Escape into Fiction: To Kill a Mockingbird

I picked up this book, expecting it to be like a few other classics I’ve read: dry, long-winded, and hard to read.  I was in for a total surprise.  This book was the farthest thing from other classics, and is perhaps my favorite of all – second only to Jane Eyre.

This book is simply magical.  I’m not sure what it is about it, but I was very sad when it came to an end – I wanted to continue to read this story.  The way Scout portrays events is so innocent, yet so revealing.  I wish I could see the world through her eyes in my own life.

“To Kill a Mockingbird” truly deserves every bit of praise regarding it.  Yes, there is some language, but it really does just go with the setting and characters.  Every relatively sensitive subject was dealt with gently – as I would expect as seen through the eyes of a child.

This book has impacted me like no other, and I will not hesitate to recommend it to everyone.  There is something just so enchanting, captivating, and engrossing about this book.  Harper Lee is perhaps one of the most talented authors I’ve ever encountered.  Her writing style is simply unparalleled.  If I could give it higher than five stars, I certainly would!

-Tialla ♥

2 thoughts on “Escape into Fiction: To Kill a Mockingbird

Leave a comment

