Interview with Perry Elisabeth Kirkpatrick!

Hello everyone!

I have yet another interview with another lovely author!  This time, I’m participating in the blog tour for Perry Elisabeth Kirkpatrick.  She is also a friend of mine, so I’m super excited to help her out with this blog tour!

Today I am spotlighting her new book, “The Case of the Tabloid Tattler.”

 

tabloid blog tour promo

I haven’t actually read the book, but it looks cute. 🙂  Now, onto the interview!

1. You have published several books by now. When did you start writing/publishing, and what originally sparked your interest in the written word?

I have no idea what first sparked my interest, but the first story I remember writing was painstakingly carved into four sheets of lined paper when I was 7. Between then and 14 I filled, oh, about a bazillion notebooks with stories. Most were cheesy, many were unfinished (especially as I grew older and more aware of my cheesiness), and all were too far outside my little-kid experience to come across as anything near realistic. My writing mechanics were decent for my age, I think, but I had a lot to learn. (Still do!) When I was 14 and in a cynical period when it came to my writing, my mom encouraged me to write a bit of realistic fiction that my siblings would enjoy and that would teach a bit about a science topic through an engaging story.

This I could do, and the homeschooling Edwards family was born… as were the beginning chapters of what became my first published book, “The Heavens Declare: Five Children, Eight Planets, One God.” I published it when I was 18. “Light of the World” followed the next year, and then “Pearl’s Practice” the year after that.

2. Are you more of a coffee or tea kind of writer?

I don’t typically drink anything while I’m writing–I’m usually too focused. In general, though, I prefer coffee over tea. But it has to be a mocha. (Actually, I think that’s the only kind I’ve ever had…)

3. What time of day do you find the most productive for your writing?

Naptime! I have two little boys (19 mos. and 3.5 mos.) and they both take a 2 to 3 hour nap at the same time in the afternoons. Before I was married I used to try to write from 8pm when my little sisters went to bed to 10pm when I *tried* to go to bed. Nowadays, I try to leave my evenings free for spending time with my husband, Tyler.

4. I know you also have a book & graphic design business – when did you open that, and what interested you in it?

I’ve been offering book and graphic design since the beginning of 2013. I’ve always had an artistic streak and a fondness for filling gaps. It’s really sad to me when someone has produced a book that is interesting, well-written, and all around worth picking up–but the quality of the cover gives all the signals you should expect the opposite. There is an abundance of tasteless cover-design out there, as well as an abundance of overly-expensive cover design. I wanted to fill the gap by providing tasteful and inexpensive covers to other authors who, like me, are on a tight budget. And I wanted to enjoy making covers–but have a good reason to spend the time on it. 😉

5. Morning person or night person?

I tend more toward night-owlishness, because once I’m on a roll and in the groove I find it really hard to stop whatever I’m doing. I do love mornings, though… Maybe I’m just an indecisive person!

6. Least favorite household chore?

I would have to say… cleaning the bathroom. I always blow it up in my head to some big, gigantic, horrible task. Once I’ve done it, I’m always surprised at how little time and trouble it actually involved. Oh, and I’m really bad at cleaning out closets. Always have been.

7. Tell me about your homeschool experience. Were you homeschooled all the way through or partly? Do you wish you could have experienced maybe just one year in a public or private school?

I was homeschooled all the way through. I am really happy with my homeschooling experience, actually. I liked being with my family, being efficient in my learning, and having the time and freedom to specialize. Plus, there are many negative aspects of more typical school environments that I am more than happy to “miss out on.”

8. If you could live in any other time period, which would it be and why?

Hmm…As something of a history nerd, that’s a hard question for me to answer; I’m interested in a lot of different time periods, and I also have no illusions about them. I’m going to say: either during the Great Awakening because of the amazing things God was doing in our country; or the 1940s because that was the last time in modern history I feel like everyday American culture still had good morals, values, and at least a respect for God. Plus, I like the clothing styles! 😉

9. Favorite musician?

My Tyler. Other than him, it’s really a toss-up between Rich Mullins and Andrew Peterson.

