In which I realize that I have neglected my readers for far too long….

Sure, I’ve been posting.  Right?  A paragraph here, a paragraph there.  Some links, some photos.  Some exciting news.  Honestly though, I don’t remember the last time I wrote a full, regular blog post.  You may be wondering what has happened to me.  Have I lost my interest in blogging?  Not at all!  I’ve been wanting to blog…but I’ve honestly been SO incredibly busy.  In fact, I’ve come to this realization:

I wish there were 9 days in a week.  That way, we’d still have the 5 day school/work week, then 2 days to finish all the stuff we didn’t have time for during the week, and 2 days to actually “relax” – like we’re supposed to weekends.  Where have relaxing weekends gone?  For me, lately it’s been just catch up on all the stuff I didn’t have time for!  I told this to my Dad, and he grinned, saying, “Welcome to adulthood.”  *Sigh*

So yes, very busy.  In a nutshell, here’s what has happened since I’ve really posted last….

–I landed a job as a paid intern for the website Let’s Homeschool Highschool.  Mainly, what’s kept me away is writing this post, this  post, and this post.  Oh, and moderating this community.  And this Facebook page.  And this Twitter.  Oh, and this forum.  But, I wouldn’t change it at all!  So far, I am loving my job!  Everybody has been wonderful to me, my fellow interns are extremely encouraging and welcoming, and it’s been just great.  (As a side note about one of those interns, she is amazing.  She has also published a novel, which is incredible.  You should check it out here.)

–I have been accepted into college!  Honestly, college isn’t a *huge* deal to me – I’m not going for a major or degree – but I’m still super excited, because I love school, and I will be studying what I love – creative writing!  Plus, there’s an instructor there who has made it know that she really wants me in her classes, because of the fact that I have already published a novel.  So yes, super excited.  Also, I LOVED my Lit class last year, and I know it will be different, but I’m pretty excited about getting into a class again – whether online or in person.

–For all of you who have been following me for awhile, you probably vaguely remember that I was having some serious laptop problems.  Well, my Dad had to buy a new one (it literally flashed and said that there wasn’t a hard drive…so we figured it was a dead as it was going to get), but he found a great deal to buy two instead of one…so thus enters my new laptop.  Yeah, I have laptop payments now, a little sooner than expected, but that’s where my new job comes in handy!  I’m so thankful for it!

–I’ve mastered Windows 8.  This was kind of necessary considering my new laptop is Windows 8, but I was very skeptical at first.  It seemed so incredibly different and complex to me…until I actually got into it.  Now I’ve realized that it’s basically Windows 7, just with the surface level (i.e. the Start Screen) a bit more fancy.

–I’ve picked up the guitar.  Most of you know that I absolutely ADORE music – I’ve posted about it several times – and I’ve recently started learning the guitar.  I’m super excited about it…I just need to get chord changes down.  However, I already have the calluses, so that makes is so much less painful!

–I bought a Johnny Depp calendar, and a New York City Brooklyn Bridge Black and White poster.  They’re both pretty epic, though I was disappointed in the calendar because the company sent me a different one than advertised.  So that was a bummer.  But otherwise, it’s amazing.

–I watched Michael Jackson’s Super bowl half-time show in 1993.  Oh, and don’t forget part 2.  In my opinion, Beyonce doesn’t even come CLOSE to this.  I just have to say, I was not impressed with her performance.  At all.  BUT, Michael was amazing.  Obviously. 😉

–We are now hosting our church Bible studies in our small house.  It is an interesting but (so far) fun experience!

–My baby brother has been moved into my room (crib and all) and he has now figured out that instead of leaning over the edge of the crib and crying for me to wake me up, he can just turn on my ceiling fan light that happens to be next to the crib.  At 3, 4, 5 AM.  Needless to say, I’m not very happy when that happens.  Also, I’m starting to become accustomed to getting up with him anywhere form 2-5 times during the night.  You have to admit – that’s pretty impressive for a 17-year-old who loves her sleep. [Insert my Dad: “Welcome to adulthood!”]

