A little bit of this…a little bit of that….

Hi everyone!  This is going to be a very long post in which I talk about everything that’s on my mind lately, from sorrow to overwhelming joy, to favorite quotes, to awesome light shows.  There’s just been so much I’ve been thinking about that I want to share with you, so I figured, why not put it all together in one gigantic post??  I hope you enjoy!

God’s grace is sufficient.  I’m going to start out with raw honesty.  I’ve been here in Colorado for exactly two months today.  This day two months ago was a very, very tragic one for me—and not simply because I was leaving.  There are reasons I haven’t spoken about on the blog, which I probably will eventually, but two months ago, I was heartbroken.  I still cry when I think of it, and some days are just so hard.  

But God.

God has raised me up on wings like eagles, He has held my hand, He has guided me.  He has filled me with an overwhelming joy and strength that I never possibly imagined before.  He has sustained me.  He is sufficient.

Through these past two months, God had grown me in ways I didn’t know were possible.  It has been very painful at times, yet so exciting and mind-blowing at others.  I’m so amazed with what God has done in my life while I’ve been here.  He has used me for purposes that absolutely leave me speechless and teary-eyed with awe.  How great is our God!

The power of words.  This goes along with this first point, but…never EVER doubt what God can do with something as seemingly simple as words.  He has totally blown me away by using just a few of my words in a conversation for a HUGE purpose that I never would have dreamed of.  I am overwhelmed, ecstatic and SO SO excited about what He’s doing.  So in awe and filled with joy. 🙂 🙂

My Grandma’s birthday.  I am so excited that I get to celebrate my Grandma’s birthday with her tomorrow!  What an honor to be here to help make this day fabulous for her.  I think I’ve only been with my Grandma maybe a handful of times on her birthday in the past, so I’m very thankful to be here this year.  I plan on making a nice breakfast, her favorite cake, and probably taking her out for dinner.  I think we’ll be visiting some friends as well, which will be fun.  What a blessing!

{Working from home…RANT ALERT.}  What is it with people and assuming that those who work from the computer don’t really work?  That they don’t have “real” jobs?  Like, seriously.  Do you know how tiring it is to stare at a computer screen for 8 hours a day, 5-6 days a week?  It might not be physical work, but it is mental work and extremely fatiguing.  Yes, I can work anywhere I have internet connection—which means that YES I can work in my pajamas if I’m not feeling well.  Regardless of that fact, it’s still work, it’s still a job, and it still brings in a paycheck.  It just frustrates me when people act like I don’t have a real job, or I’m not really working.  This stereotype needs to end.

Excitement of Autumn.  I love summer, so I was very sad when it was over.  However, it soon started looking like fall, and next thing I knew, I was excited again.  Hot cocoa, hot apple cider, pumpkins, scented candles, and boots were at the top of my excitement list, mostly.  Oh and pumpkin-ish coffees, chilly movie days, and hanging out with friends in the crisp air.  But you know what else I’m super excited for?  Football.

Would you have even thought of me as one who gets excited for football?  I never would have.  In the past, I couldn’t care less about football.  But recently, I’ve found that I really love coming home from church and getting the game on.  But the thing is, I never watch the game.  Yet, I love this time of year.  I think I finally figured out why—because football season means parties (with food and fun), and extra reading time for me while everyone else is watching the T.V. haha!  See, I’m not so into football as I let on. 😉

However, live games are an entirely different story.  It’s pretty much becoming a fall tradition for my family to go to a Lumberjack football game.  For those of you who don’t know, the Lumberjacks are the NAU (Northern Arizona University) football team, right in Flagstaff.  They are seriously a great team (I’ve NEVER seen them lose), and it’s so much fun to go to a live game.

So, I’m totally looking forward to going home this Friday and heading to the football field.  I’m also looking forward to seeing my friends again, being in a city with a Starbucks, going to the movies, and driving an automatic car.  Haha

A mini-Michael Jackson.  You guys know how much I love Michael Jackson.  So it shouldn’t come as a huge surprise that I’m crazily impressed by this little boy.  Oh my goodness…words cant expressed how amazed I am.  He’s so talented—and that’s an understatement!

Vlogging.  I’m hoping to do another vlog soon.  We’ll see.  I have three ideas for videos, so now I just need to take the time to sit down and do it.

A Favorite Quote.  This is possibly my favorite line from Star Wars.  Strangely enough, it’s more relevant today than ever.

Anxiety.  Even with my excitement of going home, I’m also a little nervous.  This is simply due to some memories I left behind (directly linked to the heartbreaking day I mentioned earlier).  I’m just not sure if I’m ready to face those memories yet.  I know God will help me, as He has so wonderfully helped me these past two months, but I’m still a bit anxious.

Folk dancing!  I’m dying to do the Virginia Reel again.  It’s been years since I’ve done this dance (or any folk dancing, for that matter), but watching this video reminds me of how much fun it is.

Sentence thieves.  Click here to see a Facebook post regarding why people need to stop stealing my lines.  This happened with “Let It Go” as well.  Seriously.  I wrote those before they became popular, and now I have to change them.  Haha  #TheStruggleIsReal

Halloween light shows.  These are amazing!

And of course, “Thriller.” XD

Conclusion.  This was a super long post on sorrow, joy, awe, rants, quotes, dancing, and music.  I just want to leave you with these verses:

“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5b

-Tialla ♥

 

4 thoughts on “A little bit of this…a little bit of that….

  1. Hi Tialla! Beautiful post and I don’t think it’s really that long 😉 It’s great reading about all the realisations you have made and the affirmations you have received at heart 🙂 And as you go back I pray you are strengthened like never before and that God’s sufficiency gets you through! Whatever it is, the storm has passed and everything is going to be alright! Blessings dear!

    • Thank you, my dear friend! I greatly appreciate your prayers, and your kind words mean so much to me. Also, I’m very glad you weren’t overwhelmed by the length of my post. 🙂

      -Tia ♥

  2. Thank you SO much Rach! I am once again amazed by how God works, because this whole time during the past two months, God has laid that very verse on my heart and comforted it with me. How awesome that you’re comforted and encouraged by the same verse! Thank you for bringing it up…I needed that reminder today.

    Yes, a mother’s love is uber important, but a father’s influence and love, in my opinion, has a bit more of an impact on a child’s life. From reading your blog, I am absolutely certain that your future children will have some of the best parents ever. 🙂

    So glad you understand about staring at a computer screen all day! It really is tiring. It’s good to know that you haven’t faced any criticism, though. I hope it stays that way!

    -Tia

Leave a comment

