and chores.  As long as I start on time, and stay focused, I can get my school done pretty early.  Also, I’ve realized that I have time to work in the morning and do school later if needed – and I can still get it all done.  At the moment, my house cleaning chores have shifted to Saturday (since I don’t have time to clean during the week), but my family isn’t too keen on me spending the whole day cleaning instead of spending time with them, so something might have to change.  I’m sure God will show me how to change it to make at least the majority of my family happy!

–This week, I started my Bible reading in Esther.  I confess, this was recommended by my school, but I had no idea where to start, so I figured that was as good a place as any.  Besides, just because it’s recommended by my school doesn’t mean I can’t turn it into a personal Bible study!

I really enjoyed reading it.  There are ten chapters in it, so by reading two chapters a day, I was able to finish it in five days.  My favorite verses out of it is Esther 4:13-14, “Then Mordecai told them to reply to Esther, “Do not imagine that you in the king’s palace can escape any more than all the Jews.  For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance will arise for the Jews from another place and you and your father’s house will perish.  And who knows whether you have not attained royalty for such a time as this?”

Something about that verse just kind of puts things in perspective.  Also, while I was reading through the book, I was vividly reminded of the movie: One Night with the King.  It’s a film based on the story of Esther.  I had always thought that the filmmakers took a ridiculous amount of liberties with it and only had bits and pieces of the original story in the drama.  I was so wrong!  As I read Esther, I was amazed at how close the movie actually is to the book!  There are some small things that aren’t mentioned in the book, but other than that, it’s a great parallel to the book.  Which makes me happy considering I LOVE the movie.

“Susa?  Nothing good can come out of Susa.  Look at me!” – King Xerxes, One Night with the King

Gotta love his accent. 😀  Here’s the trailer of the movie, in case you haven’t seen it:

11 thoughts on “Slightly creepy but perhaps interesting tidbits of information

  1. Hahah cute babies are the best 🙂 I’m 99.9% sure my niece is going to rule the world some day…lol

    YESSS. I love One Night with the King!!! I watched it after finishing Esther. The Bible can be such a drama sometimes hehe. I mean the whole thing is the greatest love story ever…:P

    • I know right?? haha Some little kids definitely seem like ruler material, I’ll tell you. Like Picco’s evil scientist brother. haha

      Oh my goodness isn’t it amazing?! The Bible definitely has some of the greatest stories with surprise plot twists, veiled villains, and heroic endings. Esther, Joseph, Moses, Ruth…they’re all fabulous stories. Not to mention Jesus! haha

      -Tia

    • Isn’t the movie amazing?? I’m glad you like my little brother stories! Perhaps I’ll find a better way to narrate them and post them more often. Children are the greatest source of entertainment, I’m very sure. 😀

      -Tia

  2. Yeah go ahead and post more about your little brother if you want; I found your account amusing. 🙂 And congrats on your new job. I could use a new job about now. Also, is there a specific way to do that glissando without killing your finger(s)? That seems like it would hurt.

    • I’m glad you liked my story. I shall have to document more of his amusing tales. Thanks! I really like it. Jobs definitely come in handy.

      About the glissando…I’ve heard that the best way to do it is by using your thumb nail, and glide across the keys with it. However, when I did that, I cut my cuticle on the corner of a key. It was painful, to say the least. I’ve tried various ways, and using the side of my index finger works best for me. I just need to be a little lighter on the keys to keep from blistering my finger. That was so weird.

      -Tia

Leave a comment

