Week Recap {again} — Snowboarding!

I know I said I wasn’t planning on this becoming a regular thing, but when multiple things go down in a week, compiling is necessary. 🙂

-On Monday, I went running again, though this time it was with my friend Maddie instead of Rachael, who was out of town.  We ran through Buffalo Park and figured we burned enough calories to earn Dairy Queen’s free ice cream cone that day.  Then we chased the sun, sang our hearts out to Journey, got stuck in a parking lot with motorcycles, and all-around had a fantastic time.  Lots of smiles and laughs.  So blessed to have this lovely in my life. ♥

maddie and me 3.16.15

maddie and me (2) 3.16.15

-On Wednesday, Rachael was back in town, so I went with her and her two siblings (and Maddie!) to see the new Cinderella.  Okay, so don’t hate on us, but none of us were overly impressed with the movie.  I know, crazy concept considering all the positive reviews flooding the internet.  Still, we mutually agreed that it wasn’t very memorable.  The best part was Helena Bonham Carter playing the Fairy Godmother.  Now that was great. 🙂  There were other special effects I liked, such as the transformation of the carriage and animals, as well as their demise at midnight.  The embellishments on the classical story were nice, but the movie as a whole still didn’t seem like anything very special to me.  Just my honest opinion, though.

-As I mentioned last week, my church has began a Women’s Bible Study, which I’m pretty excited about.  Our church really hasn’t ever had a women’s Bible study group, so I think this will be a great addition.  The first meeting was last Thursday at eight in the morning.  If you know me at all, that’s pretty early for me, but it was more than worth it.  I look forward to going back this week and spending some rich time with these wonderful ladies.

-Also on Thursday, I bowled for the first time ever!  I mean, of course I’ve done Wii bowling, but it’s definitely not the same, haha.  😉  Since it was spring break, our bowling alley was offering this deal for kids bowling free, so my family decided to go.  I wasn’t super great at bowling, but it was a lot of fun and it actually wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.  I look forward to bowling again!

-Thursday was a super packed day, because right after bowling and lunch, I drove over to my friend Emily’s house to write for a few hours.  You may remember that my book is still with my editor, so I was working on a different story.  Anyway, since she had her first baby back in November, we haven’t been able to meet or even hang out much.  I was so happy it worked out to get together, and we definitely had a great time!  I wish I had taken a photo, but unfortunately it never even crossed my mind.

-Friday was a VERY exciting day.  For those of you who have been following my blog for a long time, you may recall that I have been dying to go snowboarding for the past five years.  As I live in the mountains (and I’m only about thirty-forty minutes from the Snowbowl Ski Lodge), every year the snowfall would tease me.  Unfortunately, I was unable to go snowboarding because of a shoulder injury in March of 2010, which required surgery and lots of physical therapy and didn’t adequately heal enough to resume even regular daily activities until about mid-2012.  Thus, it has been a long journey of healing and strengthening my arm.  For the past few years, I’ve been consistently doing push-ups and bench dips to build up and tone my muscles so I could snowboard.  Finally, the day came.  My friend Kayla helped teach me and stuck with me on the bunny hills.  And you know what?  It was SO. MUCH. FUN.  It’s really hard and I am pretty terrible at it, and I think I developed a new talent for falling, but I enjoyed every moment.  I hope to hit the slopes again this Friday!  I am so thankful God has strengthened me enough to do this. ♥

snowboarding 3.20.15 thumbs up

snowboarding 3.20.15

snowboarding selfie w kayla 3.20.15

That was my week!  How was yours?  I’m not sure how this coming week will go down in the Rising house, but I’m sure God will see us through it.  Still, for those of you who are Christians, we could use prayer for strength, discernment, and wisdom.  Thanks!

-Tialla

Leave a comment

