Resistance: Author Interview and Book Review

A month or so ago, I was invited to join a blog tour for Jaye L. Knight’s just-released novel, Resistance. I have am so excited to be part of this tour and honored to have read the book before it was released! Not only did I have the opportunity to read the book before it was released, but I was able to interview the author herself!  How cool is that?  Without further ado, here is the interview.

Jaye L. Knight

mollyauthorphoto

1. How many years have you been writing?

I started writing my first little stories when I was eight years old, so that would be about seventeen years. I think I became really serious about writing (as in couldn’t live without it) when I was thirteen—twelve years ago.

 

2. If you could meet just one of your characters in person, who would it be and why?

I think we would be uncomfortable with each other at first because we’re both very introverted, but I would still love to meet Jace. He’s what started Ilyon Chronicles and is so much a part of me. It would make him terribly uncomfortable, but I’d like to give him a hug. 🙂

 

3. What is your favorite era in history?

It’s hard to pick just one. My favorites are medieval times, early to mid 18th century, and the mid to late 1800s (I love a good Western). If I had to choose, I’d probably go with medieval because that’s one of the reasons I love writing fantasy so much. Many girls who love medieval times say it’s because of the gowns. I’m actually the opposite. I love rugged clothing. Give me leather and linen any day, whether it’s a ranger outfit like Aragorn’s in The Fellowship of the Ring, the Huntsman’s outfit in Snow White and the Huntsman, or a serviceable linen dress like Marian’s in Robin Hood (the one with Russell Crowe). I also love swords. I have a couple in my closet, including Aragorn’s ranger sword.

 

4. What originally inspired you not only to write novels, but to have them published?

I’ve always had a very active imagination and was always in the middle of one pretend adventure or another with my brothers. It was my mom who first inspired me to actually put stories and adventures on paper. She has been writing ever since she was young, and watching her do it looked fun to me. I first decided I wanted to publish when I was fourteen or fifteen. I think I had just finished reading through The Lord of the Rings and realized I wanted to be like Tolkien.

 

5. How long did it take you craft the world in which Resistance is set? Was it difficult?

The world of Ilyon was actually very easy to create, and I think I had the basics of it figured out within a day or two of my initial inspiration for the story. It was one of those things that just sort of took over itself. Plus, I already had some ideas from a story that had been floating around in my mind previously, but never turned into anything. I ended up using those ideas for Ilyon Chronicles instead. All the extra little details, such as the lifestyles of the different races, were figured out along the way as I was writing and coming across different bits of inspiration.

***

Wasn’t that fun?  Now, onto the book itself.  Presenting, Resistance:

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00026]

Book Summary:

“Don’t you know? Animals like you have no soul.”

Could God ever love a half-blood all of society looks upon with such fear and disdain? Jace once believed so, but when a tragic loss shatters the only peace he’s ever known, his faith crumbles as the nagging doubts he’s tried to put behind him descend on his grieving heart. With them come the haunting memories of the bloodstained past he longs to forget, but can never escape.

Taken from home at a young age and raised to serve the emperor, Kyrin Altair lives every day under a dangerous pretense of loyalty. After her unique observation skills and perfect memory place her into direct service to the emperor, Kyrin finds herself in further jeopardy as it becomes increasingly difficult to hide her belief in Elôm, the one true God.

Following the emperor’s declaration to enforce the worship of false gods under the penalty of death, many lives are endangered. But there are those willing to risk everything to take a stand and offer aid to the persecuted. With their lives traveling paths they never could have imagined, Jace and Kyrin must fight to overcome their own fears and conflicts with society as they become part of the resistance.

Available for purchase on Amazon May 20th! View book extras at www.ilyonchronicles.blogspot.com.

***

Sounds exciting, right?  To tell you the truth, I actually didn’t read much of the summary before I signed up for the tour.  I read the words, “fantasy,” “Christian,” and “free, advanced copy,” and was hooked.  Besides, as long as I know the book is going to be clean and in a genre I like, I actually prefer reading for a surprise.  Probably a little strange, but it makes my life a little more exciting. 😉

Now, onto my review!

Resistance took me on quite the journey.  The author immerses her readers into a fresh fantasy world.  I have read many fantasy novels and I’m happy to say that I found Ilyon, the land in which the book is set, completely original.   Even with that, I can’t help but realize that aside from the different “races” of people, it is not unlike what our world experienced during the martyrdom of Europe – and even in some countries today.

As I started reading the novel, it captured my attention immediately.  Even though I was unsure of what was going on, I was intrigued by the story.  I hadn’t read a book like it before.  The introduction of characters, though many, was not overwhelming. This book is filled with suspense and tension.  Not only that, but the author has infused a pleasant amount of appropriate humor, heartache, and encouragement into the story.  Each of the characters were very well-developed and realistic.  They were very memorable and will replay in my memory for days to come.  Many times, I felt as if I was right there with the protagonists, bravely trying to push through their battles.

