Well, it’s been a long time…and a lot has changed.

Where do I even begin?  I suppose I should be a bit ashamed that I haven’t blogged since February, but honestly, I’m not.  I have missed blogging, but I’ve been extremely busy.  I know, I’ve said that a lot before, but my busyness before hasn’t prevented me from blogging.  For the last 3-4 months, I either haven’t had any time to update this blog, or I’ve had some time but have been too exhausted to sit down and write a post.  Indeed, the latter times were very few – so I cherished those times to curl up and let my brain unwind with an episode of Monk, or some other movie.

So, what have I accomplished these past few months?  Well, for one:

-I graduated from high school!!!  I participated in two ceremonies, which you can read about here, and see photos of me in my cap-and-gown costume.  I would post them here, but I’ve apparently used up all the space on this blog and I don’t feel like paying WordPress to upgrade.  My school was absolutely insane this year, and SO HARD.  This was the hardest school year ever, but like I wanted when I first started this year, I felt like I definitely earned that graduation.

-I graduated with over 34 credits (only 23 are required to graduate in the state of Arizona), and with a 4.0 GPA.  Let’s just say that I worked really hard.  However, it totally paid off.

-I also graduated with 6 college credits.  In April, I took the College Composition CLEP test, which was insanely difficult and I never, EVER, want to repeat that again.  For two weeks straight, all I studied was CLEP stuff, and then I took the two hour test, which was comprised of 50 multiple choice questions (requiring reading literary passages and analyzing them within one minute), and two argumentative essays – one in which I had to synthesize information from two sources.  The essay part was actually the most relaxing for me, but that was probably because I practiced like crazy.  The previous week, I wrote 12 timed essays, so when the actual test came, I was able to get the outline and essay written in 30 minutes.  I was allowed 40 minutes for the essay with the synthesized information, and I was able to finish it and review it with 8 minutes left on the clock.  Read about my experience with this test in detail here.

-Two weeks later, I received my grades, and saw that I passed the test, and was rewarded with 6 college credits – meaning that I CLEPed out of English 101 and English 102.

-The reason why I wanted to take the CLEP test in the first place was because there is a professor at the college I’m attending who really wants me in her class – to the point of waiving the prerequisites for English/Creative Writing 101 and 102.  However, I really wanted the credits for those classes, so I took the CLEP, and earned them. 🙂

What else have I done?

-I have begun WRITING MY SECOND BOOK!  Get excited, people.  I know I’m excited!  I’m a little intimidated also – writing the beginning to a sequel is SO HARD.  I didn’t realize it would be this hard, but it seriously is.  However, I’m way more excited that intimidated.  Also, with God all things are possible, so as long as I pray for His wisdom, and submit to His guidance, the book should turn out just fine.  “Holding the Future Hostage” took me four years to write, edit, design, and publish.  I’m hoping that this one won’t take me as long – considering I’ve already been through the process, it probably won’t.  Also, my writing is a LOT better now than it was when I first starting writing HTFH, so I hopefully won’t have as many revisions to make.  Along that note, I also have ideas for this book, and I have a feeling on where it will take me, so that will also result in less revisions – most likely.

-Next week, I will have a booth at our annual homeschooler’s convention.  This convention reaches out to all the homeschoolers and homeschooling parents in the State of Arizona, with over 5,000 attendees.  I will be selling copies of HTFH at this convention.  It will be quite the experience – an 18-hour-long book signing is bound to create some kind of interesting memory, right?  And yes, it is 18 hours long.  The convention lasts for two days, and I have to be at the booth for nine hours a day, both days.  I kind of have no idea how I will last, but I’m really looking forward it.  It should be fun!  After all, I’ve loved all of my book signings so far, so why shouldn’t I love this one?  I now know that this is totally the thing for me, because I have a blast every time and it just feels right.  

-Speaking of book signings, I had a book signing at the NAU bookstore since I last blogged, as well as another one at our homeschool meeting.  So I guess that makes four or five book signings total?  Then next week will be the major one!  I’m also hoping to contact our local Bookmans and see if I can set up a book signing there.  Perhaps even Barnes and Noble.  It really is a lot of fun!  I know that book signings are always portrayed as super awkward events, but I’ve only had a few awkward moments, and I honestly found them hilarious.

-This summer, I’m planning on hosting a series of movie nights for my friends.  I’ve already hosted two movie nights – both for just girls.  We watched “North and South” (absolutely fabulous, by the way), and “Alice in Wonderland” (you know that I love Johnny Depp :D).  They were both wonderful nights!  My next movie night will either be next week before we leave for the convention, or the following week, depending on how busy I am preparing for the convention.  That movie night will be a bit different – it will be for all the “youth” in our church.  By “youth,” I mean anyone who considers himself or herself a “youth” and whoever is willing to watch the PG-13 movie I will be showing – “Master and Commander.”  I plan to do several just for the “youth,” a few open to the entire church, one for mothers and daughters, and so on.  This is an awesome project for me this summer, and one that I’m definitely looking forward to!

