Before the Throne of God Above

“Before the Throne of God Above” is my absolute favorite hymn.  It is so comforting.  It reminds me that I don’t have to be good enough – and that’s a good thing, because I’m definitely not.  With my uncountable sins and sinful habits, I often feel like I’ll never be good enough.  This song helps me realize that I am forgiven.  Jesus Christ has saved me with His blood – and He’s forgiven me for all my sins – sins that I’ve already committed and will commit.  Unintentional or intentional, it doesn’t matter.  I’m forgiven!!

I especially love the verse in this song that says, “When Satan tempts me to despair, and tells me of the guilt within, upward I look and see Him there – Who made an end to all my sin.”  I am constantly reminded of my sins on a daily basis – my inflexibility, stubbornness, selfishness, rudeness, grudges, and more…and Satan tempts me to despair.  At those times, I feel like I’ll never be good enough.  At those times, I can’t imagine any man getting to know who I really am, and love me enough to ask me to marry him.  I feel like such a terrible daughter, and I can’t stand it.  I still struggle with that, because I feel like those sins are so prevalent.

Now, though, I think I’m beginning to understand.  I will never be good enough – but that’s the beauty of it.  If we were good enough, there wouldn’t be a need for God’s saving grace.  It’s still frustrating that I have these sinful habits, but the more I draw on the strength of God’s Word, and rely on Him to continually soften my heart, I believe that those habits will become easier to conquer, and will slowly fade.  I want to change; I need to change, and I can’t do it on my own.  But with Christ Jesus, all things are possible.  I’m depending on it.

Upward I look and see Him there – Who made an end to all my sin!

8 thoughts on “Before the Throne of God Above

  1. I struggle with the same thing so often…this song is such a blessing in times of doubting ourselves…doubting ourselves can be doubting what God made us to be which is then doubting God’s sovereignty over us. We feel down about ourselves, we repent, we look to God when we feel weak and insufficient, because HE is strong and HE is sufficient. thanks for sharing, Tia. Best song ever.

  2. wow..beautiful song..listening to it for the very first time..love it!! and the description you have given!!! a lift to my spirits!! Thank you Tia for a very useful post!

    • I absolutely love that song. Wow, that’s the first time you’v heard it? Well, I’m honored to be the one who introduced it to you! 😀 I’m so glad you liked this post so much. You’re very welcome. It definitely helped me figure things out.

      -Tia

Leave a comment