10. Who is your favorite author? If you could provide one of your favorite quotes from said author, that would be wonderful.

Ohhh…. this is a hard one. I enjoy the writing style of Laura Ingalls Wilder (although I don’t always agree with everything in her worldview), and I have been deeply touched by Elizabeth Prentiss’ stories (specifically “Aunt Jane’s Hero” and “Stepping Heavenward”). I think I’ll go with C.S. Lewis, though. I grew up with my dad reading the Narnia series to me, which prompted great theological discussions. I have also enjoyed his other works, especially “The Great Divorce.” I’ll share an excerpt from the beginning of that one, if I may…

“Then some re-adjustment of the mind or some focusing of my eyes took place, and I saw the whole phenomenon the other way round. The men were as they had always been; as all the men I had known had been perhaps. It was the light, the grass, the trees that were different; made of some different substance, so much solider than things in our country that men were ghosts by comparison.” (The Great Divorce, by C.S. Lewis, pg. 21)

Bonus:

-eBook or paperback?

I think I still prefer paperbacks for books I really enjoy, but I do appreciate the fact that I can spend so little for more reading material if I buy e-books.

-Paperback or Hardcover?

Paperback–unless we’re talking about old books. I LOVE the beautiful hardcover bindings of yesteryear!

-Mystery or Fantasy?

Mystery, I suppose. Fantasy is interesting, but sometimes it all starts to sound similar to me. Mystery challenges my brain–which I always like.

-Edgar Allen Poe or Emily Dickinson?

I don’t think I’m qualified to answer this one. I’ve only read “The Gold Bug” by Poe, and I’ve never read any Dickinson.

RANDOM: The Beatles or The Beach Boys?

I have no idea! 🙂

***

Thanks for having me, Tialla! I really enjoyed answering your questions!

***

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

DSC_1005

Perry is a Christian, homeschool graduate who has written and published “The Heavens Declare,” “Light of the World,” “Pearl’s Practice,” and “The Case of the Tabloid Tattler.” She lives in beautiful Oregon with her best-friend-turned-husband and their sweet baby boys. Find her books and other writings and connect with her at: perryelisabeth.blogspot.com.

SOCIAL NETWORK LINKS:

Twitter

Facebook

Blog

Google+

-Books:

Perry is also hosting an awesome giveaway.  There will be two winners – one receives an autographed paperback of her book, and the other receives a free eBook version of her book!  Click the link below to fill out the giveaway form!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR SCHEDULE:

Wednesday, June 11 – http://faithblum.wordpress.com, bringing you a character interview with Keith, the detective
Thursday, June 12 – http://jonathangarner.blogspot.com, hosting a guest post by Perry in which she talks about inspiration and writing a story from a cat’s perspective
Friday, June 13 – https://tiallarising.wordpress.com, interviewing Perry about being homeschooled, self-publishing, and my least favorite chore
Saturday, June 14 – http://www.holyworlds.org/blog, hosting an excerpt–the entirety of Chapter One
Sunday, June 15 – http://mydoubleliving.blogspot.com, sharing blogger Sarah Coons’ review of the book
Monday, June 16 – http://ekaiserwritesablog.blogspot.com, interviewing Perry about her writing process
AND http://noblenovels.weebly.com, bringing you a character interview with Mia, the cat
Tuesday, June 17 – Location TBA, announcing the book’s release and giveaway winners, and sharing one more excerpt
***

Tomorrow, head over to the Holy Worlds blog for an exciting excerpt from Perry’s new book.

7 thoughts on “Interview with Perry Elisabeth Kirkpatrick!

    • I’ve heard RAVING reviews about this book, so I can’t wait to read it myself – even if it is a children’s book! 😉 And yes, her children are definitely close in age, but from what I’ve heard, she absolutely adores every moment!

      -Tia

    • They are close in age! It’s fun and busy all at once. At this time, though they’re both young enough I’m still able to fit a decent amount of writing in if I plan well! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Escape into Fiction: The Case of the Tabloid Tattler | Tialla's Tellings

Leave a comment

