“My Future Looks Bright….”

Lighthouse

I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase, “My future looks bright.”  Nearly everyone says it at some point in their life and it’s plastered all over movies, books, Facebook, Twitter, and Tumblr.  When something big finally clicks for someone, they see the life ahead of them as bright and prosperous.

But think about it:  When you finally get to that point in your life that seems to be your future now (say, in fifteen-twenty years)…it won’t seem like you’ve reached your future.  Our idea of our future is constantly changing with time.

I am living my future that I dreamed about ten years ago.

In twenty years, if I’m married and have children, I’ll be living the future I think of now.  Yet, my idea of my “future” then will be something else entirely.

Our present is our future.  Make the best of today and your “future” of tomorrow will fall into place.

The present is the only “future” we will ever experience.

Diligent planning is important, but nothing will happen unless you ACT today.  Every day creates your “future.”  Live the best you can now – because the NOW is what you will experience.  Make the most of each day, use discretion, and only pursue worthwhile friendships.

The “future” we dream of is passing us by.  Our future is NOW.  Our future is the present.  Make the most of it.

My future does not start with marriage or children.  It is right now; every moment, every breath.  If God means for me to marry and have children, wonderful.  If He doesn’t, I am still living my life – my future – to the best of my ability.

This is more of a reminder to myself than anything.  I find myself thinking about “my future,” or when my life will start “for real.”  I need to stop.  My future, my life, is right now.  It doesn’t depend on anyone or anything else.  I need to be a good steward of my life at this very moment.  If I’m not content now, I never will be.

However, I am content.  I have strong, supportive parents and friends.  I have a wild imagination and the means to write it all down for others to enjoy.  I have a wonderful job with tons of flexibility and encouraging supervisors.  At this point in time in my country, I am allowed to publicly practice my faith.  I am blessed.

Please understand that I’m pointing out all the good.  My life is far from perfect and there are many days when I am stressed, angry, hurting, and feeling like I just can’t take it anymore.  But right now, I’m focusing on the good.  It’s the good in my life – my job, my incredible parents, my writing – that has taught me to feel content.  I am not always happy, I make several mistakes, but I am content in my place in life right now.

James 4:14, “Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow.  You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.”

Don’t just dream of tomorrow.  Make the most of today.

-Tialla

4 thoughts on ““My Future Looks Bright….”

Leave a comment

