Release of Kaitlyn Deann’s “World of the Beasts” (and interview!)

Hello everyone!

I have another interview with yet another awesome person for you. 🙂  Here today is Kaitlyn Deann, author of the award-winning novel, “The Witches’ Sleep.”  She JUST (as in, yesterday) released the sequel!!  Woohoo!  Give it up for “World of the Beasts”!!

world of the beasts

Seriously, everyone has been so excited and impatient for this novel.  “The Witches’ Sleep” totally captivated everyone (myself included), and I’m sure “World of the Beasts” will do so as well, and even more.  From what I’ve heard, it is definitely enlightening of some very real issues going on in the world today – but set in a fantasy world with weretigers and witches.  How cool is that?

Since this interview is in celebration of WOTB’s release, before we actually get talking, I want to share the book’s trailer with you.

 

Doesn’t that look like a fantastic novel?  I can’t wait to read it myself.  Enjoy the interview!  Kaitlyn is an awesome person, and I couldn’t be more proud of her for publishing yet another novel.  It’s hard work, people.

**

How long did it take you on this book from start (outlining) to finish (release day!)?

Believe it or not, it took me just about two years! TWO YEARS! Every book is unique, and though it took half a year to complete THE WITCHES’ SLEEP (Book One in The Witches’ Sleep Trilogy), it took two years for book two. Such a big difference! Who knows how long it will take me to complete the final book in the trilogy?

 

Has your writing style changed much since publishing “The Witches’ Sleep”?

Very! I have grown significantly during these last two years. When I wrote THE WITCHES’ SLEEP, I was so raw in my writing. A writer should constantly be growing in his/her writing. Constantly. My style evolving is a great thing in my eyes, because readers can better connect to the story than before. At least, that is what I hope.

 

Has publishing this book taken you on any journeys or experiences you did not expect? If so, what were they?

I guess the excitement of everyone about it coming out and the constant bugging from readers of “more sneak peeks” and “are you sure you can’t give it to me earlier than July?” is pretty exciting!

 

What was the greatest thing you learned through the writing, editing, publishing, and marketing process?

You can always do better. It’s never going to be perfect. But try to get it there anyway.

 

Do you have any regrets about the book – anything you would have written or created differently?

Not at the moment! Maybe I would’ve expanded a little on what the weather is like on Aphalie, but that’s not even important.

 

What was the hardest aspect of writing the book (creating names, keeping characters in line, maintaining the timeline, preserving the plot, etc)?

Probably keeping the timeline in check. I have three different perspectives, and one of them is on a completely different planet for most of the book. It was hard keeping all the perspectives on a decent timeline and trying to figure out where certain parts would need to go.

 

Was your outlining/writing the first draft process with WOTB different than your process with TWS?

With TWS, I was able to write the first draft and simply edit it several times, maybe write only one or two extra parts to stick in there, and that’s it! Now, WOTB was a completely different story. The first draft was 85,000 words, which isn’t bad, and I was actually quite happy that wasn’t very long. I thought to myself, “Yay! Less words means less to edit!” HAHAHA! I laugh at myself. I had to completely turn the story around and LITERALLY rewrite every. Single. Part. All. Over. Again… Not only that, but I had to write over twenty extra scenes to fill in gaps. By the end of the second draft, I had a book that was over 100k. By the end of the final draft, it was 140k. So, I would say, yes, it was different. But only a little. Kind of.

 

Who is your intended audience with this trilogy?

I write my stories for 13 to 19-year-olds, but I like to keep in mind that younger children can read it, so I make sure it’s appropriate for middle schoolers, and, if they’re up for the challenge, elementary. Adults have even told me they enjoy my work. But, the intended audience is 13 to 19.

 

What is your ultimate goal with writing these books? Personal pleasure?  Helping spread a certain message?  Entertainment?

My ultimate goal as writer as well as a Christian is to help spread love, remind people that isn’t always about them, and being selfless in a selfish world can bring the greatest rewards you could never have otherwise. (Acts 20:35 says, “In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ ”).

 

Will you give us a sneak peek into Book Three – be it the premise, an excerpt, etc.? Perhaps even just where you are at in the writing process.

Oh, my goodness! Book Three will not be coming around for a very long time. I can’t even tell you how long or even try to guess at this point in my life. I can tell you this: You will find yourself in a story 15 years after the last scene of WORLD OF THE BEASTS, and this story will be the finale, and it ends with a bang.

 

Random:

Night person or morning person? Night, most definitely!

Milk chocolate or dark chocolate? Dark.

Tea or coffee? Anything before coffee. So, I guess in this case: tea.

Chain restaurants or local? Depends on my mood.

—Do you control your characters, or do they control you?

Is this really a question? I feel like the answer is obvious. They do what they want!  You can only control them to a certain point, but they will do as they please and how the please.

**

me2

KAITLYN DEANN has been telling stories since she was very young, whether through at-home productions with her cousins and siblings or through verbal tellings. She decided to try her hand at writing when she was eleven, and it became a part of her in an unexplainable way. She fell in love with writing, fell in love with the stories she could tell by simply stringing together a few words. As a writer, Kaitlyn hopes to keep a reader turning pages late into the night and give them something to think about long after they finish the last page. She loves her friends, family, and God. Laughing is her favorite calorie burner. She lives in somewhere, Texas with her family. 

AUTHOR LINKS

Website

Blog

Facebook

Pinterest

YouTube

Tumblr

Twitter

Goodreads

LinkedIn

Instagram

Amazon Page

2 thoughts on “Release of Kaitlyn Deann’s “World of the Beasts” (and interview!)

Leave a comment

