Color Vibe 5K!

You know how I’ve written a few times about running?  As I’ve said, I really enjoy it.  Well…I enjoy how healthy and accomplished I feel, haha.  I’m still trying to get over the pain in my legs and lungs as I run, but I’ll get there!

Back in the beginning of April, I signed up for the Color Vibe 5K here in Flagstaff.  If you don’t know what the Color Vibe is, it’s a 5K course set up with various “color stations” throughout where workers spray runners with color.  The point is to get as much color on you as possible before, during, and after the run.  Most people wear white so the color shows up exceptionally well.  I was a little nervous as the run was coming up, considering I’m not much of a runner and I’ve never been in a race before.  Also, there were over 3,000 people there, and huge crowds tend to intimidate me — especially when I know I’ll be smack-dab in the middle of it.

But let me tell you, it was SO. MUCH. FUN.  It was probably the best first 5K in which to participate, considering it was super chill and all about just having fun, not competition.  Also, I’d say about eighty percent of the participants walked the course instead of running, so it wasn’t a huge deal that I’m not that great of a runner.  Lots of people wore hilarious costumes as well, which made it even more fun.  It was also fantastic because of the friends I went with.  My good friend Emily was my running partner.  She was such a very loyal partner and stayed with me the whole time!  I’m so thankful for her.  We also went with my other friends Rachael and Kayla, as well as Rachael’s sister, brother, and mother.

Not only was it fun, but apparently I created a new personal best time.  I didn’t even realize I was running faster than usual, but I finished much sooner than anticipated.  All I can say is I guess I was feeding off all the positive energy from everyone else. 🙂  The community of runners and walkers there was absolutely incredible.  Everyone was encouraging and uplifting — I can’t even begin to count how many high-fives I was given!

Below are photos from the event.  I definitely want to do it again next year!

From left to right: Kayla, Me, Emily, Rachael, Rachael's sister Hannah, and Rachael's brother Josh

From left to right: Kayla, Me, Emily, Rachael, Rachael’s sister Hannah, and Rachael’s brother Josh

 

photo

 

From left to right: Rachael, Josh, Kayla, Me, Hannah, and Rachael's mom.

From left to right: Rachael, Josh, Kayla, Me, Hannah, Rachael’s mom…and my little brother Xavier at the bottom of the photo, haha.

 

We made it!

We made it!

 

I think pink is my color. ;)  There isn't any filter or editing on this photo either - it was really that neon pink!

I think pink is my color. 😉 There isn’t any filter or editing on this photo either – it really was that neon pink!

 

-Tialla ♥

2 thoughts on “Color Vibe 5K!

Leave a comment

