Blog Tour: The King’s Scrolls

1592350_orig

Today I am participating in the blog tour for Jaye L. Knight’s second installment in her Ilyon Chronicles, “The King’s Scrolls.”  Do you recall when I participated in the cover reveal a few months ago?  Well now I’ve had the fabulous opportunity to review the book and interview her, so let’s get to it!  Oh and there might just be an eBook sale AND an amazing giveaway at the end. (wink)

cover image

About the Book

Following the harrowing events that brought them to Landale Forest, Jace and Kyrin have settled comfortably into their new lives and the mission of protecting those under the emperor’s persecution. The fast approach of winter brings with it the anticipation of a quiet few months ahead. That is until the arrival of four mysterious, dragon-riding cretes who seek aid in a mission of great importance—not only to their own people, but to all followers of Elôm. 

Hidden in the vast mining valley north of Valcré, a faithful crete has spent years sharing his knowledge with the destitute miners and their families and is known to possess what may be Arcacia’s last surviving copies of the King’s Scrolls—the Word of Elôm. Joining the cretes, those in Landale must find the crete teacher and bring him to safety, but it is a race against time. Should Daican’s men find him first, execution and the destruction of the Scrolls is certain. 

When disaster strikes, all seems lost. Could Elôm have a plan even in the enemy’s triumph? 

Available on Amazon!  Buy Now

* * *

2624358_orig

* * *

My review:

“The King’s Scrolls” is a fantastic continuation of the Ilyon Chronicles by Jaye L. Knight.  Almost a year ago, I read and reviewed the first book in the series, “Resistance,” so I was very excited to read the sequel.

The author did an incredible job with this book.  The stakes were higher, the characters more developed, and the faith stronger.  These characters were put through some breathtakingly hard situations and I loved how even though they struggled and doubted when in the midst of it (as is natural and expected), they came out at the end with their faith stronger than ever.

As for the characters specifically, I want to note that I LOVE the relationship between Jace and Kyrin.  I adore how they don’t rush anything, but they are slowly beginning to see how much they care for each other.  Their protectiveness toward each other is sweet and endearing.  Also, I greatly enjoyed many of the character arcs in this book, including but not limited to Prince Daniel’s, Leetra’s, Liam’s, and Marcus’s.  I definitely look forward to reading more about these characters in the future books.

I was amazed how all of the shocking plot twists in this book worked together seamlessly to strengthen the plot in the end.  Kudos to Jaye for her excellent storytelling.  On that note, I have to mention the writing itself.  I have read several of this author’s older works and I cannot express adequately enough how amazed I am at how her writing has improved and matured.  Multiple times, I found myself pausing just to read over a beautifully (and often, powerfully) written sentence.

Jaye L. Knight did an absolutely wonderful job with this book and I am excited to read Book Three.  I highly recommend this novel to anyone 13+ who enjoyed “Resistance” and Christian non-magical Fantasy.

* * *

5903031_orig

* * *

mollyauthorphotoAbout the Author

Jaye L. Knight is a homeschool graduated indie author with a passion for writing Christian fantasy and clean new adult fiction. Armed with an active imagination and love for adventure, Jaye weaves stories of truth, faith, and courage with the message that even in the deepest darkness, God’s love shines as a light to offer hope. She has been penning stories since the age of eight and resides in the Northwoods of Wisconsin.

You can connect with Jaye on her website, blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter, and Etsy.

Author Interview:

1. Did you find the writing of TKS any harder or easier than writing “Resistance”?

There were some emotional parts that were more difficult, but overall, I think it was easier. Writing Resistance was very much a discovery stage. By the time I got to TKS, I had all the characters and plots pretty well organized in my mind. I ended up writing it quite a bit faster than Resistance, so it did go much smoother.

2. I have to say, I’m amazed with your ability to work on multiple books at once. Marketing one, editing a second, writing a third….  I can’t imagine multi-tasking like that!  How do you make it work?  Do you get your “wires crossed” at times?  I can imagine it’d be fairly easy to become exhausted.

Oh, good question. It is overwhelming sometimes! Even though I have multiple projects going at the same time, I usually have only one or two I’m focusing on. For the past couple of months, the focus has really been on getting TKS to this point. Thankfully, Resistance has been doing well enough on its own that I haven’t had to market it to the extent that I have with others, otherwise it would really be suffering right now. Actually, writing is more of a relaxing thing for me, so I can work really hard on marketing or editing, and then go to writing to sort of unwind. Somehow it all gets done in the end. But yes, I do exhaust myself quite often. I admit, I’m a workaholic. I’ll run myself into the ground to get a project done if I have a deadline.

