New Vlog: Write What You Know?

I filmed a new vlog today and I thought it might be nice to share here, on my blog.  You’ve probably heard of the writing rule: “Write what you know.”  The rule was even embedded in my senior English class in high school.  I’ve heard it nearly everywhere writing-related.  At some point or another, it comes up in conversation among writers.  I’m fairly certain the reasoning behind this rule is to encourage believable, realistic stories.  After all, if you write about what you know, you shouldn’t have to guess much, right?

I’m all for realism in stories.  Nothing makes me ditch a book or movie faster than ridiculously unbelievable scenes or plot points.  However, I’d like to think that a writer can write about something they don’t know, as long as they conduct in-depth research on the topic.  And THAT, ladies and gentlemen, is what my vlog covers.

Let me know what you think—all I ask is that you bring your good manners with your comments.  Thanks! 🙂

Much love,

Tialla

9 thoughts on “New Vlog: Write What You Know?

  1. I definitely see your point! Though in a way… once you do your research… you are now writing about what you know. Even if you haven’t experienced it or seen it, you still know about it now. So that sort of still covers it in a round about way. 😉

    • True! However, whenever I’ve read about this rule, writers/teachers usually insist that the “knowing” part means living among it and experiencing it firsthand. At least, that’s what I’ve heard. So…that’s why I wanted to clarify it. But I totally agree that once you do research, you do “know” it in a way! 🙂

      -Tia

  2. Btw, I hope you realized my “dear maid” greeting was a response to your “What thinkest thou?” comment area. I just realized that you might have been thinking “Who does this guy think he is calling me that? 🙂 ET

    • Hahaha well I will admit I was a bit caught off-guard when I first saw it. 😉 Then I realized I DID after all ask for people to bring their good manners along, so I figured it was just because of that. But the “What thinkest thou?” makes even more sense. 🙂

      -Tialla

Leave a comment

