Styx & Confidence in Being Who I Am

Okay.  Ya’ll know that I love Michael Jackson.  You  know that I love Johnny Depp.  I have definitely mentioned pretty much all the things I love (see my happy thoughts), so this probably won’t come as a huge surprise.  You know that, for the most part, when I REALLY like something, I will go all out on it.

However, right now, I’m on a big Styx kick.  If you don’t know Styx, click here, here, and here, for some of my favorite songs by them,  You should know by now that I believe I was born in the wrong decade – the 70’s, 80’s, and 90’s music is my absolute favorite, and doesn’t even compare to music nowadays (sorry Taylor Swift, but I’m partial to the 80’s).  This is one more area of my life that makes me different from the rest of my friends…something that separates me from them…but oh well.   I don’t care.

I’m a Christian, which means I’m “strange.”

I’m a live-at-home-until-married kind of girl which means I’m “strange.”

I like Michael Jackson, which means I’m “strange.”

I’m obsessed with Italy – “strange.”

I love Johnny Depp – “strange.”

I don’t have my license yet – “strange.”

I don’t date – “strange.”

I have made a pledge to God to remain pure until my marriage – “strange.”

I’m a fiction published novelist – “strange.”  Writers are weird people anyway, but I love it.

I don’t care if I’m not wearing the latest fad.  I will wear converse, fuzzy flip-flops, white sunglasses, khaki or jeans shorts, and whatever shirt I like because I love dressing like that.  It might not be skinny jeans, big hair, trendy tops, and heavy makeup.  I don’t care.  I’m confident in who I am…I’m confident in my own skin and style.

Now, not all of these things make me “strange” to one particular group, but to multiple groups.  I’m viewed as “strange” by just about every group, in some way or another.  And honestly?  I don’t care – it’s not going to stop me from liking what I like, believing what I do, wearing what I want (what I believe is right and decent – not flashy or trendy), or holding fast to my values.

This is what it is, this is who I am, and this is where I finally take my stand. (Newsboys.)

And…it seems like a lot of adults appreciate me for my clear and decisive beliefs, actions, and values.  So, I may not fit in with my age group the best, but does that really matter in the long run?  I’m not afraid to be who I am, to boldly come forward in confidence, and to show people that I am not a “typical teenager.”  Oh, how I loathe that phrase.  And no, I’m not being cocky.  I’m just being honest that peer pressure is not going to change what I believe, like, and do.  I believe this is a good thing, considering how SO many people give into the pressure around them just to “fit it” – especially young people.  I’ve come to realize that if you just embrace who you really are, and who God has made you to be, you don’t need to conform.  They’ll see you as you truly are, which is what matters most.  As Dr. Seuss says, “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

Also, like Styx says, “You’re fooling yourself, if you don’t believe it….  You’re killing yourself if you don’t believe it.  Get up!  Get back on your feet!  You’re the one they can’t beat and you know it…Come on, let’s see what you’ve got, Just take your best shot and don’t blow it….”

You’re fooling yourself if you think you can be someone other than you are.  Be who God called you to be.

Thoughts?

PS. – You really need to check out Styx.  They’re amazing!

3 thoughts on “Styx & Confidence in Being Who I Am

Leave a comment

