From the Halls of Montezuma, to the Shores of Tripoli…

Today is a very special day.  It is the United States Marine Corps birthday!  My dad is a Marine.  That makes this day very important to my family!  We have celebrated it by watching “The League of Grateful Sons,” historical battle accounts, and eating as my Dad would say “a hearty Marine breakfast.”

Being the daughter of a Marine, I have very little tolerance for people who are anti-military and claim that we do not need the military.  The military are the ones who have given you their freedom so you can live life to its fullest.  They gave you their freedom.  They gave up their families, friends, and lives to protect this nation, and how do we thank them?  By saying we don’t need them.  It makes me extremely sad.

After the battle of Iwo Jima in Japan, before the remaining troops headed home, a sign stood high for everyone to read.  It was a memorial for the Marines who had given their lives fighting.  It read: For your tomorrow, we gave our today.

The President of the United States is our nation’s leader – the military are even more so in the fact that they do the dirty work and show other nations exactly what the U.S. is made of.  The President can talk however he likes about our country – it is the military that proves the truth, no matter how much it differs from what the President said.

I know that I’m saying strong words here – and I’m doing it on purpose.  Our nation, as a whole, is sickeningly naive and desperately gullible.  I may lose some followers for what I’ve said, and I may receive some nasty comments.  But this is what I believe in, and if a person doesn’t stand by their beliefs, then they have nothing.  Belief and wisdom are the only things that cannot be taken away from you – compromise is not an option.

You don’t have to agree with me, but I hope that you are thankful for our Marines today.  They have given up everything so we can live as we do.  We are living on other people’s freedoms – Marine’s and soldiers alike.  Freedom is not free – it was bought with blood – with our military’s blood.  We owe our military our gratitude – and not just our current military, but those who fought in World War 1 and 2.  Along with all our Veterans, considering tomorrow is Veteran’s day.

I couldn’t imagine living in a nation without a strong military, and I hope I never live to see that day come.  If you know a Marine, be sure to thank him/her for their service today, and wish them a happy birthday!  Don’t forget about all Veterans tomorrow as well.  Every soldier and Marine, whether in active duty or not, deserves our thanks and respect.  Even if they didn’t serve for that long – at least they still served.  That’s what matters.

I leave you with the Marine Corps Hymn.  Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “From the Halls of Montezuma, to the Shores of Tripoli…

  1. Very nice, Tia. We should all be thankful to those who defend our country. I love that documentary! Very eye-opening…it made me want to go ask my great-grandpa, papa, uncle, cousins, etc all these questions about serving and defending our country. Oh and thanks for posting the Marine’s hymn..I find myself singing it a lot:)

    • Thanks, Maddie. Yeah, it’s really interesting…not to mention touching. When I see hard core Marines like that start crying on camera…it definitely makes me cry. So amazing.

      I love the Marine Corps Hymn! I have it set as my dad’s ringtone. 😉 It’s a very addicting song, that’s for sure.

      -Tia

  2. So glad you are patriotic, Courtney, and that you appreciate what our service men and women have done for us!

    Your Granddad Rising was also a Marine. He served in WWII. Grammie Rising was an Army nurse serving in Burma during WWII. You are a daughter of the American Revolution. Every generation of ours going back to the Revolution has served!

    We must never take for granted the sacrifices that have been made by our military!

    Love, Aunt Anne 🙂

    Anne Hill Mary Kay Independent Sales Director http://www.marykay.com/ahill7

    • Thanks for commenting, Aunt Anne!! It’s so nice to hear from you on here.

      I always love hearing my Dad talk about Granddad and his service. I meant to mention him in the post as well (he was quite the subject of conversation on the Marine Corp’s birthday), but somehow I forgot. I remember trying on Grammie’s uniform! I’m so proud that our family has served the United States for generations.

      Thanks again for your comment, Aunt Anne! 🙂

      -Tia

  3. I am so glad that other people know the Marine corps Birthday!! My grandpa is a marine(even though he is 73, onse a Marine, always a Marine) My favorite branch of the military!
    RAD

    • Oh yes! There is no forgetting the Marine Corps Birthday in our house, haha. Or we will have to suffer the consequences. 😉 Exactly – once a Marine, always a Marine. Semper Fidelis!

      -Tia

Leave a comment