I especially connected with Jace.  He made a huge impact on me, more so than any other character.  He was definitely my favorite in the book.   I greatly enjoyed watching his character develop and change through the story, and I look forward to reading more about him in future books.  I also liked that Kyrin’s character developed more through the story, and I was proud of her at the end of the book – mainly for her breakthrough with Jace.  I sense an extra special relationship between these two, and I hope it grows closer through the next few books.  (What can I say?  I’m a girl and I love a little romantic touch.  These two are perfect together!)

The strong faith portrayed throughout the book often caused me to wonder if I would be strong enough to withstand many of the trials the characters were put through.  This book has inspired me to never back down on my faith, even if it produces hardship.

I’ll admit, I was a little disappointed that Daican, the emperor, turned out to be as cruel as everyone thought he was.  At the beginning of Kyrin’s stay at the palace, I was hoping everything was a misunderstanding.  He seemed like such a nice, humorous man.  Alas, it was not to be and I was saddened by the revealing of his true nature.  Even in my disappointment, I can’t help but smile and admit that it was a job very well done by the author.  Kudos to her!

Now to what I didn’t enjoy as much in the book.

I have to say that for most of Kyrin’s time in the palace, she seemed childish – which was very different than the Kyrin from Tarvin Hall.  I was surprised with some of her thought-processes and actions while at the palace.  I suppose this could be due to her heavy reliance on her absent brother and the pressure to keep her faith hidden.  I had hoped the strength and confidence I had spotted in her at Tarvin Hall would blossom while at the palace, but it didn’t.  Even with that, however, once she left the palace, her character developed and that original spark of strength grew.  I was very proud of her by the end of the story.

All in all, I thought Resistance was a fantastic book, and that the author did an incredible job.  For the last 50 pages, I absolutely couldn’t stop reading.  The stakes were so high, the tension so tight, the hurdles so insurmountable!  My heart raced along with the characters as they tried to beat the clock and conquer their enemies.  I’m fairly certain this book will warrant a re-reading for me.  If you’re looking for a clean book with strong morals, action, redemption, friendship, family ties, loyalty, and inspiring faith, then this is the novel for you.  I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

***

Once again, huge thanks to both Jaye and Amber (her publicist) for inviting me on this adventure.  I loved every moment of it, and this whole blog tour setup is so creative – absolutely brilliant!  I’m seriously considering doing a blog tour for my second book now.

***

About the Author:

JAYE L. KNIGHT is a 25-year-old independent author with a passion for writing Christian fantasy and clean NA (New Adult) fiction. Armed with an active imagination and love for adventure, Jaye weaves stories of truth, faith, and courage with the message that even in the deepest darkness, God’s love shines as a light to offer hope. Jaye is a homeschool graduate and has been penning stories since the age of eight. She was previously published as Molly Evangeline. You can learn about her latest writing projects at www.jayelknight.com. Social Media Links:

Blog Tour Schedule
Tuesday, May 20th
Wednesday, May 21st
Thursday, May 22nd
Friday, May 23rd
Saturday, May 24th
Sunday, May 25th
Monday, May 26th
Tuesday, May 27th

Wednesday, May 28th 

GIVEAWAY!

Immerse yourself in the world of Ilyon! Fill out the Rafflecopter form below for a chance to win an autographed copy of Resistance (Book 1 in the “Ilyon Chronicles” series), a Resistance-inspired necklace crafted by the author (Jaye L. Knight), a Better Homes “Warm Rustic Woods” candle, and a wolf paw leather bookmark from Lodgepole Leathercraft. This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 thoughts on “Resistance: Author Interview and Book Review

    • You’re absolutely welcome! I had a blast participating in the tour.

      I can completely relate with you – when someone loves my favorite character in my book, it gives me a whole new kind of joy. 🙂 Jace is definitely my favorite; he deeply impacted me.

      Thanks for having me!

      -Tialla

  1. Thoughtful, awesome review – and great interview questions! Thank you so much for being part of the tour, Tialla. 🙂 I’m thrilled you’ve enjoyed the adventure, and I’m excited that you’re considering doing your own blog tour now!

    ~Amber

    • Thank you so much! I loved every moment of this tour. Thanks for having me along. I will definitely be looking forward to Jaye’s next books, and I’ve also greatly enjoyed working with you. 🙂

      -Tialla

  2. Pingback: “The King’s Scrolls” Cover Reveal! | Tialla's Tellings

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour: The King’s Scrolls | Tialla's Tellings

Leave a comment

