oh, the weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful, and since we’ve no place to go, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

-We had our first dusting of snow on Friday, November 9th.  It had been overcast and stormy for a couple of days, including rain for most of Thursday.  On Saturday morning, we woke up and there was about 1/2 to 1 inch of snow covering the ground.  You guys know that I’m already in the holiday mood, and this sinched it.  We watched our first Christmas movie Friday night, and all of us are looking forward to November 13th – the day Sirius XM radio starts playing Christmas music. 🙂  If you haven’t noticed, we are not one of those families who will refuse to think about anything Christmas until after Thanksgiving, and puts everything away the day after New Year’s.  Once it starts getting cold, that’s usually when the holiday cheer begins around here.  What does that entail?  Music, baking, planning presents, seasonal candles, sweaters, boots, and more.

I’m sure that most of you also know that I’m not too fond of winter.  Even though I have attempted to boycott it in winters past, this winter, I’m not dreading it.  Yes, it makes it more difficult to do chores outside, and there’s just something wrong about waking up before it’s light, and snow shovelling is hard and painful work (painful for me because of my shoulder injury), but I have to admit – snow is absolutely beautiful.  I love to sit inside with a hot cup of cocoa and either watch a movie or read a book and enjoy watching it snow outside.

Perhaps I’m also not dreading snow this year because I hope to go snowboarding.  I really, really, really want to at least try to snowboard.

-Did you notice that I posted three times last week??  That’s so unusual for me…normally I have to remind myself to post once a week, and if I’m fortunate, I’ll get in two posts, but last week, I managed three posts!  Perhaps I’m getting back into the mood of blogging?  I love blogging, but sometimes…life happens.  At the moment, though, I enjoy sharing my “life happenings” with all of you, my lovely readers.

-I had a revelation this morning! It was even before I climbed out of bed.  I had mentally figured out how to post a comment on some of my friend’s blogs over at Blogger.com.  Now, I know this may not seem like big news, but it was to me.  See, most of my in-person friends have blogs on Blogger.  I’ve tried and tried to convince them to switch over to WordPress (after all, I am biased.  It happens to be the best blogging platform available, in my opinion), but for some reason, they are partial to Blogger.  *sigh*

I’ve resigned to that fact, and thankfully, most of them have a “follow by email” widget to make it easier for me to follow them.  However, for some reason, my WordPress account isn’t compatible with Blogger, meaning I can’t make comments on Blogger through my WordPress account.  That fact bothered me, considering I love getting comments, and I know most of my friends don’t receive that many comments.

Anyway, I had the brilliant thought today that I can either use Open ID to comment (just requiring me to type in my URL) or Name/URL.  I tried it out, and sure enough, it works!  Now I can comment on my friend’s blogs, and hopefully encourage them to blog more often (hint, hint – you know who you are. 😉 )

-This past Friday, I took my first Exam in History.  I take a History quiz every week, but that day I took the first Exam.  This exam covered the first 8 UNITS of History.  Now, I normally panic over a Unit Test – dreadful things that they are – but this was a test covering EIGHT units.  I was a little concerned, to say the least.  I mean, really – who remembers things from 8 units ago??  Apparently, I do.  I was so happy when I saw that I received a 98% on the exam!  I only missed one problem. *Cue angels singing praises*  I was obviously ecstatic enough to share about it on here. 😀

-Yesterday, after church,  a group of my friends and I went to see the play, Alladin, put on by FYT (Flagstaff Youth Theater).  The play consisted of a bunch of kids (ranging from probably around 5 to 18).  It was pretty good….  I’ve seen better FYT plays, but it did have funny parts.  It was mainly fun just leaving after church on the spur of the moment and heading to the theater with my friends.  I pretty much never do that, so it was a blast.  It probably doesn’t sound like that much to you guys who are the life of the party, but it was really fun for me.

There were some pretty good singers in the play, though.  Mainly, Alladin, and one of the main singers for “Arabian Nights.”  However, even though he wasn’t the greatest singer, Jafar was my absolute favorite character.  The guy who played him was a great actor.  He was very animated and totally fit the part.  My next favorite was the Genie, who was hilarious as usual.  He was constantly joking (it was slightly annoying after a bit – hence why he’s my 2nd favorite), but he even pulled a Gollum line.  That kind of won brownie points with me.

-Today’s verse is actually my older brother’s favorite Bible verse.  Colossians 3:23, “Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord, rather than for men.”

9 thoughts on “oh, the weather outside is frightful, but the fire is so delightful, and since we’ve no place to go, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

  1. Oooo! I love your frequent posts! Thanks for commenting in my blog also:) Haha, I will try to post more. The Aaddin play was fun! I am a fan of spontaneity. We should go to the next play too…this one was fun, but it wasn’t the best ever. The acting..oh the acting was horrific! Haha, but hey, overall it was pretty cute:) Certain bad acting and annoying-ish dancing intervals made it very memorable. You are giving me all sorts of ideas for posts, Tia, thank you!

    • I’m so glad you like my frequent postings! I’ve had so much to say lately… Haha I enjoy reading/commenting on your blog, and now that I’ve figured it out, I hope to comment more often! Yeah, the Little Mermaid might be fun to attend. You must agree with me though – Jafar was the best, no? haha

      -Tia

      • yes Jafar was the best, hands down. Aladdin was okay too. Oh and you can’t listen to Christmas music until after Thanksgiving, I agree with whoever commented below. I did listen to it in July for a day just for kicks…oh and you can listen to it before Thanksgiving if you are in a choir or have music for instruments..but only in so much that it is strictly for those activities..:)

        • Well…whatever floats your boat. 😉 But Sirius started playing Christmas music today and we are listening to it! We’re just going to break that tradition without a bit of shame. 😀 I love it.

          -Tia

  2. Yes I know who I am. I just looked at the network performance of my blog the other day and it was over 1 MB! That’s a lot to download. I think I might just roll my own, and make it small. 🙂 (everyone loves fast)

  3. Christmas music is not allowed until after Thanksgiving!! 😉

    Have you tried google reader for viewing blogs? It’s pretty great. I’ve also never had a problem commenting on blogger’s posts as long as I sign in via wordpress. I hope you figured it out though!

    • Oh, you’re one of *those*. Tsk, tsk. 😉 Nah, I’m just kidding. Most of the people I know will refuse to listen to any kind of Christmas music until after Thanksgiving as well, haha. Also, we already had an “early” Thanksgiving, so my holiday cheer clock is kind of off a little. 🙂

      I haven’t tried Google Reader, but that looks like a great idea. I’ve never heard of other people having problems either, so I figure it’s probably just my computer/internet connection. As long as I use Open ID, though, I can still comment, so I’m happy!

      Thanks for the comment!

      -Tia

  4. Pingback: A Fantabulous Miracle! « Holding the Future Hostage

Leave a comment