–I’ve had two book signings, and plan to have another the beginning of next month.  I have to say…they’re pretty fun.  At first, I thought it was going to be super awkward, but even by my 2nd signing, I’ve found some things that help reduce the awkwardness.

1.  Stand.  I know the common image is of an author sitting and signing books, but honestly, unless you’re like J.K. Rowling, you’re going to have to interact more with your group…and sitting there doesn’t make the cut.  Standing is much less formal, and more welcoming.

2.  Have a friend stay with you.  That way, you always have someone to talk to when nobody else is around.

There is still probably be people who quicken their pace as they walk by (averting their eyes, mind you), but it will make it all around more comfortable.

–I am also now on Facebook.  If you’re on Facebook, friend me!  My Facebook page.

I’m sure you can tell, but God has just blessed me so much!  Not only what I mentioned above, but I have also grown in my love for God, and realized that I can just put things in His hands, and He will guide me.  I can let it go, and not worry about it, and the Holy Spirit will show me what I should do.  No more worries! 🙂  Such a blessing.  These lyrics from my favorite hymn, “Behold the Throne of God Above,” still ring in my ears:

“When Satan tempts me to despair, and tells me of the guilt within, upward I look and see Him there, Who made an end to all my sin…. Because the sinless Savior died, my sinful soul is counted free!  For God the Just was satisfied, to look on Him and pardon me.”

So beautiful.  I leave you with my favorite verse, “For the grass withers, and the flower fades, but the Word of our God stands forever.” – Isaiah 40:8

-Tia

8 thoughts on “In which I realize that I have neglected my readers for far too long….

  1. Nice post Tia! I really want to come to your next book signing! I saw your e-mail and was excited about that. What college are you talkin’ about? Oh, and I totally understan the ‘busy’ thing, I started CollegePlus, so this is my freshman semester and my senior semester all in one. Whew.
    And, I am so glad you decided to stand for signings! it seems uncomfortable when you approach an author and they are ensconsed in a chair like a monarch you feel like you have to bow down and worship :). haha, Anyway, missed you at church! hope to see you soon!
    BTW: I really admire that you learn so quickly and figure stuff out so well! What a great trait to have!
    RADagast

    • Oh my goodness, RAD, I so hope you can come!! That would be amazing, and so much fun! I really hope that a lot of people show up…otherwise it might be really awkward, haha. I’m talking about CCC. 😉 I know a lot of high schoolers are already in CCC, but I just feel like it will be the perfect college for me! So I’m really looking forward to it. I couldn’t imagine doing any college work right now, so I’m sure you are incredibly busy!!

      I know, right? I tried to express my feelings about standing to the NAU Bookstore manager…but I’m pretty sure she wants me to sit. Perhaps when I get there, I can just decide to stand. Then again, they are setting EVERYTHING up at no cost to me, so if they really want me to sit, I’d be happy to oblige them, haha. They are being so wonderful to me!

      I missed church too…but we were so worn out from being in the cold and bitter wind all day Saturday at the ski and snowboarding event…plus waking up to all the fresh snow…we just decided to stay home. 😉

      Aww, thanks! Technology kind of overwhelms me at first, but I’ve realized that if I just put my mind to it, I can usually figure it out. Sometimes it’s not so fast though, haha. But thanks! God has definitely blessed me. You seem to be able to learn stuff really quickly too, though! 🙂

      Thanks again
      -Tia

  2. You are handling sharing a room with your baby brother much better than I would have when I was your age. I shared a room with my nephew when he was 6 months old for a week when I was 18 and I left that week thinking that I would never have kids, haha! That was 8 years ago and things have definitely changed since then for me, but I definitely not as gracious about sharing my space even for a week as you are. Very mature of you!

    And hey, congrats on being accepted to college!

    • Aww, thanks. I have to say, it did take a lot of adjusting! For awhile, I definitely didn’t like getting up with up multiple times during the night, or him waking me up early on Saturday mornings, but we’ve kind of developed a system now, and I’m used to waking up several times now, so it’s a bit better. 😉 Still, when he wakes up seven times in a night (at 15 months old), I do get kind of ticked, haha. Thankfully, that rarely happens! 🙂

      Thanks! I’m super excited.

      -Tia

Leave a comment

