New Year, New Look

One week ago, I chopped off my hair.  It was long enough to reach below my shoulder blades.  It is now long enough to reach just above my shoulders (with some layers that are much shorter).

I have never been scared to do drastic and fairly permanent things to my hair.  As I posted on Google+, “I figure, it will always grow.  I’ve had it chopped off, grown out, bleached, dyed, highlights, lowlights, chunked-lights, and permed.  It’s been two years since my last drastic action – my hair has been completely natural in color, texture, and length for the past two years – but I’m feeling the itch to do something again…..”

That pretty much explains it all.  Some girls and woman are absolutely terrified of cutting or coloring their hair…and I suppose for good reasons.  Some hair experiments can go really wrong, especially if you don’t get the right stylist.  (I had my hair permed at the beauty school, and let’s just say never again.  The student didn’t cover my ears with the cotton, so the chemicals burned them (I had scabs for weeks), and she accidentally dripped the neutralizer in my eyes (the scary part is that she didn’t even know it).  Yet, I’m not scared off.  Every once in a while, I’ll get the urge to change my look, and I don’t see why I shouldn’t.  It’s fun!  It’ll grow back, wash out, grow out, etc.  If all else fails, I figure I can live under a scarf/hat for a few weeks.  I haven’t had anything turn out that bad, though. 😉

Now, for the past few years, I’ve kept my hair completely natural.  No coloring, only trims, and a little bit of Sun-In during the summer.  I’ve come to really like my natural golden blonde hair color, so I don’t think I’ll be coloring it anytime soon.  However, that does not keep me from cutting it.  I have to admit, I was really nervous to cut my hair this time.  I’m not sure why – maybe because it’s been a few years? – but whatever the reason, I was nervous.  Even so, I went through with it, and I’m so glad my anxiety didn’t keep me away.

BEFORE:

Curled….

photolonghair2014

Naturally straight….

AFTER:

Short hair!

Short hair!

WIN_20140211_162341

A blooper to make you laugh. 🙂 I can’t seem to resist making a face when taking a selfie.

I cut off twelve inches!  You can imagine how light my head feels now.  Strange thing is, I never realized how heavy it was in the first place.  I’m completely loving my short hair, though, and having lots of fun experimenting with different ways to style it.  I can scrunch mousse in, blow dry it, flat iron my bangs, and add a touch of hairspray – all in ten minutes!

So there you have it – a visual update of ME.

Have a great Friday!  Tomorrow’s Saturday!

-Tia

“The grass withers and the flower fades, but the Word of our God stands forever.” – Isaiah 40:8

P.S.  Don’t get caught up in only doing haircuts that “internet hair experts” say will work for your face shape.  I have a short, square face, and this haircut is not recommended.  I did it anyway, and it turned out fantastic!  So, just go with what feels right, and what you think will look good.  You’ll be the one with it on your head, not those “internet hair experts.” 😉

5 thoughts on “New Year, New Look

Leave a comment

