Escape into Fiction: The Word Changers

Today I am reviewing the Christian Fantasy novel “The Word Changers,” by Ashlee Willis.

The author contacted me to write an honest review of this book, which I was very excited about.  I expected to like this book, but I did not expect to love it.  All of that changed in the first chapter.  I was immediately pulled into the book – the story absolutely captivated me.

I loved this story from cover to cover.  I cannot even begin to tell you how original, fresh, unique, and intriguing it is!  So many of the concepts and plot twists in this book blew me away and enchanted me in the same breath.  I loved the premise, pacing, characters, dialogue, plot – everything.

My absolute favorite part of this book was while the two main characters were in The Glooming.  It was nothing like I expected, which I think was perfect.  It was breathtaking, beautiful, terrifying, and mysterious.

The allegory was refreshing and exhilarating.  I greatly enjoyed reading the parallelism and finding out more to “the Author.”  The allegory certainly had a Narnia feel to it.

I suppose the only thing I didn’t care for at times was the way the romance was portrayed.  It wasn’t bad in itself – it just felt out of place at times.  Kyran calls Posy “darling,” and “dear” fairly early in the story – and while I understand he’s a fairytale character and will speak a certain way, it was still jarring; the characters didn’t seem far enough along in their relationship (or even friendship) for pet names.  Along with that, some of Posy’s emotions toward Kyran seemed out of place or too early in the story development.  The only other thing I didn’t care for was the many times Posy cries in the book.  I know she’s only 15 and she comes from a broken home…but there is still a lot of crying in this book.

Even with those few things, I absolutely adored this story.  I’m so glad I had the opportunity to read it, and I highly recommend it to any book lovers and Narnia lovers – especially those who like darker magical fantasy novels with a twist of romance.  This book earns 5 out of 5 stars from me.

2 thoughts on “Escape into Fiction: The Word Changers

  1. Pingback: Interview with Ashlee Willis | Tialla's Tellings

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal: A Wish Made of Glass | Tialla's Tellings

Leave a comment

