Interview with Rebekah Jones

Hi everyone!  I know I’ve been MIA since the beginning of the year, but I guess that’s how it is sometimes.  Honestly, I really haven’t had anything to blog about.  However, now I do, so here I am!

First off, happy 2014!  I hope all of you are having a fabulous year so far, and I pray this year is a productive, fulfilling one.  Now, onto the matter at hand.

As my title suggests, today I am interviewing Rebekah Jones.  I’ve actually wanted to have her on my blog for a long while, but due to various reasons, it hasn’t happened – until now.  I met Rebekah at the AFHE Homeschool Convention last year – we were both working the convention.  Our tables were adjacent to each other, so I had several hours to get to know her!  She is a very sweet, funny, and hard working young woman with a beautiful heart for the Lord.

Without further ado, here is the interview.  Be sure to check out her books!

21418_488691537883392_625067709_n

1.      Tell me a little bit about yourself.

I am twenty-three-years-old and live at home with my family. Besides writing books, I also enjoy writing essays, poetry, songs, articles, random blog posts, and short stories. I also enjoy reading, taking care of children, housework, singing, playing the piano, listening to music, drawing, holding babies, milking goats, and studying a variety of subjects. (I’m sure there’s more I enjoy – I just can’t think of it right now!)

2.      What first inspired you to write “Grandmother’s Letters”?

A stack of very old letters, written by my great-great Grandmother. That was my first inspiration. I began to realize that, without knowing it, my Grandmother had left a legacy for us, her descendents. We get a tiny glimpse into her thoughts, into her family, into her life – more than 100 years later. And my mind started spinning – what if… What if a young woman, indifferent to so much in life – what if she came across a stack of similar letters… what impact could they have? And it spun off from there. First, as a movie idea and then, eventually, into my novel.

3.      How many books have you written, and what is the intended audience for each?

Currently, I have written four, but only published three.  A Year with the Potters is probably targeted for children around 8-12. A Tale of the Say’s Phoebe is intended for children around 4-8. Grandmother’s Letters is a full length mystery novel, from anywhere around 12 and up. Though I’ve had children even younger enjoy it. The fourth one is, as I said, still unpublished. Lord willing, I’ll be able to change that very soon. Unfortunately, I don’t even have a title for it at this point, since I decided the last one didn’t fit. It should be a full length novel, with a similar age target as Grandmother’s Letters.

4.      What kind of books do you like to read?

Oh dear! I love to read a variety! Unless you mean fiction? In that case – variety again. Mysteries, Science Fiction, Historical Fiction, Classics… You name it and if it’s decent, I might be interested in reading it. I’m even interested in Fairy Tales, though on a lesser level than most of those others. Also, give me a book on World War II, the genetic code, how to grow roses, the most efficient way to clean the kitchen, the life of John Adams, sign language, or any number of other topics, and I’ll be thrilled to read that too!

5.      What are you reading right now?

Hmm… An awful lot of things if I count everything. Besides my Bible, where I’m currently reading in Exodus, my main book right now is Hard Times by Charles Dickens. Two others would be The Betrayal by Douglas Bond and Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss. And I’m reading 4:50 From Paddington to my siblings.

6.      Who is your favorite author?

I get this question a lot. I used to make a complicated reply to the effect that I enjoy several authors, before proceeding to list 5-7 of my favorites. But that didn’t really answer the question. Not technically. So, I came up with a solution. I asked my sister who my favorite author is, since I do tend to talk about nearly everything I read. She didn’t even hesitate. Charles Dickens. And I’d say she’s right. She usually is about my favorites.

I love Mr. Dickens’ writing style, the depth of his characters, and his intricate story-lines. In my opinion, he wrote books, like Franz Liszt composed music. Complex, timeless, and breath-taking!

7.      If you could meet said author, what would you say (or ask) and why?

What would I ask Mr. Dickens… Quite honestly, I never even considered that before. I don’t think I have a clue!

8.      Out of drama, action, dialogue, and narration, which do you find is the most difficult to write, and why?

I’m not sure. Perhaps drama.  Mostly because I’m nearly always worried that I’ve overdone it. “Is it too childish for him to yell at her there? Did he show too much of a temper here? Is she just acting pathetic? Does she have a real reason to cry?” Yes, I usually go on and on. But, I often drag those questions into every facet of my writing, until I get someone else to read or listen to what I’ve written, to let me know how I’m doing.

9.      When did you start writing?

I first started writing when I was about seven or eight. I wrote an ongoing story for my little sister, about one of our favorite Lego toys. We named him Joseph and I decided his father gave him a seed to plant… But my first real attempt at writing a book was about a year-and-a-half later, when I started the story about an orphan named Rose Minks.

10.   What first interested you in writing?

Have you ever seen the old 80’s television show Murder She Wrote? Jessica Fletcher was a mystery author. She was always researching, talking about, typing up, or brainstorming about her books. I was so fascinated! I’m sure there were other things, but that is my clearest memory of inspiration.

11.   What are your dreams/goals?  For example, would you like to become world-famous like J.K Rowling and Suzanne Collins, or are you happy with your book just reaching your circle of friends?

I don’t really think I would love fame. Not really. But I would truly love my books to reach beyond my circle of friends. My dream is that I can write books that can be enjoyed, but also can in some way encourage or bless my readers. I pray that some way or another, this is possible. I would also just love to be able to write in such a way, that my books can become classics. But ultimately? Whatever will bring the LORD the most glory.

12.   Can you give me a one-line synopsis of all of your books? (It can be more than one line if necessary.  I know how hard that is.)

A Tale of the Say’s Phoebe: A mother bird tells her babies about the time she learned to fly.

Cover-Promo_zpsfb31d98d

A Year with the Potters: The everyday activities in the life of a homeschooling family as they learn lessons, study nature, and grow in their faith.

AYwtP-FrontCover-Small

Grandmother’s Letters: A curious girl, a miserable young student, a reclusive old man, and a poetic reporter… Louise Whitmore is fascinated by the old letters she found and none too interested in the treasure hunt her friend wants to drag her into. Little does she imagine the mystery she’s about to be entangled in or the many lives that will be affected.

GrandmothersLetters-FINALsm_zps0d5cd534

13.   How can readers contact you?

They can contact me three ways:

My blog: http://rebekahsquill.com

Email: Rebekah@rebekahsquill.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rebekahs-Quill/293606874103524

14.   What is one thing you would like to say to your readers?

Develop a love for good literature. Find it, read it, save it. Really good books can be hard to come by!

15.   Random questions:

-Music or movies? Hmm… Depends on my mood. Music probably wins though.

-Crunchy or creamy peanut butter? Creamy. Definitely.

-Black or red licorice? Black licorice. I think I only had red licorice once though.

-Flats or heels? I like a small heel, but not much. If I had to choose between a high heel and a flat, I’d choose the flat!

-Skirts or dresses? Both! It depends on my day and the era I want to dress in!

16.   Final thoughts?

Thank you so much for interviewing me, Tialla! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Interview with Rebekah Jones

Leave a comment

