Two Years Already?

Today is a pretty special day.  Two years ago, I started my first day of work for the homeschool-geared website LetsHomeschoolHighSchool.com.  I think most of you have been following me for longer than two years, so you may recall when I originally posted about landing this incredible job position.  So much in my life has changed since I first wrote that post.  In fact, I look back on the past two-years in awe of how much I’ve learned and the friendships I’ve formed.  I started out as a paid intern.  Yet after about a year and a few months, I was promoted to a Remote Marketing Representative and I most recently became one of the site admins.

This job has been one of the most amazing opportunities to come my way.  I am beyond blessed to have the opportunity to engage my nerdiness with computer-related work while earning money and working with an extremely flexible schedule.  I’m constantly grateful for the fact that I can get in my hours whenever works best for me, which provides me with the opportunity to focus on my writing as well.  Without this job, I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t be able to focus on my writing as I am now.

The friendships and experiences that have come from working with this beautiful company has simply taken my breath away.  The fact that God has provided all this for me, beginning with a small internship while I was still in my senior year of high school, absolutely blows my mind.  I don’t know how long I’ll be blessed with this job, but I know that it is a job I can take with me into a future marriage, whenever the Lord deems.  It’s a job that lets me balance writing and life.  It’s a job that helps pay the bills.  It’s a job that has expanded my mind and grown me personally.  Oh, how grateful  I am to have this job.

As a nineteen-year-old, I’m definitely living a very different life than my peers.  Almost everyone else I know is knee-deep in college.  While that’s great and it’s what works for them, it’s simply not what works for me at this point in my life.  People always ask me, “So what are you doing?” and of course they expect me to answer something in line with college.  When I instead reply with, “Working and writing,” they are nearly always surprised.  I suppose it’s not usual for young people to enjoy working and pursuing their passions instead of studying for a 4-year degree.  That’s all right.  I don’t mind. 🙂  There’s nothing wrong with college, but I don’t see any problems with my life either.  Besides, I take classes as well—I’m just not going for a traditional degree, ’tis all.  As far as I’m concerned, I feel absolutely abundantly blessed to be in my current position.

This incredible job has most certainly changed my life.  So a thousand thank yous to everyone at VKidz who has made it happen.  And above all, thank you Lord, for providing the opportunity in the first place.

Here’s to more adventures with the company in 2015! 🙂

-Tialla ♥

6 thoughts on “Two Years Already?

  1. Wow, I’m celebrating 2 years at my job come the 1st of February as well! I’ve been thinking about this same thing, and saying to myself how it doesn’t feel like it’s been that long at all. Funny how similar our timelines are in that way. 🙂 Congratulations to you Tia, and cheers to being content right where God has us, whether that’s where “everyone else” expects to us to be or not! I’m right there with ya, girl!

    • That’s so neat! I didn’t realize we had both started our jobs at about the same time. Our timelines really are more alike than I knew.

      I’m sure you’re very familiar with the college expectations as well, so cheers to you too!! It’s good to know there’s someone else who “gets it.” 😉 Congratulations on your anniversary also, Kiah!

      -Tia

  2. I just love how you are so confident about your choices and so grateful for how things have turned out. That’s the way to be and you sure are an inspiration!!! 🙂 May our good Lord keep blessing you dear Tia 🙂 Wishing you many more adventures!

Leave a comment

