Vlogging with Tialla: Book Playlists

My newest vlog is up!  In which I talk about four songs that motivate me to conquer my writing procrastination.  Check it out! 🙂  Be sure to comment and let me know what songs motivate you!  I’d love to hear.

 

Links to my motivation playlist:

“Eye of the Tiger” by Survivor

“Livin’ on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi

“Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson

“Do Something” by Matthew West

 

-Tialla

***

VIDEO TRANSCRIPT:

Today I’m talking about playlists.  Have you ever been writing – whether essays, short stories, blogs, novels, etc, and heard a song that gives you a rush of motivation?  I’m talking about music that really inspires you – comparative to a long-lasting jolt of adrenaline.

Well, I didn’t really have any inspirational songs while writing my first book – but that has definitely changed now that I’m writing my second book.  I have a feeling it’s because my process for writing this book has been much different and quite a bit harder.

However, I have recently found some very motivational music.  These songs have been rather incredible in the way they have inspired me to get back to editing and just keep going.  Yesterday, I realized the reason for that.  You see, these songs really go along with the theme of the book I’m writing.  I’m fairly certain both songs would inspire my characters in their own struggles, which then, in turn, inspires me to keep writing.  After all, these characters’ emotions and heartaches are at the center of my heart, so it only makes sense that the songs which help them would help me as well.  At least, that’s my theory.  One way or another, these songs apply to my character’s problems, and help motivate me at the same time.

I think a lot of the time our struggles as writers can be very similar to the struggles of athletes, or really anyone.  I have a feeling that everyone’s struggles have the same basic foundation of needing to push through and to keep going even when you think you can’t.  I think that’s why almost everyone enjoys motivational quotes, inspirational references, and success tips.  I am fairly certain everyone loves those because we all need motivation no matter how different our problems may be – it works across the board.

Therefore, I just wanted to share four songs that work well to encourage me and inspire me to keep working hard…no matter how overwhelming or daunting it may be at the moment.  And, you may laugh because three of the songs are definitely from the 80’s, but I am an 80’s girl at heart, but these songs really help me.  So laugh if you want, but I am still going to share.  When I hear these songs – especially the first one I’m going to mention – I get very motivated to keep going, and I think that’s important.

The first one is: “Eye of the Tiger” by SURVIVOR.  Not Katy Perry’s “Eye of the Tiger,” or “Roar,” rather, even though that isn’t bad either, but Survivor’s.  I think the reason why that inspires me so much is because of its connection with Rocky – which, as you more than likely know, is super inspiring and endearing.  I LOVE Rocky.  However, Rocky aside, the lyrics of the song are motivating, and it really means a lot to me.  Whenever I hear that song, I’m like, “Yes!  I can do it!”

The second song is: “Livin’ on a Prayer” by Bon Jovi.  I’m fairly certain I like this song so much (aside the fact that it’s from the 80’s) is because it very closely connects with my characters’ struggles in “Where Shadows Lie,” my W-I-P novel.  This song just really helps me get in Shawn’s mindset for the book.  Not only that, but it has a great beat and I’ve noticed upbeat songs are definitely motivating for me when it comes to conquering my procrastination.

The third song is “Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson.  Now, I know there are a lot of people who greatly dislike Michael, but just set that aside for a moment.  Listen to the lyrics.  This song has to be one of the most powerful, down-home, convicting songs I have ever heard.  It’s absolutely true – if you want to make the world a better place, take a look at yourself, and then make the change.  This is motivating for me to keep working hard on my book…because writing is my way to make a change.  It is my passion, and one of the best things I can do to impact this world for good.

Which brings me to the last song….  “Do Something,” by Matthew West.  As you may know, this is NOT from the 80’s, but the song is Christian and I think it has a fantastic message – which pretty well connects with “Man in the Mirror.”  It definitely inspires me to be bold and work hard to attain the dream God has given me, even if it seems fruitless at the time.  People need to help this world, and if I’m not doing my best to fulfill the desire and goal God has set before me, then I’m just being a user and not a producer.  Basically, this song speaks to my heart because it bothers me when people complain about problems, but they don’t do anything to fix the problems.  We need to stop looking at others to make a change, and instead, make that change ourselves.

Once again, the songs are: “Eye of the Tiger,” by Survivor, “Livin’ on a Prayer,” by Bon Jovi, “Man in the Mirror,” by Michael Jackson, and “Do Something,” by Matthew West.  I would love to hear what songs inspire you!  Comment, message me, email me, whatever way – get in contact with me and let me know what inspires you to keep going, or what helps you get in the mindset of your characters.

6 thoughts on “Vlogging with Tialla: Book Playlists

Leave a comment

