Thoughts on NaNoWriMo?

I’ve decided on doing NaNoWriMo this year!  For those of you who don’t know, November is National Novel Writing Month.  I haven’t done it before, and I’ve had hesitations due to the fact that I usually like to focus on quality, not quantity.  However, since I’m having a hard time getting back into writing, maybe just getting those words down on paper is exactly what I need.  After all, I can always focus on quality in the editing phase, after NaNoWriMo.  I may not succeed in finishing the novel during November, or maybe I will, who knows.  Also, even if I do succeed, this book might not end up published simply because I’m not doing NaNoWriMo to publish another book; I’m doing it for the joy of writing.  And because of that very fact, I’m very excited.  No pressure to perfect a book for readers; just writing to write.  Maybe that’s what I truly need to get into writing again, because it might be the whole process of publishing that is intimidating in the back of my mind somewhere, keeping me from pouring myself into it again.  Next month starts the serious planning stages, and I can’t wait!

I explain a lot more about my thoughts on NaNoWriMo in my latest vlog:

One thought on “Thoughts on NaNoWriMo?

  1. Pingback: *Phew* It’s December! | Tialla's Tellings

What thinkest thou?