-Along with the hopeful book signings, the convention, and the movie nights, we are also taking a two-week vacation in Wyoming this summer!  We leave the very end of this month (June) and will be back the end of the second or beginning of the third week of July.  Should be lots of fun!

-In case you’re curious, I still don’t have my driver’s license, and I’ve decided that I honestly hate driving.  It’s just…ugh.  I don’t like it.  However, considering I turn eighteen in September and I’ve graduated from high school, I should probably get my driver’s license soon.  So, I’m hoping sometime after our trip in Wyoming to get it.  We’ll see.  Maybe not. 😉  It’s totally not a priority for me.  Maybe I should make it one…?

-Plans are still on for me to attend college this fall.  I will be studying creative writing.  I’m hoping to register for classes sometime soon before they are filled up.  I’m not using financial aid at all, so these past several months, I’ve been diligently saving for college, and I’m pretty sure I almost have enough.

-I am still an intern for the website Let’s Homeschool High School, and I have to say, I have the best job ever.  I love my job.  My supervisors and fellow interns are awesome and understanding, and it’s just all around a great experience.  I’m so blessed to have this job!  Once again, if I happen to be absent from here for a while, take a look over at my work blog, because I’ll definitely be there every week!

-You probably noticed that I have changed the title of my blog.  It is now titled “Tialla’s Tellings.”  See, when I first started this blog, it was to build up an audience and market for my debut novel, “Holding the Future Hostage.”  Therefore, I just titled it the same as my book.  However, now I have realized that I will (Lord willing) be writing more novels, and I want this blog to work for all of them.  Therefore, I’ve decided to make it universal, and changed the title to “Tialla’s Tellings.”  As in, “my stories.”  What do you think?  It might take a bit to get used to, but I like it.

-My website URL has been updated!  I have recently purchased my own domain, so now my website is: www.therubyvial.com.  Isn’t that so much nicer than the [dot]homestead[dot]com?  I love my new domain!

-I’m still a huge fan of Michael Jackson; in fact, in my graduation slideshow, I included a video of myself doing the moonwalk.  Definitely not anything close to MJ’s, but ya know, the idea is there. 🙂  Also, I can’t wait for Johnny Depp’s new movie “The Lone Ranger” – it should be awesome!

-I’ve recently picked up “The Emperor’s Edge Collection” books, and they are amazing!!  Has anyone else read them?  I’m totally loving them.  I have a BUNCH of books I want to read this summer as well – along with everything else I’m going to do.  This summer will definitely be full of adventure, that’s for sure!

-Oh, and I’m completely psyched about “Finding Dory” and “Monsters University.”  Should be awesome!

-I’ve also recently discovered that one of my old favorite T.V. shows – “Bewitched” – is on YouTube!  This may or may not be a good thing. 😉

Well, I think that’s about it.  I’ll probably have more stuff to post about soon, but that’s a general catching-up.  How are you?  Have you missed me?  Glad I’m back?  Been reading my intern blog?  Looking forward to hearing from you! 🙂

-Tia

6 thoughts on “Well, it’s been a long time…and a lot has changed.

  1. Tia!!!!! I sure missed reading your blog and missed hearing from you!! So when I saw the new post mail in my inbox I was SOOOO EXCITED!!!!! And that’s a cool new name for your blog 🙂
    Wow!! your grades and scores show that you have indeed worked REALLY hard!! Hats off to you my girl!!! 🙂 You sure are an inspiration to me! I’m so very sure you are gonna have a wonderful college experience!!!
    Quite a lot planned for this summer,eh??? That’s nice 🙂 Have a great time!!!
    I’m off to read the posts from the various links you have given above 🙂

    • LynAn!! So good to hear from you also! You’re always so good about replying and commenting, and I’ve been such a slacker lately. :/ I’m hoping to pick it up a little bit, though! Hopefully this time I won’t go four months without blogging. I’m glad you like the new name for my blog! 😀

      Aww, thanks. You’re such an encouragement to me! I’m hoping that college will be fun and not too insanely hard. 😉 I did work REALLY hard this year, but it was SO worth it, and I feel very accomplished now! 😀 All glory to God though – because I definitely would not have finished if it wasn’t for His help. Those last few months were a huge struggle for me.

      Yes – a LOT! Not sure if it is all going to happen, but hopefully most of it will. It will be full of adventure, that’s for sure! 😀 Enjoy the posts! I had fun writing them, as always.

      Thanks again for commenting!

      -Tia

      • Yes indeed. Without God, we would be nothing!! Your life has been and is being a true testimony for Him. hope I can be like you someday 🙂 Have fun and take care! God bless!

  2. Congratulations on graduating with such great grades and so many credits! I CLEPed out of English too! 🙂 So so cool that you are working on your second book! And great choice to avoid going into debt for college! That’s wonderful. 🙂

Leave a comment

