Editing, Newsletters, and Psalms

00847-funny-cartoons-writers

I have an exciting update on Book Two!  About two months ago I finished writing the first draft, and two days ago I finished editing the first draft!  Woohoo!

Now I have to rewrite the first chapter (those beginnings are hard!), and then start on Round 2.  I have an extensive editing process to put my book through, and I’m only at the beginning, but it should be well worth it.  I’m also looking for a good proofreader for my book.  Someone who knows books, can give me good pointers about my book, look at theme, characterization, pacing, plot, POV, voice, setting, realism, faith elements, etc, and make educated suggestions.  If you think you might be able to help me, please send me an email! (therubyvial@commspeed.net)

I’m VERY excited for this second book.  It’s completely different than my first – which is ironic, considering it’s a sequel – but I think that’s a good thing.  For example, my first book is Sci-Fi, with no romance and only has a small faith element woven into it – more like symbolism than anything.  Well, my second book is action-adventure, realistic, down-to-earth, with wholesome romance, a strong faith element, and absolutely no Sci-Fi.

I’m not sure why I chose to write Sci-Fi for my first book, but I’m glad I’m not going that route with book two.  Actually, if I’m being completely honest, I never chose to write Sci-Fi for my first book – it just happened that way.  As you might remember, I didn’t outline my book at all, and I had no idea what was going to happen.  It ended up as an action adventure, fantasy, sci-fi novel – which is all right.

However, my second book is much more structured (I’m hoping this is a good thing), and it does not have a drop of Sci-Fi in it.

Moving onto other things….  You can now sign up for my newsletter on my website!  Make sure you check that out and subscribe, because subscribers always make me smile.

Also…I’m considering starting a vlog.  What do you think of that idea? 🙂

Until next time,

-Tialla

(P.S. – Enjoy my absolute favorite Psalm below!  So beautiful.  ♥)

Psalm 37:1-9

Do not fret because of those who are evil
    or be envious of those who do wrong;
for like the grass they will soon wither,
    like green plants they will soon die away.

Trust in the Lord and do good;
    dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord;
    trust in him and he will do this:
He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn,
    your vindication like the noonday sun.

Be still before the Lord
    and wait patiently for him;
do not fret when people succeed in their ways,
    when they carry out their wicked schemes.

Refrain from anger and turn from wrath;
    do not fret—it leads only to evil.
For those who are evil will be destroyed,
    but those who hope in the Lord will inherit the land.

4 thoughts on “Editing, Newsletters, and Psalms

  1. That’s so exciting about your book!! Good luck! I have heard of one proofreader, juliaproofreader.wordpress.com, but I don’t really know anything about her.
    And YESSS!! I definitely think you should do vlogs!! 😉

Leave a comment