3. How do you know when a book is “ready” for publication? I’m such a perfectionist myself that it’s hard for me to stop editing and revising.  I know that I will always find something to change or write better.  How do you know when to stop?

I’m not a perfectionist about most things, but I am for writing, so I feel the same way sometimes. I think it’s my eagerness to share my stories that keeps me from laboring over them for too long. I’ve accepted the fact that no story will ever be “perfect.” And since I published Resistance and now TKS, I’ve kind of established a routine I follow. I write the book and dabble with it here and there. Then, after it sits for a bit, I begin my major editing process. Once I give it a quick read-through after that, it’s off to my beta readers. I then apply their changes, give it to my mom to go over, apply her changes, and then print it out to read aloud. That’s my final edit before I send it to my proofreader just before publication. Usually by the time I send it to my beta readers I have a publishing date set, so I know I have to just let it be finished once I give it that final read-through.

4. What does your process, beginning with outlining and ending with publishing, entail? For instance: outlining, writing the first draft, editing/revising, proofreaders, editing, beta readers, etc?  Do you have a professional edit your work, or do you take most of it upon yourself?

I guess I sort of answered part of this already with that last question. I’m a combination of a plotter and a pantser. I don’t do detailed outlining before I begin writing. Usually, when an idea comes to me and takes hold and it’s something I really want to pursue, I begin writing almost immediately. That is how I discover who the characters really are. But I do take a lot of notes to figure out the plot and work through any plot holes. I also have to know how a book ends before I can get very far in writing it. Then I just work through it until it’s finished. As I mentioned before, I usually set it aside for a bit, especially if it’s part of a series, and start working on the next book. But then I’ll begin with my whole editing process. My beta readers have been amazingly awesome in helping me edit. They’ve really made a difference in both books. I do hire a proofreader to go over the final version of the book just before publishing to catch those pesky typos that are way too skilled in sneaking past me.

5. Do you plan to enter TKS into Readers’ Favorite Book Award Contest as you did with “Resistance” last year? Congratulations, again, on achieving the bronze award!  How exciting.

Thank you! That was a really exciting time to find out Resistance actually won an award. I do plan on entering The King’s Scrolls for this year’s award contest. I’m not really looking forward to the agonizingly long wait that follows, though. 😉

–Favorite T.V. show? Scorpion, Sherlock, BBC Robin Hood, Bonanza. Haha, I really couldn’t choose just one.

–Favorite superhero? Thor

–Favorite actor? This is a surprisingly hard question. Chris Hemsworth . . . or Martin Freeman . . . or Robert Downey, Jr. Yeah, tough choice. I could add even more to the list.

–Favorite beverage? Cream soda

Add "The King's Scrolls" to Goodreads!

Add “The King’s Scrolls” to Goodreads!

* * * 

Resistance Kindle Sale

9968853_orig

Haven’t begun the adventure into Ilyon? From February 17th – 23rd, get Resistance , the award-winning first book of Ilyon Chronicles for your Kindle on sale for only 99 cents! Check it out on Amazon!

* * *

Giveaway

Share in the excitement of the release and enter to win a themed Epic Winter giveaway! Prize pack includes an autographed copy of The King’s Scrolls, a CD by Future World Music (some of Jaye’s favorite writing music), a dragon bookmark, a stone hawk pendant (much like the ones mentioned in the book), and a few packages of Twining’s Winter Spice tea to sip while you read! (Giveaway is open to US residents only. Cannot be shipped internationally.)

ENTER GIVEAWAY HERE.

* * *

Tour Schedule

 

Tuesday, February 17

Wednesday, February 18 

Thursday, February 19 

Friday, February 20

Saturday, February 21

Sunday, February 22 

Monday, February 23

Tuesday, February 24 

Wednesday, February 25

* * *

3485250_orig

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The King’s Scrolls

    • Absolutely! Thank you for inviting me to be part of the blog tour and allowing me to read an advanced copy! These novels in the Ilyon Chronicles are very powerful and I have a feeling they will go far. 🙂

      -Tialla

Leave a comment

