It’s that time of year again: Back to School ♫

The last week of summer is just around the corner, and all the schools, universities, and colleges have started their classes again.  As a rule of thumb, anyone from the age of five to twenty-two is expected to be in school.  Classes, studies, and coursework should be some of the most important aspects of their life at the moment.

I graduated from high school in May, and now with everyone going back to school, this feels downright weird.  They’re all going back to school, and…I’m not.  I guess most people would be ecstatic about this and feel like they have it better off, but I’m kind of sad about it.  See, I LOVED homeschool.  I absolutely loved every moment of my school.  Even the tests, quizzes, book reports, essays, hard experiments…I loved it.  Okay, I didn’t love math so much – but that’s beside the point.

Every year, I couldn’t wait for summer, but when the time to go back to school rolled around, I was ready for it.  I was ready to crack down and challenge myself.  I couldn’t wait to start learning new things.  When all the curriculum boxes came in the mail, it was like Christmas in August.  In fact, I was ALWAYS more excited to see my new school books, look them over, and figure out a schedule than I ever was for Christmas.

For the past twelve years, I’ve had basically the same schedule, and I could look forward to it every year.  Sure, I wasn’t technically excited about my school when I was deep in my work mid-February, but I still loved learning.  Now as I see my mom preparing for the next school year for my younger siblings, I hear about all the homeschooling going on online, I talk with friends who are still homeschooling, and I even see children boarding the school bus each day…I become a little sad.  We even watched “Anne of Green Gables” the other day, and seeing Anne going to school, studying hard, loving learning, having fun…it just made me sad.  I miss those days!

I suppose I’ll get used to coping with this time of year eventually, but this first year is really hard for me.  You might be wondering why it’s so hard if I’m going to college like I’ve been talking about.  Well, my plans for college changed.  The college I planned on attending decided not to accept my credits earned from my CLEP test, so I’ve been looking for another college to accept me.  I have found one that I really like and applied to it, but I have yet to hear if I’ve been admitted.  So, I might be getting a late start on college, but that’s alright.  I’ve found an online creative writing course to complete in the meantime.  Also, I’m focusing on writing my second book, building my proofreading/editing business, two jobs, and staying up with duties around the house.  Needless to say, I definitely have things keeping me busy.

Still, this time of year is making me sad.  I miss homeschool.  My mom has said, “Well, you can still do some stuff with us,” or “You can still read textbooks,” and “You can still do school,” but it’s not the same, ya know?  I’m graduated…I’m done with school.  No matter how much I still read textbooks or whatever, it’ll never be the same.

*sigh*

Leave a comment

